We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest Vacation Ever!!!”
Review of Tail Winds Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cat Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tail Winds Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Cat Island
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My wife and I arrived for our 4 day vacation on Cat Island. We stumbled upon this hotel by accident. I am so glad we did. It was the most beautiful place either of us have ever been. We have been to many Islands in the past and none came close. Rich was the man. He was so great to deal with and great to hang out with. He loves his hotel and Cat Island so much and has put his heart and soul into it. The food was awesome cooked to order. The villa's were amazing. They were great 5 feet from the beach and the views were breathtaking. We are in the airport now and when we get home we are booking a week next year. Best Vacation We ever had hands down. Thanks to Rich and Dave.

Room Tip: "Our Secret"
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Icemand102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Tail Winds Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

Great vacation!

My husband and I wanted a vacation in which we could relax on a beautiful beach without crowds— Tail Winds definitely delivered.

Beach- I have been to numerous beaches and this is by far the most amazing beach. White powdery sand, clear turquoise water, west facing for sun sets, no rocky pebbles to hurt your feet, no liter, no sea grass. The resort also provides two beach chairs and an umbrella, but we never even used the umbrella as there is a large shady tree that did the trick. You can walk in one direction for at least a mile and after passing two homes (no one was there while we were there), the beach is uninhabited and has beautiful rock outcroppings, drift wood, and beautiful views. If you walk the other way, you head towards Shana’s Cove (short walk).

Food and drinks- The food was very good. I have a gluten sensitivityand they were very conscientious about accommodating this. They even used my gluten free bread to make paninis. The chicken curry is delicious. My husband loved the paninis. They also will stop by the little market on the way from the airport so you can pick up essentials. The market is 1.8 miles from the resort and it was an easy bike ride (complimentary at the resort). Drinks at the two bars (one inside and one Tiki on the beach if you don’t want to walk up the short flight of steps) are on an honor system. My husband I liked this as it was convenient to be able to get what we wanted without any wait, but those looking for someone to be making and carrying drinks to them on the beach should stay at a resort on another island where there are lots of tourists. Da Smoke Pot is also on the island and is definitely worth a trip. Delicious and fun.

Activities- We spent most of the week laying on the beach and taking walks. You can walk on a trail by Shanna’s Cove and hike over to the other side to go snorkeling. You can also take a kayak (complimentary) out—if you go past Shanna’s there is a really cool cave and more pristine deserted beaches. If you go the other direction, another couple told us they were able to snorkel, saw huge star fish, and saw a huge sting ray. We went on a boat trip out to a sunken ship to go snorkeling and then to Half Moon Cay. This was well worth it and beautiful- saw dolphins and beautifully colored fish.

Rooms- comfortable beds, clean, microwave, toaster, fridge, dishes, flat screen tv, and fireplace. Nice sized bathroom with shower that is open to the sky. Vaulted wood ceilings. Views of the water even from the room we were in (Happy Landings) that is set one row back. You can watch any tv or sports (the Final Four was on while we were there) in your room, in the bar, or on the deck.

We really enjoyed this vacation and would definitely go back. While this is not the kind of place where you are waited on hand and foot, it is the kind of place where the women who clean bring fresh cut flowers and are very welcoming, you have a beautiful beach pretty much to yourself, and if you want company, Rich (the owner), Dave (the manager), and other guests are typically can be found to socialize with. Rich and Dave went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and had what we needed. They were very welcoming and we really appreciated everything they did to make our vacation such a great one.

I would recommend you take bug spray as the no seeums are out when the wind dies down.

Room Tip: It is probably best to get a room up front, but the two set back (we were in one of these) still had...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
7  Thank KeelsT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My fiancée and I traveled to Tail Winds recently and had an amazing time relaxing in paradise. Our entire experience was unlike any prior vacation we’ve taken, particularly differing from the big box resorts where food is mass produced and waiting in long lines at swim-up bars is the norm. The beach is amazing and the turquoise colored water rivals that of any beach I’ve previously visited. The best part was the peacefulness the beach offered as rarely would more then 3-4 people pass by the beach on any given day, giving the impression that we were alone on the island. The beaches were endless and one could spend the entire day exploring beach after beach on the island. There were also several nearby hiking trails to explore as well.

Our villa was beautiful and was extremely clean and well kept, and offered everything you would need including over 100 channels, as well as dependable and fast high speed internet, if you wanted to take a break from the sun. The bed was large and comfortable and the outdoor shower was a nice touch, especially when you can shower while gazing at the moon and stars. There was a large deck that contained many lounge chairs, a spa pool, and even an outdoor covered lounge where you can watch TV outside. The views from the deck are amazing, making an ideal spot to eat breakfast while listening to the waves. The tiki bar is located right by the beach and is a great place to watch the sunset or unwind after a long day on the beach. One thing I wanted to mention was the close attention to detail paid by the owner Rich in building and maintaining this great resort. Everything is built with durable and quality materials, the rooms are kept spotless and there is a true luxury feeling to this resort, which is impressive considering the remote location of Cat Island.

We ate most of our meals at the on-site restaurant at Tail Winds and each meal was excellent with both large portion sizes and fair prices. The menu was diverse yet familiar with such American classics as buffalo wings, cheeseburgers and mozzarella sticks, as well as chicken parmesan, delicious steaks and several seafood dishes including cracked conch and the fish of the day. These are only a few of the many options on the menu.

What is so great about this place is that guests can do as much or as little as they want to. You can spend the entire day on the beach soaking up the sun and relaxing at the tiki bar, or you can hike, snorkel and explore the island. Rich and Dave were very gracious hosts always trying to ensure we were entertained. Rich took us on a great adventure in his jeep where we explored other areas of the island and we also enjoyed the local night life with Rake and Scrape at Da Smoke Pot. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone as it offers all the amenities of the large big box resorts but far exceeds them with its more private and relaxing atmosphere.

Thanks Rich and Dave for a great week.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Caribreezian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We have been delinquent in writing this review because we really wanted to see if months later we still feel the same way. Not only do we feel the same way, we feel even more attached to Tailwinds than ever. Being veteran island vacationers, we are writing this somewhat reluctantly though. We selfishly wanted to keep this place a secret between those who have discovered it, but Rich and Dave are so deserving of operating a successful resort that we want to promote our experience. I have to warn you, when you land at the North Cat Island Airport you are really going to wonder what you have gotten yourself into. Experience it, and you'll know what we mean. But, all of sudden here comes Dave from Tailwinds to pick you up. He is completely friendly and laid back as he loads your bags into his pick up truck. The ride to Tailwinds is a little rough, and again you're wondering... Then you turn into Tailwinds, park, walk to the front of the building and you know exactly what you're doing here and remember why you selected it. There are four indivdual cottages that all face the water. There is not a bad one in the group as they all have a clean breeze blowing straight in. Each cottage has a very comfortable king bed, a sitting area, satellite tv if you really need it, a kitchenette and a large bathroom with an absolutely fantastic outdoor shower (OK, it's closed in so you have privacy, but the floor is slatted boards and the ceiling doesn't exist, only the sky is your ceiling.) There is a/c in each cottage, and it works very well if you need it! On the beach is a true tiki hut bar (pay attention to the construction, it's all hand woven) that is well stocked and tended by GM Dave or owner Rich. Don't worry, you can get a libation 24 hours a day. The beach is literally 10 feet away. Jimmy Buffet would write songs about this bar. The water is clear and gentle. The beach is virtually deserted for miles to the left ;) where the only footprints may be your own, and to the right is Shanna's which is perched up on a cliff with a beautiful beach below. It was closed from hurricane damage when we were there. Interestingly, Tailwinds survived 160 mph winds during the hurricane with only slight damage. There is also an inside bar which, like the tike bar, is on the honor system. Just write down what you had. This room doubles as the restaurant. We usually had breakfast there and some nights supper. Let me tell you, both Rich and Dave can cook, and Dave is truly a world class chef! The food was excellent. These two are interesting because Dave is so laid back, but Rich is a gregarious New Yorker who has stories to tell until the wee hours when you can't take another drink. Fortunately, your cottage is mere steps away!
They are also accomodating as far as activities. Rich took us in his 1947 Willy's for a daylong tour of the north part of the island, the Atlantic side, the blue hole and other interesting sites. In the evening we would have cocktail hour, or three, and load up into either/and the Willy's, the pickup or the neighbors Land Rover and bounce into town. Everyone at the resort is invited every time, and it is great fun to meet the others (there was one other couple there during our stay) and the neighbors. Anytime you want to go somewhere local you are accomodated. You can catch a ride with Dave, or you can rent a car. There are bars and dance halls that make for a fun evening. Go find Mama and meet her! During our trips to town we ate several times at Da Smoke Pot. Renee and Julian are absolutely delightful! And the food, we could have eaten there every night. One night Julian had his Rack n' Scrape band come down and play. We didn't know my wife was a musician, but there she was playing the saw and screwdriver in the band, Kalik close by. We really felt right at home on Cat Island.
We could go on, but to sum it up, go to Tailwainds, you'll find a first class resort , you will feel like you've know these folks forever, and you'll be planning your next trip before you even go home!!! If we could give this resort a 10 rating we would. It was exactly what we had been searching for and is in our near future for a return trip.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room. They are all right on the beach.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CBinVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Torn between keeping this piece of paradise to ourselves and sharing our experience, we have opted for the latter in hopes that it will encourage a few more people to experience the out islands.

We stayed at Tail Winds in February 2012 and are already planning our next visit. We will definitely be staying at Tail Winds again. Here are our thoughts:

Accommodation / Resort:

The units are bright, airy, clean and well equipped. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever had in the Bahamas. The outdoor open air shower was fantastic, especially at night with the stars shining overhead. The real plus with Tail Winds over other small resorts is that it has the best of both worlds – a kitchenette (with toaster, sink, fridge, coffee pot, microwave and all the plates/glasses/utensils) PLUS a dining room where you can order great food. This allowed us to pick up a few things at the local grocery store, have breakfast and lunch in our room, on the deck, or on the beach, and go out for dinners.

Another real plus, was the really comfortable couch, and TV with lots of channels. Although not applicable to us, this would be great for families with young children, especially if you want to get out of the sun in the afternoon, and occupy them with something else, or on a rainy day. At the moment, the rooms are not very well suited to young families as they only have one king bed, so you may need to bring an air mattress or portable crib. The good thing is that there is plenty of room in the unit to set these up. The rooms also have good storage and an in room safe. We never felt the need to lock our door - in fact, we never even asked for a key.

A recent addition to the resort is a nice pergola on the deck near the entrance to the dining room, with lots of comfy chairs to relax in – whether dining outdoors or after a long day on the beach. The area is covered, which provides shelter from the rain and shade from the sun. There is also a small pool and lots of reclining chairs – perfect for sun tanning. If you intend on snorkeling, there is some equipment provided but it is well used, and they recommend that you bring your own to ensure the best possible experience.

Beach:

We have been to a number of beaches in the Bahamas and this one is by far, one of the best. The sand is powdery soft, with hints of pink, and the water is crystal clear with a good depth for walking out. You can stroll down the beach for hours, and connect to other beaches if desired. For each unit they supply two beach chairs, and a beach umbrella, as well as really large beach towels, which is fantastic. Most days we didn’t see anyone else on the beach and there are both shady and sunny spots. We saw lots of wildlife just by walking the beach: barracuda, other fish, butterflies, osprey, lots of crabs, and some nice shells as well. This resort is on the Caribbean side of the island and sits RIGHT on the beach. Typically the sea is calmer on the Caribbean side which is good for swimming and snorkeling.

Food/Drink:

What better than an honour tiki bar to great you as you make your way back from the beach to your room? Simply write down what you take, and at the end of your stay, pay. It is fully stocked, with lots of rum, beer, wine, and other spirits. The same thing goes for the bar in the dining room which has even more selection.

We were pleasantly surprised by the new menu and food available at Tail Winds. There is a blend of American and Bahamian cuisine, but the host has made a concerted effort to encourage guests to get out and experience other local places for a genuine Bahamian meal. We had crab, conch, tempura shrimp, wings, Panini sandwiches (turkey/ham), asparagus soup, beef burger, salmon burger, and the 12 oz striploin served with plantain, broccoli, and baked potato. The food was all fantastic and very reasonably priced. A great thing about the location of Tail Winds is that you are close to the grocery store in orange creek, you can walk down the beach to Shanna’s cove for lunch or a more formal dinner, or rent a car and drive a short distance to Arthur’s town and try Da Smoke Pot, or Yardie’s which is located in Bennett’s Harbour (their fresh conch salad is amazing). To prepare your own meals, note that the selection at the grocery stores on the island is very basic, and some people opt to do a shop in Nassau, or bring some things with them. We were able to get bagels, cream cheese, apples, canned fruit salad, jam, cookies, bread, canned tuna, mayo, etc. Fresh fruit and veggies are the most limited in selection, but most of the resorts, including Tail Winds, have a good selection for meals prepared in their restaurants.

Activities:

Tail Winds resort is located at the North end of Cat Island. There are lots to do at the resort and in the surrounding area. There are four sea kayaks and bicycles for use by guests. From the beach, you can also access other beaches, and there are walking trails to some nearby places such as Man O War point, and the Atlantic side. We brought our books and magazines and parked ourselves on the beach every day. In general, this is a quiet island, and there are no large restaurants, clubs, casinos or anything of that nature. Saturday nights there is a rake and scrape cook out near the airport which is loads of fun and lots of good food. You get a chance to meet and chat with the locals who are all very friendly. We rented a car for the week and drove down south to see the Hermitage near the New Bight, which was really worth seeing. On previous visits we also went to Greenwood and visited some of the other resorts including Pigeon Cay and Fernandez Bay. Renting a car can be a challenge because there are limited rentals, particularly in the north of the island, but just ask the host to secure one for you - it's as easy as that.

Room Tip: The four rooms are identical in layout and ammenities. There are two that are located closer to the...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JP C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I really had doubts about writing a review as not to ruin the place with popularity but the host was so gracious that it was the least I can do for the wonderful stay we had. No pictures can capture this place as it is more of an immersion. This was simply the very best beach experience we have ever had. Sand so soft that you can sink up to your ankles walking along the beach. Look back and your foot prints may be the only ones. The rooms were perfect from open air showers (look up to see the stars at night), top notch touches, and even an electric fireplace for that romantic look. The beach is right there so the sounds of the waves at night where better than any sleeping pill. The food was great and the drinks plentiful at the Tiki Bar right on the beach. We named the the tiki bar the Green Flash after the owner and I witnessed the rare event at sunset. We had the luck that a family flew in on their plane and made a grand meal that was shared by everyone with great conversations with others guests, the owners, and very interesting locals. They have a pontoon boat for trips that can give you a day you will always remember. We dove on a wreck and there are so many reefs that it is simply - hey lets try this one! The water was so clear that we watched sea turtles dash about 60 feet down! My wife who does not snorkel loved watching the sea life from the boat. While we were using the scooters to explore the island everyone we came across waved and smiled. What a great time and exactly what we wanted for 5 days. It gave us what no big box resort could ever give, peace. Richard, you have created something special.

Room Tip: Of the four, none are bad but the two closest to the water are just closer.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We sailed to Cat Island and rented a car to explore for one day. We found this place after meeting a couple at conch bar nearby who raved about where they were staying.
When we arrived, it was deserted and that's a good thing! If you want tobe left alone, this is the place. All "toys" are available. No restaurant at this time and you have to cook for yourself but that cuts down on people and gives you more time to have solitude.
If I was looking for beautiful beach, aesthetic accomodations, good management and peace, this is the place in both Cat Island and Long Island, Bahamas. Only $170 per night. Bring the little ones as the beach is shallow for a long wade in.
We are thinking of bringing our boat, anchoring out and having our grandchildren and their parents stay here.
If the manager advises nochildren the week you are honeymooning? This is it!
Best tiki bar view too!

Room Tip: Any room is great but 2 of four are on the water...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InnerBankSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TailwindsBahamas, Owner at Tail Winds Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Hi thank you for your review I think there was a missunderstanding there is a restaurannt at tail winds resort in you email me at tailwinds@hughes.net I will email ou a menu
Thanks,
rich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cat Island hotels
12.7 mi away
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
#6 of 10 in Cat Island
164 reviews
37.4 mi away
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Cat Island
72 reviews
1.9 mi away
Orange Creek Inn
Orange Creek Inn
#7 of 10 in Cat Island
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.3 mi away
Fernandez Bay Village
Fernandez Bay Village
#2 of 10 in Cat Island
300 reviews
27.5 mi away
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
#8 of 10 in Cat Island
22 reviews
42.5 mi away
Greenwood Beach Resort
Greenwood Beach Resort
#4 of 10 in Cat Island
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tail Winds Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tail Winds Resort

Address: | Orange Creek, Cat Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Island
Price Range: £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the winds take you to beautiful Cat Island, where the sandy, pink, unpopulated beaches stretches for miles and you can swim in the crystal clear turquoise water and gentle breezes caress you in the evening under the starry sky. Come and stay with us, and let us show you the real, unspoiled Bahamas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tail Winds Resort Cat Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing