We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Remote Island Vacation”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cat Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shannas Cove Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cat Island
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Remote Island Vacation”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Everything that the previous reviews have said about how amazing Shannas Cove Resort is are absolutely true. I was worried that after reading the reviews that we would get there and be a little disappointed because it wouldn’t live up to the glowing reviews but Shannas Cove certainly did. We stayed at Shannas Cove from July 15-19. We stayed in the Parrott bungalow and did not have any problems with our room. The best part of the bungalows is the porch. We loved sitting out on our porch with the great view of the ocean and beach. The beach and ocean are the nicest I have ever seen. The sand is perfect and extends out in the ocean for a good 30 yards with no rocks or anything to make it uncomfortable to walk in. We walked down to a point South of Shannas Cove (4 miles round-trip) and never saw another person the entire time but did see plenty of star fish and other fish. We also hiked the Man-O-War trail to the North and East sides of Cat Island and also never saw anyone else. It was hard to imagine that we could have an entire beach to ourselves with absolutely no one else around. The resort also provides kayaks and snorkeling gear that guests can enjoy free of charge. The location on the beach and the views from the bungalows, restaurant and beach are breathtaking.

As good as the beach and ocean were at Shannas Cove, the food was just as good if not better! The breakfast, lunch and dinner were second to none. Don’t visit here without trying the pizzas for lunch. We had the meat lovers, vegetable and white shrimp pizzas and they were all some of the best pizza we have ever had. Dinners were a 2+ hour event and we left every night absolutely stuffed. During our stay our entrees included: beef tenderloin, tuna steaks, duck breast, and mahi mahi. All were fantastic but the Mahi Mahi was probably the best fish I have ever eaten. My wife does not eat fish but loved the tuna and mahi mahi along with several of the appetizers that were served that were fish. Gabby and the cooks do a wonderful job with the food. One of the things that we enjoyed most about dinner was getting to visit with the other guests at the resort. Everyone arrived at the restaurant around 7 and enjoyed visiting over drinks at the bar until dinner was served between 7:45-8.

Frank, Gabby and the other staff were all terrific hosts and made us feel right at home. We very much enjoyed getting to visit with Frank and Gabby during meals and our trips to and from the airport. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Shannas Cove and our only regret is that we were not able to stay longer.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are basically the same and offer a beautiful view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CAW_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
229
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clemmons, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We've only been home about a week since our trip to Shannas Cove, but I can't wait to go back! This was the perfect place to go to be completely off-the-grid, but still have modern amenities. We tried to visit last summer, but it was completely booked when we inquired. It was definitely worth the wait!

Frank and Gabi are just awesome - it is obvious how much joy they get from spending time with their guests. The staff is also great - whenever we asked for anything, they took care of it quickly and with a smile. The rooms had everything you need, but we didn't spend much time in the room, we were too busy being lazy on the beach! And what a gorgeous beach it is! 1.8 miles of soft white/pink sand and clear water. The most people we counted on a given day was 5, but most days it was just us. We borrowed snorkeling equipment and snorkeled several times - there are some great coral reefs just off the shore about a half mile walk down the beach. We kayaked one day and saw all the giant starfish in the water, which was so neat to see! But mostly, we enjoyed several days in paradise.

We aren't big breakfast eaters, so we brought our own granola bars, oatmeal, canned fruit, etc. for breakfast, but really enjoyed our lunches and dinners at the restaurant. Dinner especially! My husband was a little worried when I told him we would be having all of our meals at the resort, and not going to any other restaurants, but after the first night, he was excited to find out what Gabi would be making each day! They have a pretty well stocked bar in the restaurant, so fruity drinks, beer, and wine rounded out our meals.

I can't wait to go back! We only stayed 4 nights (since that's all that was available when we booked), but hope to stay longer next time.

The only room for improvement we noticed involves the towels. The bath towels were a bit on the scratchy side (especially with a few sunburnt places...). Since we often took more than one shower each day (a necessity with all the sand and sunscreen), an extra set of towels would have been helpful. They could also provide real beach towels instead of just different colored bath towels (which were a bit on the small side for lounging on the beach). These are small, nitpicky things in the grand scheme of things, which is that Shannas Cove is as wonderful as all the reviewers have said!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NC_traveler124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Everyone was right! We wanted a secluded, relaxing, deserted island feel but with all the creature comforts of amazing foods and comfortable rooms and we got that and more. The beach is pristine, you can walk miles and not see anyone. We kayaked, we hiked, we ran, we felt like kids again...carefree!

And then there is Gabi and Frank. Both are such wonderful people, you feel like they're your cool Aunt and Uncle (or wish they could be at least ;). Frank is funny, easy going and a great guide for your adventure. Same goes for Gabi and add that she's an unbelievable in the kitchen. Everything is made from scratch, fresh, wholesome foods and cooked to perfection.

I swear I teared up the night they took us all out to "Da Smoke Pot"...that feeling of finally letting it all go, enjoying the night singing and dancing, and just having fun.

I love this place and highly recommend this for anyone who is ready to really unwind, get rid of that phone and enjoy life!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hunter_Sanella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My husband and I found the location due to Trip Advisor - and every 5 start review is absolutely correct. Frank and Gabi were wonderful hosts, but honestly all of their staff was so friendly and went out of their way to make sure that we had everything we needed and were enjoying our stay. We truly enjoyed getting to know them and their staff, and both had so much fun on the night that they took whoever wanted to go out to a local restaurant and bar to listen to Rake n' Scrape music. However, for the most part, we just couldn't get over the fact that it was such an incredible beach - that was virtually empty. It was amazing to be able to walk down the perfect white/pink sand beaches for miles, and swim in the perfect ocean, and literally not see anyone else for an entire day. We were just amazed that such an incredibly beautiful location was so wonderfully undeveloped.

The food (breakfast, lunch and dinner) was all very, very good, and everything was extremely reasonably priced.

We definitely will be back - we're both already ready to go.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

Frank and Gabi are exceptional hosts. Their staff is friendly and efficient. The meals are tremendous (breakfasts are unbelievable). The cottages are nice. The location is beautiful (don't get nervous when the paved road ends). It took me a couple days to get out of my corporate-life mode, but when I did, it was easy to relax. Take your travel rods, walk the beach with a cigar, and fish a bucktail around the rocks. Or just sit on the deck with a book.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank wcs-eas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

The first word that comes to mind is WOW!! A friend of our has been to this resort for a few weeks for the last 3 years. He kept telling my wife and I that we had to try it. So In Feb 2013 we spent 5 nights at the resort and every day was wonderful. The resort was really clean, the food was great and the hospitality was amazing. The beach was great and we never really saw other people, the few people we did see we saw again at dinner at da Smoke pot resturant and then they were on our flight. Gabby was a delight and Frank was gone so we are heading back again in 2014 to make sure we get to meet Frank.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicholson PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Stayed here for the first time...location amazing, food amazing, beach amazing, Frank & Gabbi amazing....we are already booked to go back for next year!! This is not for everybody..if you are looking for the "party scene" and looking for non-stop activities, this is not the place, but if your looking to unwind in total seclusion, this is it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank djbowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cat Island
29.6 mi away
Fernandez Bay Village
Fernandez Bay Village
#1 of 10 in Cat Island
299 reviews
13.0 mi away
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
#5 of 10 in Cat Island
163 reviews
37.7 mi away
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Cat Island
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Orange Creek Inn
Orange Creek Inn
#7 of 10 in Cat Island
46 reviews
27.8 mi away
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
#9 of 10 in Cat Island
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shannas Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shannas Cove Resort

Property: Shannas Cove Resort
Address: Shanna Bay, Orange Creek, Cat Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cat Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shannas Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shannas Cove Resort is a paradise for people looking for a relaxing beach vacation in the sun, and is the perfect location for diving and fishing. Enjoy the island‘s secluded white sandy beaches and sub-tropical flora and fauna. During tours of the island you will get to know the islanders and will be impressed by their friendliness and hospitality. Our restaurant will pamper you with a diversity of dishes including exotic island specialities.Free high speed WiFi in the restaurant. Kayaks, stand up boards, snorkel gear is free of charge for our guests. We have a fully equipped dive center and offer also fishing trips, bone fishing in the nearby creek, Turtle watch tours in the creek and snorkel trips ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shannas Cove Hotel Cat Island
Shannas Cove Resort Cat Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing