We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
316
4
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
316
4
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews man o war s cove fish other guests caribbean islands dietary restrictions restaurant bar beautiful beach our honeymoon conch shells a true gem humane society bug spray white sand beaches bring plenty of sunscreen every meal perfect hosts
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 322 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Four days are not enough and five stars are not enough! We have traveled many places, including many Caribbean Islands. Shanna’s Cove is a unique private little slice of paradise and is a must go place. If you are looking to be alone and away from it all, this is the place. Limited to 10 guests, privacy is easy to find on the miles of many secluded and unspoiled beaches, and your accommodations are private, isolated detached chalets. From the time I made our reservation Frank could not do enough for us. Frank and Gabi are exceptional hosts and made us feel right at home from the moment we were picked up from the airport. They employ a great and hospitable staff that takes Gabi’s lead and formulates unprecedented food, which is freshly prepared daily.

The chalets, the main house and all the accompaniments are of high quality with no expense spared, an island getaway with Ritz Carlton quality with out all the hustle and bustle. This is the perfect place to just unplug. Limited TV and Internet, but good cell service, just in case! We cannot wait to get back; in fact we booked a week next year and asked to be first on the list for any cancellations. If you would like to visit this place, do not hesitate since it is booked 6-8 months out.

Although we flew ourselves into the island it is easily accessible through Nassau with two flights a day. For those private pilots, I was a little concerned with runway conditions and the fact that there are no Instrument approaches into the island, it’s an easy trip over from the US. Plan your trip with a stop in North Eleuthera (MYEH) clear customs, if its IFR they have a good GPS approach. You can always stop in Nassau where there are several precision approaches. The runway at Authors Town Airport (MYCA) is plenty wide and long, Bahamas Air lands Beechcraft 1900’s twice a day from Nassau in Authors Town.

Room Tip: All Chalets have equal views, privacy and accomadations.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

An absolutely wonderful long weekend at Shannas Cove. My wife and I wanted a break from the loud and over crowded resorts, and we found an absolute tranquil paradise. Simply put we loved the villas, beach, food, staff, drinks and company. A wonderful opportunity to unplug from the world, and enjoy stunning blue water while relaxing on multiple empty beaches. Thanks Frank and Gabbi hope to visit again soon!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank ddsmith7182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I had my first visit to Shannas Cove last summer and have been thinking about it ever since. I agree with basically everything that has been said in the other reviews about the beautiful beach, incredible food and very comfortable rooms of Shannas Cove. However, for me the real reason that I can't wait to go back to Shannas Cove is Frank and Gabi -- the owners. Gabi and Frank are two of the best people I have ever met in my life. I honestly don't believe I have ever met anyone more selfless or more generous than these two. They go out of their way to make sure you have what you need or want. They are high-quality managers and have great attention to detail, which can easily be seen in every aspect of the resort. They have impeccable taste, which you get to experience in the incredible meals they serve. In addition, rather than take all the spoils for themselves, they are gracious enough to give back to the local community when they can. You just won't find two finer people in this world than Frank and Gabi. Simply put, they treat you the way they would want to be treated if the roles were reversed. What more could you ask for from a host (or a friend).

Frank and Gabi: We wish we could make it down there this spring, but we will see you very soon, there is no doubt of that. D. Taylor

Room Tip: No bad rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Absolute best place in the world. It will be the most amazing trip ever, guaranteed! The view is perfect, the rooms are spotless (stripped and bleached top to bottom each year), the food is delightful, and best of all, the company (owners) is par non. Stop looking and book this trip now, you can thank me later.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blakegill66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

For the first time in a dozen years of 2 trips a year to many 'paradises', my wife and I returned to a resort. It was and is all we could want. Fantastic people, excellent accommodations, incredible food and a setting that is perfect for us. The beach perfect, incredible flat walking for 2 miles + and rarely will you see another person. Perfect swimming, 4-5 feet quite a ways out and clearer than a swimming pool with sandy, no rock bottom. Calm side of island so swimming, kayaking enjoyable and easy or hard as you want. Excellent running from resort on hard packed flat roads back towards town, as far as you'd like. Remember to bring a water bottle, mornings low 70's. No worries at all about crime, the locals you meet couldn't be any friendlier. We went to their local Christmas tree lighting ceremony and you feel like part of the family. Went to da smoke pot again (usually resort all goes 1 nite a week) and great ribs and rake and scrape.
Frank, Gabi, Andrea, Tara, Molly, Rado, Rod, Preston it is such a pleasure to have gotten to know you all and you are all incredibly special. We really miss you already. The service makes you comfortable and it is honest friendly not PR forced.
Went diving one day and having dived for over 40 years (was military diver) it was again handled perfectly by Frank and Rod. A nice wall (goes down 3000 ft. just a short bit out from the resort). Saw a couple of sharks (the hammerheads had left a while back), barracudas, lion fish, many other colorful fish and a beautiful reef. The snorkeling in front of resort and down the beach while not fantastic is still very enjoyable and safe feeling if not inclined to dive. Saw rays, occasional turtle and lots of starfish, sea biscuits, sand dollars........
You can make some great new friends or be as solitary as you like, both work perfectly here. Our first week a little more on the 'happy hour',, dancing, getting kinda crazy, the second week much more sedate, it is what you make of it and/or want.
The food, wow!! Basically, any thing you want for breakfast. For dinner, 3 course meals from lobster to 16oz porterhouse steak to veal and lamb chops all expertly cooked. Creme brule to parfaits all just made and ... wow!! This is all the top of the line stuff, not normal island/resort dinners.
As has been said, Shannas Cove is perfect for a relaxing, romantic, serene, peaceful vacation with a special other.
Do have to mention the sand flies, they are nasty and you will be bit, even my wife who usually never gets bit. Plenty of bug spray and less walking at sunset but minor inconveniences.
Once again, it is indeed a pleasure to have been a part of Shannas Cove for a visit. Thank You, we will see you again soon.

Room Tip: 5 rooms all pretty much the same/excellent, we've stayed in the parrot.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jimyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews