We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Arrive as guests depart friends for life.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cat Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shannas Cove Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cat Island
Certificate of Excellence
devon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Arrive as guests depart friends for life.”
Reviewed 13 August 2010

My fiancee and I stayed at Shanna's Cove for five days in July 2010. We stayed with his family, who had also stayed there before. His family had mentioned previously what a gem this place was and how lovely the owners Frank and Gabi were but nothing prepared us for the warm welcome and hospitality we received.

The resort is in a beautiful, peaceful and tranquil part of the island; there are just five cottages all with lovely sea views. Waking up each morning and seeing the sea from the bed was amazing. They are modern and tastefully decorated with excellent facilities. We had the resort to ourselves which was lovely, this made it an excellent choice for a family getaway.

Gabi is a fantastic cook; every night dinner was a delicious delight. We feasted on red snapper, lobster, steak, amazing greek salad and her homemade pizzas are to die for! The huge 'home cooked all you can eat' breakfast was served each morning on the restaurant balcony overlooking the sea and was a perfect start to each day. The personal service we received from Frank and Gabi made everything a real family affair. They ask YOU what YOU want to eat for dinner and what time you want to eat - can you believe it?

Frank was an attentive host, nothing was too much trouble; he went out of his way to accomodate us with boat trips, fishing trips, aqua glide and even taking us to another nearby island. They really are excellent hosts, instantly you forget you are a guest and they feel like one of the family.

Anybody thinking of visiting Cat Island, stay at Shannas Cove with Frank and Gabi; you will not be disappointed. On second thought perhaps you shouldn't, we don't want our secret getting out!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smilingsammyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
225
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2010

Our 10 day stay at Shannas Cove Resort was one of THE best vacations we've taken in our 40 years of marriage - and we've been to several Caribbean islands, Bermuda, the Balearics, & Mexico for "warm getaways". Frank and Gabi's hospitality is outstanding - they (along with Katarinna) work diligently to accomodate their guests' needs. Gabi's cooking is excellent - especially her fish dishes and homemade bread. The grounds are well groomed and planted very nicely. Our cottage - the Parrot - was perfect, with an incredible view of the ocean with its changing colors. The staff cleaned meticulously every day, including the sliding glass doors that opened onto our porch. The resort is positioned towards the end of an extensive beach, so that you can walk for what seems like miles in the other direction. And if you prefer your own private beach, there is one "next door" that can easily be reached by walking at low tide, or swum or kayaked to. Gabi and Frank, thank you for making our 40th so special!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDF1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Frank & Gabi have a beautiful intimate resort on a gorgeous beach.
Great service, delicious dinner. We will go back next chance we get.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2010

Staying at Shannas Cove Resort is not just fantastic vacation, it seems more to be like visiting friends in paradise!
Wakeboarding, snorkling, relaxing, BBQ, dolphins, starfishes, endless beaches, mystic bat caves, incredible kind Bahamians, rake & scrape, cold Kalik etc. etc. etc.
Thanks to Gaby, Frank, Katharina, Frau Honig and the whole staff for the best holidays we ever had! We`ll be back!!
Eva&Alex

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColdKalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2010

We stayed at Shanna’s Cove over Christmas ‘09, and were more than thrilled by the experience. First, the location – the resort is at one of the most beautiful beaches on Cat Island. Guests stay at oceanfront bungalows with beautiful views over the beach. Each bungalow is essentially a one room studio, some larger than others, with a very comfortable bed, desk, couch and refrigerator and coffee maker and satellite TV as well as a separate modern bathroom and shower room and expansive outside porch overlooking the ocean. Second, the warm welcome – Frank and Gabi, the couple who run Shanna’s, are very welcoming and spare no effort to make you feel at home. They are also fun and very nice! Third, the food – without doubt, Shanna’s has Cat Island’s best. We tried a number of places on the island, and to come anywhere close to fine dining as we know it in the US or Europe, you must come here. Gabi imports specialty food items from the US and Europe, and served the most amazing Christmas dinner for 19 people, with an unforgettable feast of duck breast, cabbage, potatoes and salmon. Amazing! Every day we were there, the food just seemed to get better and better. While the lack of cooking facilities in the bungalows limit somewhat your options for eating in, as Gabi’s restaurant serves three meals a day, you won’t go wanting. Fourth, Frank has a state-of-the-art diving school on the premises of Shanna’s Cove, offering trips to all levels of divers to some of the most beautiful spots located right nearby. Both Frank and Gabi are passionate about their resort; they clearly love what they are doing, and their enthusiasm added that much more to our stay. We felt very lucky to have discovered Shanna’s, and would recommend this as the top destination on the island for foodies and divers.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank menyou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

arrived for 6 days to Shanna's Resort after hours of searching the web for a relaxing beach vacation. We couldnt find much about the resort as it was opened late 2009...but had a good feeling that we made the right choice..And we sure did! the resort is quiet & relaxed, clean and beautiful (design of room, balcony, bathroom, rest, etc), the beach is incredible, soft sand & miles of private walk, turquoise water to swim in (the real carribbean thing).

Frank & Gabi are great people, they have all the knowledge, facilities and connections that you will need if you wish to explore the Island (we went fishing, wondered around the Island, the heritage, visited some of the small, cool cat island bars, considered Scuba diving but didnt make it this time, etc).
The restaurant is great, we had a spoiling breakfast every day at the deck facing the lovely beach, good fresh salads or homemade pizza for lunch and for dinner fish or (very) good steak, prices were very reasonable.
We enjoyed the company of the lovely guests that we met at the bar and went out to the farmers' market in town all together- had good fun there!


Overall- we had the best vacation ever, Shanna's is THE place to be in this magical Cat Island!

--as for sand flies...remember to use spray and they will stay away : ) worth it!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShellyMario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

My wife and I have been to several of the Bahama Out Islands, Exuma, Abacos, Andros, Harbor and now, Cat Island.

We have enjoyed all the Out Islands and, luckily, all the places we have stayed at on them.

Having said that, Cat Island was the best and Shannas Cove Resort the nicest of any of the places we have been to.

Frank and his wife Gaby just opened their place this past November. There are five "bungalows" available to rent. I hesitate to use the word "bungalow" since it does not do justice to how nice these accomadations are. Simply beautiful on the inside with outside decks that give you a spectactular view of the ocean and beach.

Speaking of the beach, there are many great ones on Cat Island, but from what we saw, Shannas has the best one there.

Franks wife Gaby is an excellent cook. She is more then happy to cater to whatever it is that you wish to eat and every meal we had was a five star expierence. They have an excellent bar and wine selection also. As an unexpection bonus, Gaby, German by birth, some how makes the best pizza my wife and I have ever had. And we are from New Jersey, which is like pizza central.

Frank will be glad to arrange what ever activitiy you are interested in, from diving, nature tours, Bonefishing and car rentals. He even took us for a tour of a bat cave one afternoon. Well, he took me, my wife would not go in! The other option is to just sit on that great beach they have and relax.

Look up Cat Island and decide if it is for you. If so, you will want to give very strong consideration to staying at Shannas Cove Resort.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonefishing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cat Island
29.6 mi away
Fernandez Bay Village
Fernandez Bay Village
#1 of 10 in Cat Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
37.7 mi away
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Cat Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
13.0 mi away
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
#4 of 10 in Cat Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.8 mi away
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
#9 of 10 in Cat Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
2.2 mi away
Orange Creek Inn
Orange Creek Inn
#7 of 10 in Cat Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shannas Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shannas Cove Resort

Property: Shannas Cove Resort
Address: Shanna Bay, Orange Creek, Cat Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cat Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shannas Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shannas Cove Resort is a paradise for people looking for a relaxing beach vacation in the sun, and is the perfect location for diving and fishing. Enjoy the island‘s secluded white sandy beaches and sub-tropical flora and fauna. During tours of the island you will get to know the islanders and will be impressed by their friendliness and hospitality. Our restaurant will pamper you with a diversity of dishes including exotic island specialities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shannas Cove Hotel Cat Island
Shannas Cove Resort Cat Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing