We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Vacation Of Kings & Queens” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tail Winds Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cat Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tail Winds Resort
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cat Island
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Vacation Of Kings & Queens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Tailwinds. Clever name huh? Well this resort is one of a kind. I cannot explain the whole resort and Cat Island in one whole review. They were PHENOMINAL. Tail Winds is located on the very North tip of the island. This region is the most Private and Secluded area of the whole island. Rich (The Owner) and Dave (The Manager) are both very helpful and FANTASTIC hosts. They are willing to help anytime in need. The rooms are very private and modern. The food is fantastic! And well prepared. The Bar is based off an "Honor System". Meaning: You can go behind the bar anytime you want and fix yourself a drink, aslong as you mark down what you drank. The Resort only has 4 rooms which is perfect for any couple or a small to medium sized family. You will never feel overwhelmed or rushed at "Tailwinds". Looking for a place with privacy, beautiful scenery, great rooms, great food, and the beach footsteps away from your room? Tailwinds is your best pick! You will not regret it!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amlmcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
81
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Tailwinds is an an oceanfront resort is on a pristine, secluded, private beach where you will likely be the only one present most of the time, and would likely be double the price if you were at a more established hotel chain. The water is crystal clear and warm. The resort is small, and affordable considering the modern accommodations, high level of excellent service, oceanfront location, and tasty low priced meals. There is a serve yourself tiki bar 10 feet from the beach. The bungalows have a/c, outdoor showers, and are modern and comfortable with cable tv and internet. When you land on a dirt runway on this mostly uninhabited island, those things may not seem possible, but they are all there at Tailwinds. We sought a low key location without large families or crowds, and this was perfect. The owner, Rich, and his assistant, Dave, tailor to your needs, and are personable and welcoming. The meals are fresh, home-cooked, and prepared to your specifications whenever you want them. Bring plenty of sunscreen, and prepare to forget the rat race. Also, we are a gay couple, and felt right at home. I highly recommend Tailwinds.

Room Tip: All of the bungalows are equally good, although the front 2 are slightly closer to the ocean. Bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jlafata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Tail Winds Resort is the top choice destination on Cat Island, Bahamas. Everything from Rich (the owner) and Dave (the manager) to the rooms, beaches, and amenities, Tail Winds is top notch.

Rich is a very passionate man that has created the best beach front (and I mean on the beach!) resort on all of Cat Island. The resort is incredibly well designed and built to incredibly high standards. If you are looking for a real “get-away” destination with soft white sand beaches with crystal clear water lapping up on shore, then this is your place. Tail Winds is a very exclusive location where you won’t expect to see many other visitors as is so common in other locations (like Nassau). Tail Winds really allows you to be as independent as you would like, giving you ample room to absorb the solitude of the island.

Of course, Rich and Dave are always on site and available to you as you wish. You will find Dave’s cooking to be incredibly delicious and rather on the healthy side, which we really appreciated. One of the best features of Tail Winds (which is not common at other small resorts) is the ability to order anything off the menu come breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Though, you will want to tell Rich or Dave your menu choice a few hours in advance of lunch or dinner time. And you have to have the Chocolate Panini; it’s a perfect dessert or afternoon snack…and once you have one, you will want another.

We stayed in Hanna’s Hanger, which is very spacious with vaulted ceilings, a comfortable bed, nice couch, and seating areas (note: the four individual bungalows are identical). The kitchen area has a sink and small refrigerator (stocked with bottled water), the closet is spacious and invites you to move in for the week, while the bathroom is also spacious, the greatest feature is having your own private outdoor shower. There is also daily maid service and the ladies are exceptionally nice.

Rich has sea kayaks available to use as you wish. We went kayaking one day and spent most of the time floating over reefs and looking at fish and sea life. Rich also has a very nice pontoon boat available for snorkeling and sight-seeing trips (Dave was a great skipper and host during our voyage).

A couple of tips, bring DEET with you (just in case!). If it rains, the “no seeum” (sand flies) can get a little buggy. Rich or Dave will pick you up at Arthurs Town airport; on the way to the resort, you might want to stop at the local grocery store at Orange Creek to pick up any snack food items and bug spray just in case you forgot yours at home. You can also use any of the four bicycles to take a ride into Orange Creek/market; it’s an easy 3 mile ride.

And last but not least, on one of your nights, you will want to plan a trip to “Da Smoke Pot” for dinner. Along the way, you will also want to stop and see Colonius for beer and peanuts and stop at Grammy’s for another beer. And on your way back to Tail Winds, stop again to see Colonius.

And final tip, if your travels have you staying overnight on Nassau, the hotel “A Stones Throw” is a close 10 minute cab ride from the airport.

Room Tip: Each of the four bungalows are exactly the same. There are two front row bungalows that put you 15...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We highly recommend this hotel. If you are looking for a place to stay on Cat Island this is it. Our trip began with the friendly and gracious owner Rich picking us up at the airport. Once at the resort we were pleased to find a quiet, beautiful little piece of paradise. The guest rooms are lovely, clean, and spacious. The rooms have a gas fireplace, large flat screen satellite TV, king-size bed, safe, hair dryer, small bar fridge, microwave, toaster, coffee pot and kitchen sink. Each room comes with 2 beach chairs and a beach umbrella. The outdoor shower is very private and the water is lovely and hot. The resort has 2 bars, an on-site restaurant (with great food reasonably priced) a swim spa, and sea kayaks for your use. The beach is lovely and very quiet. If you see five people in one day, you have had a busy day. Rich the owner and Dave his manager were really helpful. Rich took us over to the Atlantic side of the island in his old army jeep, it was a fun trip and some great sight seeing. Dave played tour guide for a day and took us down to the south end of the island to find a piece of property that our family owned. I think Dave knows everybody on the island so it was helpful in finding our property. The resort also has wireless. We have been home for two months now and we are planning our next trip back already!

Room Tip: The Flap House and Hanna's Hangar are ocean front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OneVacationTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Richard and David - thanks for an awesome stay, and a number of phenomenal meals. We were on the island for business, but this resort was a solid oasis of high quality room construction, great attention to detail with linens, luxury touches, very functional beach location, great night time ocean waves saying "go to sleep", and very accomodating hosts. I made them do an impromptu dinner party for 10+ guests, and they rose to the occasion and delivered a top notch series of courses, with big smiles, and with well timed delivery and execution. Kudos, big thanks, and we hope to see you again soon! :) Best, Peter and Bari.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RexKite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennett Square, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My wife and I arrived for our 4 day vacation on Cat Island. We stumbled upon this hotel by accident. I am so glad we did. It was the most beautiful place either of us have ever been. We have been to many Islands in the past and none came close. Rich was the man. He was so great to deal with and great to hang out with. He loves his hotel and Cat Island so much and has put his heart and soul into it. The food was awesome cooked to order. The villa's were amazing. They were great 5 feet from the beach and the views were breathtaking. We are in the airport now and when we get home we are booking a week next year. Best Vacation We ever had hands down. Thanks to Rich and Dave.

Room Tip: "Our Secret"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Icemand102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Great vacation!

My husband and I wanted a vacation in which we could relax on a beautiful beach without crowds— Tail Winds definitely delivered.

Beach- I have been to numerous beaches and this is by far the most amazing beach. White powdery sand, clear turquoise water, west facing for sun sets, no rocky pebbles to hurt your feet, no liter, no sea grass. The resort also provides two beach chairs and an umbrella, but we never even used the umbrella as there is a large shady tree that did the trick. You can walk in one direction for at least a mile and after passing two homes (no one was there while we were there), the beach is uninhabited and has beautiful rock outcroppings, drift wood, and beautiful views. If you walk the other way, you head towards Shana’s Cove (short walk).

Food and drinks- The food was very good. I have a gluten sensitivityand they were very conscientious about accommodating this. They even used my gluten free bread to make paninis. The chicken curry is delicious. My husband loved the paninis. They also will stop by the little market on the way from the airport so you can pick up essentials. The market is 1.8 miles from the resort and it was an easy bike ride (complimentary at the resort). Drinks at the two bars (one inside and one Tiki on the beach if you don’t want to walk up the short flight of steps) are on an honor system. My husband I liked this as it was convenient to be able to get what we wanted without any wait, but those looking for someone to be making and carrying drinks to them on the beach should stay at a resort on another island where there are lots of tourists. Da Smoke Pot is also on the island and is definitely worth a trip. Delicious and fun.

Activities- We spent most of the week laying on the beach and taking walks. You can walk on a trail by Shanna’s Cove and hike over to the other side to go snorkeling. You can also take a kayak (complimentary) out—if you go past Shanna’s there is a really cool cave and more pristine deserted beaches. If you go the other direction, another couple told us they were able to snorkel, saw huge star fish, and saw a huge sting ray. We went on a boat trip out to a sunken ship to go snorkeling and then to Half Moon Cay. This was well worth it and beautiful- saw dolphins and beautifully colored fish.

Rooms- comfortable beds, clean, microwave, toaster, fridge, dishes, flat screen tv, and fireplace. Nice sized bathroom with shower that is open to the sky. Vaulted wood ceilings. Views of the water even from the room we were in (Happy Landings) that is set one row back. You can watch any tv or sports (the Final Four was on while we were there) in your room, in the bar, or on the deck.

We really enjoyed this vacation and would definitely go back. While this is not the kind of place where you are waited on hand and foot, it is the kind of place where the women who clean bring fresh cut flowers and are very welcoming, you have a beautiful beach pretty much to yourself, and if you want company, Rich (the owner), Dave (the manager), and other guests are typically can be found to socialize with. Rich and Dave went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and had what we needed. They were very welcoming and we really appreciated everything they did to make our vacation such a great one.

I would recommend you take bug spray as the no seeums are out when the wind dies down.

Room Tip: It is probably best to get a room up front, but the two set back (we were in one of these) still had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
5 Thank KeelsT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cat Island
25.1 mi away
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
#3 of 9 in Cat Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Cat Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
8.1 mi away
Fernandez Bay Village
Fernandez Bay Village
#1 of 3 in Cat Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
28.2 mi away
Sammy T's Beach Resort
Sammy T's Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Cat Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tail Winds Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tail Winds Resort

Property: Tail Winds Resort
Address: | Orange Creek, Cat Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cat Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the winds take you to beautiful Cat Island, where the sandy, pink, unpopulated beaches stretches for miles and you can swim in the crystal clear turquoise water and gentle breezes caress you in the evening under the starry sky. Come and stay with us, and let us show you the real, unspoiled Bahamas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tail Winds Resort Cat Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing