We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tail Winds Resort
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Cat Island
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Orange Creek Inn(Cat Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Unique Village(North Palmetto Point)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropical Dreams Rentals(North Palmetto Point)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Bougainvillea(Governor's Harbour)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
101
10
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
10
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerpaninida smoke potelectric fireplacebeautiful beachbug sprayhonor systemsmall poolking size bedwalk inshonor barflat screenfree kayakslocation is amazingwireless internet is availableatlantic sideour night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I don't really know where to start, everything with our stay at the Tail Winds Resort was just fantastic.

We arrived on the sky bahamas afternoon flight (be sure to fly into Arthurs Town, New Bight is a one hour car ride) and Richard, the owner, had already organized a taxi to get us to the hotel. Good start. When we arrived we first saw Richards famous Willys Army Jeep and the beautiful houses. RIchard awaited us in restaurant, or as he calls it "captains lounge", with his heartwarming smile. After he showed us our room (we were in the "happy landings" villa) and around the resort the first thing we did was to jump into the ocean. Oh that beautiful beach, love at first sight.

The next surprise was how great, spacious and perfectly clean the rooms were. Debbie and Daisy, the cleaning ladies, did a awesome job during our whole stay. The kingsize bed is super comfortable, the ac does a good job (and is very quiet in sleep mode) and nothing is missing. TV, fridge, microwave, coffee machine and a small safe. But by far the best about the rooms is the shower. At first we were a bit confused when we entered the bathroom a did not see a shower, but then Rich opened the glass door outside and showed us the outdoor shower. Guarded by room high walls you can shower under the sun or the stars which is a great feeling. Just perfect. And you never run out of hot water and the water pressure is very good and the water from Tail Winds own well is sweet and tasty.

So back to the resort. It's build on a wooden deck about 5feet above the ground. There are four villas, two of them on the waterfront. But you have a ocean view from all of the villas (and, of course from the bed). The Restaurant is located behind in the back and in between the two inland villas there are some couches and chairs under a sunroof. Between the waterfront houses there is a 7 on 14 foot whirlpool with a great back massage fountain. The massage is a must try. My back never felt better afterwards.
There are some lounge chairs around the pool. Those zero gravity chairs are very very comfortable and perfect to spend the whole day just lying there doing nothing.

But why would you want to stay on deck when you got ocean just 50 feet away? The beach is great. Fine grained, white sand just like on the postcards. Clear warm turquoise water, and some small reefs not far away. If you want to snorkeling Richard will give you state of the art gear to enjoy your experience. But even without gear you can see deep down on den reefs from above the waterline.
And it's lonely on the beach. Very very lonely. On a crowded day you could meet five other people going on a walk there.

The Tiki Bar is between the deck and the beach and there is a fridge full of cold drinks and also some loungers you can take down to the beach. The Tiki Bar and restaurant drinks are payed with a honor system. Just fix yourself the drink you want and write it down. No need to deal with a barkeeper or something like that. This really helps to feel at home and you don't need to worry about carrying around cash all time.
Speaking of cash, Richard accepts credit card payments while most of the other stores and restaurants on the island don't any kind of electronic payment so you have to make sure you have enough cash with you.

Tail Winds offers a huge variety of caribbean and american food. The food is very tasty (try the rib eye steak, lobster and the fish tempura) and reasonably priced and Richard will prepare it whenever you want, just tell him a while before.

Richard also has some bicycles you can just take to ride around the island. Arthurs Town, the next village with a grocery store is a 20 minute ride away.

All in all this was a great vacation, we've had a wonderful time and will definitely come back here. Never felt so at home at a hotel or anywhere. We really enjoyed sitting out at night with Richard. He is a warm and funny guy with lots of stories to tell. Richard built this place as his retirement and in everything he does you can see how much he loves this place. The only thing he wants is to make his visitors happy and be sure they have the time of their life. Tail Winds is a great place but Richard makes it perfect.

And a special advise: take some time in the whirlpool at night when all the lights are out and watch the stars.

Room Tip: The two waterfront houses "flap house" and "hana's hangar" are a bit closer to beach, but the room are identical and you get the ocean view from every room
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarstenG81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

My husband and I recently returned from a lovely vacation on Cat Island. We selected Tail Winds Resort, because it had rave reviews, and many other resorts were closed for the off-season (Aug 15 thru end of Sept).

Location - Tail Winds Resort is approx. 20 min drive north of the Arthurs Town airport. We didn't have a rental car, and Rich (resort owner) kindly picked us up and dropped us off.

Accommodation & resort - We were pleasantly surprised by the high quality of the rooms (villas) constructed by Rich. Each room includes a comfortable king bed, bathroom with outdoor shower, sitting area with TV (bring a HDMI cable to view uploaded photos, videos on iPad, etc.) and kitchen corner with fridge and microwave (wish they also had a toaster oven). The tap water is clean and tastes great. Daisy and Debbie (cleaning staff) did a great job keeping the room and surrounding areas clean. There is a hot tub (ambient temperature) which is great to relax in.

Rich ran the entire resort on his own while we were there and went out of his way to take care of all the guests -- but like another guest said, he needs to watch his language after a few drinks!

Food - Most of the meals we ate were very good. Breakfast averaged $12, lunch around $10-15, burgers around $12 and dinner entrees around $35-40. Most breakfasts were cooked by Daisy and Debbie between cleaning rooms since the other resort staff (including Dave) were on leave. We really liked the burgers. We had the pleasure of eating out a couple of times at Da Smoke Pot, a restaurant in Arthurs Town (the proprietor plays in a local rake'n'scrape band). We also brought some food with us from the US (cereal and snacks, plus OJ/milk/cheese/bread/deli meat -- all frozen and packed in our suitcase without needing a special cooler).

Early Awakenings - A separate category here and the reason for 4 stars, because this was the only big downside of our stay. We stayed in the "Happy Landings" room (green villa), and our bed was in the corner opposite the sliding doors opening to the dining room/bar and the resort office. All the rooms are connected to a large wooden deck. On the first morning around 7:30am, we were awoken out of a shaking bed by what felt like an earthquake! Then we realized this was the main walkway for people coming from the kitchen area up the path to the deck behind our headboard to the sliding doors and into the dining room, opening the sliding door and slamming it shut. This went on for 2-3 hours every morning, which was enough to kill any sort of romantic mood or wake up feeling mentally relaxed (which btw was one big reason we needed a vacation!). For this reason, I recommend staying in one of the rooms closest to the beach if they are available - especially if you want to sleep in.

Other amenities - We really enjoyed kayaking almost every day. There is a pair of adult kayaks and children's kayaks by the beach for guests to use. Bring a waterproof bag (not a ziplock bag) if you don't have a waterproof camera. There are also some bikes available for guests, but we didn't use them.

Beach - The resort is almost right on the beach which has lovely powdery sand and warm water. There is a nice Tiki Bar with an honor system. We enjoyed lounging on the larger beach chairs under the coconut palms just behind the Tiki Bar.

Snorkelling - A few tiny reefs just south of the resort with lots of different fish species, but we heard a boat is necessary to reach larger reefs. Unfortunately most of the small reefs within easy swimming distance of the resort are bleached due to the environmental changes causing loss of equilibrium in the zooxanthellae that also give coral its color.

Biting flies - Tail Winds, like most other places in the Caribbean, is plagued by noseeums -- tiny biting flies in the family Ceratopoginidae (Culicoides or Leptoconops spp.). If you arrive at Tail Winds in late afternoon, put on insect repellent before you do anything else! (Recommend at least 30% DEET). The flies generally bite from dusk to dawn and will find any untreated skin, especially on the legs and arms but also the face and neck. There is a small bottle of "emergency" repellent in the Tiki Bar for anyone who needs it.

A few other things worth mentioning...

First aid kit - Bring your own supplies.

Construction - A new building is being constructed behind the dining room/bar to house pilots and staff. While we were there, construction lasted from around 9am to 4pm every day.

Payment - Everyone pays the 16% government tax, no matter where you stay in the Bahamas. Make sure you don't get charged the credit card fee (5%) if you pay cash (there is a safe in each room to store valuables).

Room Tip: Stay in one of the rooms closest to the beach to avoid the early morning commotion outside the dining room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dcbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We had a very relaxing stay at the Tail Winds resort, our only complaint is actually with the owner. Rich has created a nice little oasis, but he needs to watch his language with the guests, especially after he's had a few drinks. We like to think that this was a one-off situation, but it was uncomfortable enough to merit mentioning here...

Other than that, it was a good vacation. We'd like to give a special kudos to Debbie (one of the hotel attendants) who took great care of us.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
6  Thank Tripveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

From the time my father and I arrived, Dave (mentioned by other visitors) was friendly, professional and most of all, welcoming.

Our cabin, was literally a few steps away from the beach and right next to the jacuzzi/pool.

The water was crystal clear and warm and whether it was low or high tide also, smooth as glass. The beach really does stretch for miles on end. I smiled to myself when I realised at one point that the only footprints on the beach were mine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My husband and I just returned from a late honeymoon and we couldn't have picked a more perfect place than Tail Winds/Cat Island. For some background, we had actually already booked a honeymoon elsewhere, but as soon as I learned about Cat Island and found out that Rich had availability we immediately cancelled our prior plans and booked at Tail Winds and it was worth every penny of the cancellation fee from the original plans.

We stayed 8 nights (Aug 4 - Aug 12) and enjoyed every moment! The weather was pretty hot, fairly humid, but with the exception of 1 day, it was GORGEOUS the entire time, and the water was the perfect temperature.

Rich (owner) and Dave (manager) make it their goal to make sure everyone at Tail Winds is having a good time and is comfortable.

The rooms are nicely built, super clean, and stocked with many amenities (satellite TV, wireless internet, COLD A/C, comfy beds, mini fridge, microwave, etc.) for when you want get out of the sun for a bit.

The resort has a fully stocked bar in the restaurant area, as well as a tiki bar just steps away from your room and since you serve yourself and just keep a written tab, it's available 24/7. Rich offers a menu with many choices, so you can pick what you're in the mood for. While I can't comment on the breakfast (not a breakfast eater), we enjoyed each lunch and dinner we had at Tail Winds. The portions are on the large side and the prices are very reasonable. Since we were there 8 night we had ample opportunity to try a variety of their meals and while everything was very tasty, the lobster, steak, and chicken curry were the stand outs. For lunch we mainly stuck with sharing a panini and order of fries, but also enjoyed a bacon cheese burger and caesar salad at one point. The paninis are HUGE, but so good, and since you have a mini fridge and microwave in your room it makes for a perfect snack after swimming. Also, if you're a dessert eater, you must try the chocolate panini! We definitely didn't go hungry on this trip.

I saved the best for last, the beach and water. I've never seen a more beautiful beach or clearer water. We did some snorkeling, kayaking, lots of swimming, walking up and down the beach, my husband did some SCUBA diving with Shanna's Cove, and I greatly enjoyed laying on a float in the ocean and looking up at the beautiful blue sky. Other than the other Tail Winds guests, you will rarely see another person. Since there are only 4 rooms at Tail Winds it means very secluded and private beach. We also enjoyed the small pool to hang out in after the beach and in the later evening.

Some tips: bring plenty of sunscreen, some bug spray, benadryl, and most importantly -- CASH. While Rich takes credit cards, the rest of the island is pretty much cash only. If you wanna stop at the local store or go grab a drink elsewhere, or go eat anywhere else (I highly recommend Da Smoke Pot!), you're gonna need cash. Go prepared to relax, have fun, be laid back, and go with the flow. Cat Island is an AMAZING place, but may not be the place for you if you want to be constantly entertained or want to go shopping.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews