We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cat Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shannas Cove Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cat Island
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

It's so hard to know where to begin... The place is simply perfect. The five villas all have great views and modern amenities that aren't always available at resorts as secluded as these. The beach was incredible. It was clean, quiet, and the only other people we saw were the ones who stayed at the resort. Man of war beach was equally impressive and even more isolated and pristine.
We also really enjoyed the food. Everything was first class from the lobster to the porterhouse. They also had fantastic desserts and pizzas as well. Despite the lack of available food outside the resort, I assure you the food does not disappoint and is reasonably priced. This was one thing we were uncertain about, and it did not disappoint. Additionally, the drinks were strong ;) so be ready for that!
I would also like to add that Frank and Gabi and their staff make the trip as memorable as anything. They are so fun and friendly and great to be around. They have succeeded in creating a fun and unique atmosphere and they are fun to be around. They also work hard to make sure they accommodate their guests with anything one might need. Our first night, they provided a cake for one of the couples anniversary celebrations - a great example of the personal touch. I hope to return to have a beer with them both. Each night, they also have time for everyone to enjoy drinks with the other guests and we had a great time meeting new friends from England, Minnesota, and Switzerland.
We also went to a local place one night for dinner, local music, and dancing and it was definitely a blast. It was another great part of our trip.
All that said, if you are looking for some place private to unplug with a wonderful atmosphere, private beaches, and wonderful hosts, this is the place. I recommend it to anyone and make sure you book early.
Thanks Frank, Gabi, and the rest of the staff for a fantastic vacatin!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank m0d0984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
227
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Our recent getaway to Shannas Cove was everything we read about, everything we learned, everything we wished for yet so much more. We found this amazing destination while researching for future vacations on TripAdvisor, trying to find somewhere off the beaten track, quiet yet interesting, near the crystal blue sea of the Caribbean, with comfortable and private accommodations, excellent food not mass produced, and perfect for spending beautiful and meaningful days together, from lazy days in the sun and sand to adventurous and varied exploration. That’s a pretty difficult list for one destination to suffice, but Shannas Cove was perfect in every way, and in many more ways we never expected. Yes, all of the reviews here are true.

The resort only has five bungalows, which lends itself to perfect seclusion and only ten total guests when at capacity. Each bungalow is beautifully located with lovely views of the beach and sea, while maintaining privacy from each other. Our bungalow was artfully designed and very comfortable, with lots of room, a great stone shower, stocked mini refrigerator (you just note each day what drinks and snacks you consume), huge outside deck for ocean and star gazing, a comfortable king-sized bed, and great climate control, with a powerful ceiling fan and air conditioning if you need.

The landscaping further compliments the setting of the bungalows and the entire resort and makes your stroll down the stone stairway to the beach all the more inviting. The beach is gorgeous! The water casts some of the most amazing and sometimes unbelievable shades of blue that one cannot be anything but relaxed and at peace. The best part is that if you just want to lounge for your stay, this beach gives you all that you need and more. Comfy beach chairs and beach towels are provided, and there are some cabanas for cover as well if you’ve had a bit too much sun. Feeling more adventurous? Take the kayak over to the beach just past the rock to the right, or hike the infamous Man-o-War trail and emerge upon a pristine beach with good snorkeling.

I don’t know where to begin about the food! We enjoyed some of the best meals we have had, all prepared to perfection with such detail to quality, freshness, and presentation, and always an amazing mixture of complementary tastes and so diverse! Breakfasts are amazing – take your time and enjoy all of the fruit, meats, cheeses, French-press coffee, juice, breads, AND hot breakfast if you so desire. Do NOT miss one of the legendary pizzas for lunch! They are all that you have read about here – wonderful and big enough to share. You may want to alternate breakfast and lunch some days, as you want to make sure you are ready for each evening’s special meal. You need not worry a moment about what you’ll have for dinner – it is in the wonderfully skilled hands of Gabi and her wonderful kitchen staff. Gourmet cuisine is freshly prepared each night and presented in three courses. We had divine dinners with pork tenderloin, ahi tuna steak, gigantic lobster tail, and chicken with starters such as salmon, garlic shrimp, fish salad, and more. Finish it off with crème brulee, guava duff (a most delicious Bahamian dessert), decadent chocolate mousse – every night was one to remember.

Perhaps part of that was the fun and engaging happy hours that we all attended prior to dinner. It was there we had the opportunity to meet the other wonderful guests. We enjoyed spending time with them, as well as Frank and Gabi, each evening, conversing about their day’s activities, where they were from, and many other fun topics. All with a fantastic playlist and the most amazing (and strong!) hand crafted cocktails. And we even went as a group to a fantastic local restaurant, the infamous “Da Smoke Pot” for yet another evening of excellent home cooked food, drinks, dancing, and a bit of rake and scrape with the band. We all had a ball, and Julian, our host, his staff, and the band all brought us a personal glimpse at the great local culture. Warning: you’ll dance and laugh entirely too much!

Despite wanting to go somewhere for a very secluded vacation, away from the throngs of tourists, we found that our evenings spent with our fellow guests from New York, England, and Germany made for yet another memorable and special part of our stay, and we were happy to meet many new friends.

The staff at Shannas Cove operate daily with impeccable service that is always done with a smile, kind words, and happiness. Molly and Tara took such good care of us day and night, and it was always a pleasure to see them and to share a smile or two. They always seemed to know exactly what we needed, and we so enjoyed getting to know them.

But the heart, soul, and beauty of Shannas Cove reside with its wonderful owners, Frank and Gabi. They are the special ingredient, that unique part of the combination that makes the experience truly one of a kind. Words cannot express what wonderful hosts both were during our stay. These are truly special people, ones that welcome you with a warmth that feels as if you were visiting family or very dear friends. The environment and energy exudes a feeling of comfort and familiarity, camaraderie and content, all with a perfect combination of intimacy and interaction. It was Frank and Gabi that completed our journey, that made Shannas Cove more that we could have dreamed, and we very much cherish the opportunity to have met them and to enjoy their friendship and hospitality. It was indeed the highlight of our trip overall, and we cannot wait to return (we’ve already booked for next year and have started an official countdown – not too excited, hmm?)

Our stay was perfect, albeit too short. We’re already mapping out our days for the next time around, but we know that we will soon be there to once again find the peace, relaxation, friendship, fun, and perfection that Frank, Gabi, and all of Shannas Cove gave to our hearts and our souls. We can’t wait. And you shouldn’t either.

Some helpful tips:
1. Book early! I think the secret about this paradise is getting out, so look into availability early.
2. Make sure that you bring face/shower soap.
3. Sunscreen! The sun is very powerful, so if you want to enjoy all of your days on the beautiful beach or exploring about, bring plenty of sunscreen.
4. Bug spray. In truth, we only used it a few evenings surprisingly enough, but we did not venture on the great “Man-o-War” trail on this trip. We were really surprised that there were fewer biting insects here than we had encountered on other islands. Still, best to be prepared.
5. Walk or kayak to the other side of the bay. If you are on Shannas Cove beach and looking at the sea, it’s the far point to your left. We walked and kayaked – the kayak trip was actually easier and quite fun. The water there is beautiful as well, with many starfish and some good snorkeling with a few pretty fish amongst some small coral growth. The water is also a bit calmer on this side, if that is at all possible!
6. Make sure you have enough layover time between your flights in Nassau, particularly going home. We encountered an unexpected delay in Arthurs Town on our departure day that caused us to arrive in Nassau 4 hours late. If you are returning to the U.S., make sure you build in enough time for U.S. Customs Preclearance, which can take multiple hours depending on the time of day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank LP-PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
122 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Yes, it is depressing to come home after the surreal experiences we had at Shannas Cove!!!! In a nutshell: We rebooked for another trip here on Day #2. Need I say more???? But I will :-) .....
We've stayed in fabulous resorts in Hawaii, Turks and Caicos, Aruba, Bonaire, Jamaica, Puerto Rico, Cabo and Cancun, to name a few. NOTHING compares to this. We will NEVER go back to a big resort with pools and people!
Hints to the women: Provided is a makeup mirror and hair dryer. Sundresses and flipflops for the evening meal. Bring soap, shampoo and beach towels.
The only time we used bug spray was on the 40 minutes hike, one way, to Man O War beach (so worth it). Did not come home with one single bite after a week!
The quality of the food was beyond description...lobster two nights, duck breast, steak, mahi mahi. Starters included salmon and scallops and wonderful salads and side dishes. Did I mention the tiramisu and creme brûlée? Beware: Portions are HUGE...wished we could've split meals.
Thanks to the wonderful couples from England, Switzerland and Dallas we met that added such fun to our trip. And to our wonderful hosts, Gabi and Frank and their staff, Molly and Tara: April cannot come soon enough when we can see you again!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HHS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Geoff and I just returned from 13 nights at Shannas Cove. The holiday was a treat to help celebrate my 50th birthday.And what a treat this place is... It's all been said in previous reviews but to add our own personal opinion Gabi and Frank have got everything just right. The whole place and set up suited us perfectly and I would recommend it to anyone looking for stunning beaches, gorgeous food, spot on service, very friendly and welcoming staff, relaxed and informal atmosphere, no time keeping other than dinner at 8pm. A wonderful place to switch off, read, sun bathe, swim in the crystal clear waters, walk, explore and kayak. In the words of Julian from 'da smoke pot' 'this is the land of nothing to do' and there is no better place on earth to do it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I can't say enough good things about this resort and its owners, Gabi and Frank. My daughter and I had a travel snafu en route to the resort, and Gabi totally and completely came through for us under very challenging circumstances. Gabi, you are the best! :-)

Room was wonderful, meals were delicious, staff was delightful, beach is perfect, hosts are awesome. We will be back, no doubt! Words don't do it justice. Just go - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wonderment99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensvale, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

If somebody tells you that there is a more beautiful place on earth they are talking a load of rubbish.

If somebody tells you there are better hosts than the affable & friendly Frank & his vivacious and fun loving wife Gabi, they are talking a load of rubbish.

If somebody tells you that they know of a better place to get top quality food day in and day out, they are talking a load of rubbish.

This is it! The most perfect place you could ever wish to stay at.

My wife and I are currently in Vegas having just got here from Cat Island, we are in a $450 a night suite, but it doesn't even come close to the luxury we enjoyed at Shannas Cove Resort.

On arrival you are met at the tiny tiny airport, and taken on a 10 minute drive to the resort. Up a bumpy and unmade road into a not too impressive parking area. But this is just to fool you into what awaits beyond.

Look, it's all been said before but if you are thinking of going to Shannas JUST DO IT.

I have run out of words to describe this heaven on earth. I'm not a beach person (I don't swim) and only went for my wife's sake, but boy am I glad I did!

Get in early, because the word is out about this place and bookings are pouring in (and no wonder).

Only negatives, there was no lobster as it was out of season. (Not Shannas fault) and it was a bit of a hassle having to go to the bar to use the internet, but these are just trivial things.

Make sure you take bug spray as the mozzies will get ya! Also bring your own soap & shampoo as these are not supplied.

If trip advisor had a rating system out of 100, this place would get 99.99999.

THANK YOU FRANK & GABI FOR A MOST WONDERFUL TIME!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great (There are only 5) the two at the back have a slightly obstructed view of the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Col T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Everything that the previous reviews have said about how amazing Shannas Cove Resort is are absolutely true. I was worried that after reading the reviews that we would get there and be a little disappointed because it wouldn’t live up to the glowing reviews but Shannas Cove certainly did. We stayed at Shannas Cove from July 15-19. We stayed in the Parrott bungalow and did not have any problems with our room. The best part of the bungalows is the porch. We loved sitting out on our porch with the great view of the ocean and beach. The beach and ocean are the nicest I have ever seen. The sand is perfect and extends out in the ocean for a good 30 yards with no rocks or anything to make it uncomfortable to walk in. We walked down to a point South of Shannas Cove (4 miles round-trip) and never saw another person the entire time but did see plenty of star fish and other fish. We also hiked the Man-O-War trail to the North and East sides of Cat Island and also never saw anyone else. It was hard to imagine that we could have an entire beach to ourselves with absolutely no one else around. The resort also provides kayaks and snorkeling gear that guests can enjoy free of charge. The location on the beach and the views from the bungalows, restaurant and beach are breathtaking.

As good as the beach and ocean were at Shannas Cove, the food was just as good if not better! The breakfast, lunch and dinner were second to none. Don’t visit here without trying the pizzas for lunch. We had the meat lovers, vegetable and white shrimp pizzas and they were all some of the best pizza we have ever had. Dinners were a 2+ hour event and we left every night absolutely stuffed. During our stay our entrees included: beef tenderloin, tuna steaks, duck breast, and mahi mahi. All were fantastic but the Mahi Mahi was probably the best fish I have ever eaten. My wife does not eat fish but loved the tuna and mahi mahi along with several of the appetizers that were served that were fish. Gabby and the cooks do a wonderful job with the food. One of the things that we enjoyed most about dinner was getting to visit with the other guests at the resort. Everyone arrived at the restaurant around 7 and enjoyed visiting over drinks at the bar until dinner was served between 7:45-8.

Frank, Gabby and the other staff were all terrific hosts and made us feel right at home. We very much enjoyed getting to visit with Frank and Gabby during meals and our trips to and from the airport. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Shannas Cove and our only regret is that we were not able to stay longer.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are basically the same and offer a beautiful view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CAW_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cat Island
29.6 mi away
Fernandez Bay Village
Fernandez Bay Village
#1 of 10 in Cat Island
296 reviews
13.0 mi away
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
#5 of 10 in Cat Island
160 reviews
37.7 mi away
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Cat Island
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Orange Creek Inn
Orange Creek Inn
#7 of 10 in Cat Island
45 reviews
27.8 mi away
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
#9 of 10 in Cat Island
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shannas Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shannas Cove Resort

Property: Shannas Cove Resort
Address: Shanna Bay, Orange Creek, Cat Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cat Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shannas Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shannas Cove Resort is a paradise for people looking for a relaxing beach vacation in the sun, and is the perfect location for diving and fishing. Enjoy the island‘s secluded white sandy beaches and sub-tropical flora and fauna. During tours of the island you will get to know the islanders and will be impressed by their friendliness and hospitality. Our restaurant will pamper you with a diversity of dishes including exotic island specialities.Free high speed WiFi in the restaurant. Kayaks, stand up boards, snorkel gear is free of charge for our guests. We have a fully equipped dive center and offer also fishing trips, bone fishing in the nearby creek, Turtle watch tours in the creek and snorkel trips ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shannas Cove Hotel Cat Island
Shannas Cove Resort Cat Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing