We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You Trip-Advisor!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cat Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shannas Cove Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cat Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Thank you trip advisor (and of course all the guests who have posted their experiences) for bringing to light what a true gem Shanna's Cove really is. We just arrived home from a 5 night stay and couldn't have asked for a more secluded/romantic time in the Bahamas. Thank you Frank and Gabi for everything, a return trip is a definite must!


We enjoyed making new friendships with everyone during our stay, especially our new Canadian and Minnesota friends :) We wish all of you the best and hope to stay in touch!

We now understand why Shanna's has so many excellent reviews!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dani022378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

Four days are not enough and five stars are not enough! We have traveled many places, including many Caribbean Islands. Shanna’s Cove is a unique private little slice of paradise and is a must go place. If you are looking to be alone and away from it all, this is the place. Limited to 10 guests, privacy is easy to find on the miles of many secluded and unspoiled beaches, and your accommodations are private, isolated detached chalets. From the time I made our reservation Frank could not do enough for us. Frank and Gabi are exceptional hosts and made us feel right at home from the moment we were picked up from the airport. They employ a great and hospitable staff that takes Gabi’s lead and formulates unprecedented food, which is freshly prepared daily.

The chalets, the main house and all the accompaniments are of high quality with no expense spared, an island getaway with Ritz Carlton quality with out all the hustle and bustle. This is the perfect place to just unplug. Limited TV and Internet, but good cell service, just in case! We cannot wait to get back; in fact we booked a week next year and asked to be first on the list for any cancellations. If you would like to visit this place, do not hesitate since it is booked 6-8 months out.

Although we flew ourselves into the island it is easily accessible through Nassau with two flights a day. For those private pilots, I was a little concerned with runway conditions and the fact that there are no Instrument approaches into the island, it’s an easy trip over from the US. Plan your trip with a stop in North Eleuthera (MYEH) clear customs, if its IFR they have a good GPS approach. You can always stop in Nassau where there are several precision approaches. The runway at Authors Town Airport (MYCA) is plenty wide and long, Bahamas Air lands Beechcraft 1900’s twice a day from Nassau in Authors Town.

Room Tip: All Chalets have equal views, privacy and accomadations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

An absolutely wonderful long weekend at Shannas Cove. My wife and I wanted a break from the loud and over crowded resorts, and we found an absolute tranquil paradise. Simply put we loved the villas, beach, food, staff, drinks and company. A wonderful opportunity to unplug from the world, and enjoy stunning blue water while relaxing on multiple empty beaches. Thanks Frank and Gabbi hope to visit again soon!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank ddsmith7182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I had my first visit to Shannas Cove last summer and have been thinking about it ever since. I agree with basically everything that has been said in the other reviews about the beautiful beach, incredible food and very comfortable rooms of Shannas Cove. However, for me the real reason that I can't wait to go back to Shannas Cove is Frank and Gabi -- the owners. Gabi and Frank are two of the best people I have ever met in my life. I honestly don't believe I have ever met anyone more selfless or more generous than these two. They go out of their way to make sure you have what you need or want. They are high-quality managers and have great attention to detail, which can easily be seen in every aspect of the resort. They have impeccable taste, which you get to experience in the incredible meals they serve. In addition, rather than take all the spoils for themselves, they are gracious enough to give back to the local community when they can. You just won't find two finer people in this world than Frank and Gabi. Simply put, they treat you the way they would want to be treated if the roles were reversed. What more could you ask for from a host (or a friend).

Frank and Gabi: We wish we could make it down there this spring, but we will see you very soon, there is no doubt of that. D. Taylor

Room Tip: No bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DarenTaylor2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Absolute best place in the world. It will be the most amazing trip ever, guaranteed! The view is perfect, the rooms are spotless (stripped and bleached top to bottom each year), the food is delightful, and best of all, the company (owners) is par non. Stop looking and book this trip now, you can thank me later.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blakegill66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

For the first time in a dozen years of 2 trips a year to many 'paradises', my wife and I returned to a resort. It was and is all we could want. Fantastic people, excellent accommodations, incredible food and a setting that is perfect for us. The beach perfect, incredible flat walking for 2 miles + and rarely will you see another person. Perfect swimming, 4-5 feet quite a ways out and clearer than a swimming pool with sandy, no rock bottom. Calm side of island so swimming, kayaking enjoyable and easy or hard as you want. Excellent running from resort on hard packed flat roads back towards town, as far as you'd like. Remember to bring a water bottle, mornings low 70's. No worries at all about crime, the locals you meet couldn't be any friendlier. We went to their local Christmas tree lighting ceremony and you feel like part of the family. Went to da smoke pot again (usually resort all goes 1 nite a week) and great ribs and rake and scrape.
Frank, Gabi, Andrea, Tara, Molly, Rado, Rod, Preston it is such a pleasure to have gotten to know you all and you are all incredibly special. We really miss you already. The service makes you comfortable and it is honest friendly not PR forced.
Went diving one day and having dived for over 40 years (was military diver) it was again handled perfectly by Frank and Rod. A nice wall (goes down 3000 ft. just a short bit out from the resort). Saw a couple of sharks (the hammerheads had left a while back), barracudas, lion fish, many other colorful fish and a beautiful reef. The snorkeling in front of resort and down the beach while not fantastic is still very enjoyable and safe feeling if not inclined to dive. Saw rays, occasional turtle and lots of starfish, sea biscuits, sand dollars........
You can make some great new friends or be as solitary as you like, both work perfectly here. Our first week a little more on the 'happy hour',, dancing, getting kinda crazy, the second week much more sedate, it is what you make of it and/or want.
The food, wow!! Basically, any thing you want for breakfast. For dinner, 3 course meals from lobster to 16oz porterhouse steak to veal and lamb chops all expertly cooked. Creme brule to parfaits all just made and ... wow!! This is all the top of the line stuff, not normal island/resort dinners.
As has been said, Shannas Cove is perfect for a relaxing, romantic, serene, peaceful vacation with a special other.
Do have to mention the sand flies, they are nasty and you will be bit, even my wife who usually never gets bit. Plenty of bug spray and less walking at sunset but minor inconveniences.
Once again, it is indeed a pleasure to have been a part of Shannas Cove for a visit. Thank You, we will see you again soon.

Room Tip: 5 rooms all pretty much the same/excellent, we've stayed in the parrot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jimyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

This was our second trip to Shannas Cove, and we have fallen even more in love with it than we did last year! Everything from the accommodations, food, staff, and beach were superb! Frank and Gabi are always so welcoming, and it is so nice knowing what to expect each year. We had the wonderful opportunity to get to know all off of the guests (total 10 of us) while there and have left with new contacts from around the world. We even pulled tables together for meals this year! What fun! Two beach days were sublime with water like glass, and the other days were still just as fun. Added to the kayak collection are two paddle boards, which we loved using in the cove and close beaches such as Man-O-War. Frank arranged a fishing trip one day, and another day, he helped us get a rental car to explore the rest of the island. Needless to say, we came back from our trip around the island and still felt Shannas was the absolute best place to be. Both my husband and I feel this is one of our favorite destinations that we will continue to visit throughout the years. Thanks Frank and Gabi for such a wonderful trip, as always!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank SandEseetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cat Island
37.7 mi away
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Cat Island
78 reviews
13 mi away
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
#4 of 10 in Cat Island
172 reviews
29.6 mi away
Fernandez Bay Village
Fernandez Bay Village
#1 of 10 in Cat Island
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Orange Creek Inn
Orange Creek Inn
#7 of 10 in Cat Island
47 reviews
27.8 mi away
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
#8 of 10 in Cat Island
22 reviews
0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shannas Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shannas Cove Resort

Address: Shanna Bay, Orange Creek, Cat Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cat Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Island
Price Range: £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shannas Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shannas Cove Resort is a paradise for people looking for a relaxing beach vacation in the sun, and is the perfect location for diving and fishing. Enjoy the island‘s secluded white sandy beaches and sub-tropical flora and fauna. During tours of the island you will get to know the islanders and will be impressed by their friendliness and hospitality. Our restaurant will pamper you with a diversity of dishes including exotic island specialities.Free high speed WiFi in the restaurant. Kayaks, stand up boards, snorkel gear is free of charge for our guests. We have a fully equipped dive center and offer also fishing trips, bone fishing in the nearby creek, Turtle watch tours in the creek and snorkel trips ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shannas Cove Hotel Cat Island
Shannas Cove Resort Cat Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing