We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect holidays”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cat Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shannas Cove Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cat Island
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect holidays”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We went there in August 2012 for a family trip and had a wonderful time. This place has everything you need on a vacation. First of all, it is very remote and the beach is magnificent. Most of the time you're the only one on it, with other guests of the resort. The bungalows are very comfortable, well decorated and all have a balcony overlooking the ocean. What is particular about this place is that it is right on the beach, but built on heights so that you can admire the view, especially from the balcony of the restaurant. The hosts, Gabi and Frank, and their staff are wonderful people. The food is delicious too! Two tumbs up also for scuba diving. Frank is very professional, he will provide you with the gear which is of very good quality and the diving spots around Shannas Cove are breathtaking. We had the chance to see rays, turtles, a lot of colorful fishes and corals. One time the weather did not allow us to dive and Frank took us on a kayaking trip in the mangrove, which was a very unique experience and where you get to see baby fishes, turtles and wonderful clear blue waters. That is to say that the hosts will be there for you to make your stay the most fulfilling and enjoyable possible.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
225
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We went to Shannas Cove the first week of August 2012 on our honeymoon. The photos do not do the Island justice. Frank and Gabi are very gracious and accomodating hosts. They truly make you feel you are house guests and not tourists. Gabi and her kitchen staff prepared some of the finest meals we have eaten. The meals are very European and you will not go hungry.

Pointers: When you book, inform Frank if you want to dive or fish ahead of time as he does get busy. The island is fairly undeveloped so if you don't snorkel, dive, fish, lounge on the beach, hike, kayak or explore you may want to look elsewhere. There are no casinos or Michael Jackson revues here. Rent a car and drive the island, eat in the local restaurants (they are all small) and talk to local people. The island folk have a music, culture and lifestyle all their own. Everyone knows everyone and treat you like family. We never felt unsafe. Make a point to go to Man O' War beach and experience solitude. We were the only two people on 5 miles of beautiful beach. It takes a bit of work to get here but the scenery is well worth the trip. Go down to the beach at night and see stars you literally have never seen. The food and beverage prices were what we expected and we didn't break the bank on our stay. (8 nights)
Remember, everything is flown or shipped here. Bearing this in mind, the drink prices at Shannas were the same as everywhere else on the island. Bring everything you need when you pack as there is no Store 24 or CVS down the street - just local island people with small mom and pop stores.

We had a wonderful, unforgettable time and cant wait to go back. Be adventurous!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rob2328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Believe the reviews. You will run out of superlatives to describe this place. Your stay here will be the benchmark that you measure your travels too. From the owners to the housekeeping and kitchen staff, everyone here will make you feel like lifelong friends. Everyone thinks "if I was in charge I would do things right" .... well these folks have. Remarkable with this level of attention to detail is that the place is still an incredible value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnst0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We visited back in March for a full week and had a wonderful time. It is rare that you are still talking about a vacation spot, on a regular basis, four months later. We can't wait to go back. Please try the Greek pizza, we sure do miss that.

You can read the tons of other reviews for more detail, but I wanted to give a few quick tips. Be sure to bring your own toiletries, such as shampoo, conditioner, soap, lotion, etc. These were not in the room. We also brought our own beach towels, as we love an oversized and fluffy towel, as opposed to the bath sized, thinner towels that were available. Do wear sneakers and bring a bottle of water if you go on the hike. Some parts of the trail were a bit tough to walk on and sandals would not do. There is a shelf of books in the dining room that you can borrow from, if you want to avoid having a bunch of books in your suitcase. Frank will take you to and from the airport, and it is about a 15 minute ride. Do check out the gift shop on site, it had some cute items.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank purplejenn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexa2586
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have been trusting tripadvisor for years to help us with our vacation selections, and we couldn't believe there was a resort with only perfect reviews. Surely, these other reviews just haven't travelled much or had different standards, because a place like te one depicted in the Shannas Cove reviews couldn't exist.

Much to our surprise and joy, it does. Every review was spot on and Shannas Cove IS that amazing. Cat Island itself is beyond gorgeous, but the real gems are Gabi and Frank. Don't let their laid-back persona fool you: they are consummate professionals and wonderful hosts. They make it clear that you are their guest and it is their priority that you enjoy your stay.

The rooms are large and clean, views are spectacular, the food is wonderful, and we loved kayaking in the clearest water we've ever seen.

We have already booked our return trip for April 2013, this time bringing friends. We can't wait to experience paradise again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alexa2586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta,Ga
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Wow!!! What a trip! Traveled in early June for a week and I wish we had stayed longer than a week.Accommodations are good.Service is excellent.The food is "out of sight".Frank and Gabi are two of the most incredible hosts.They do everything they can to make sure that your time away from the "hustle and bussle" of every day life is so relaxing.The Food was delicious(thanks Marley and Tara and Patrick) and plentiful.Dinner is simply put,Outstanding!!!!The beaches are beautiful and secluded and the Scuba Diving was unbelievable.Thanks Rod and our world class "dive guide"(can"t seem to remember his name) for the wonderful dives and the beautiful spots.One night we took in the "local flavor" of the island at Da Smoke Pot.Julian and the gang were gracious hosts and entertainers as we all danced and play a little Rake and Scrape!! Hey Gabi, you still can rake and scrape with the best of em!! What a treat....
As I try to finish this review, I was like alot of people who had gone before us.Somewhat skeptical how some place had gotten nothing but excellent reviews.I only can tell you what I experienced personally.The best vacation my wife and i had ever had.It was so good that we booked another trip within the first week of our return.It was just what we wanted in a vacation.Very private and laid back vacation with good service and two of the most accomodating hosts. I am happy to of been apart of their "family" for a week(we love you guys).What a treat to get to know you and your staff and look forward to our return next year......

Room Tip: All rooms are the same except Dolphin which is bigger.Not necessary to be particular about rooms cau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RCKAugusta_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We had a fabulous time and cannot recommend Shannas Cove enough. The setting is beautiful, the food is fantastic, and the hosts are fabulous. There was zero stress -- we had nothing to worry about, no obligations. This made for a perfect honeymoon! We will definitely be back for another visit, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CnBtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cat Island
29.6 mi away
Fernandez Bay Village
Fernandez Bay Village
#1 of 10 in Cat Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
37.7 mi away
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Cat Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
13.0 mi away
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
#4 of 10 in Cat Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.8 mi away
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
#9 of 10 in Cat Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
2.2 mi away
Orange Creek Inn
Orange Creek Inn
#7 of 10 in Cat Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shannas Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shannas Cove Resort

Property: Shannas Cove Resort
Address: Shanna Bay, Orange Creek, Cat Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cat Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shannas Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shannas Cove Resort is a paradise for people looking for a relaxing beach vacation in the sun, and is the perfect location for diving and fishing. Enjoy the island‘s secluded white sandy beaches and sub-tropical flora and fauna. During tours of the island you will get to know the islanders and will be impressed by their friendliness and hospitality. Our restaurant will pamper you with a diversity of dishes including exotic island specialities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shannas Cove Hotel Cat Island
Shannas Cove Resort Cat Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing