We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect getaway resort”
Review of Tail Winds Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cat Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tail Winds Resort
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Cat Island
Denmark
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The perfect getaway resort”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location literally on the beach, that you will have for yourself. Grab one of the kayaks or bikes that you can use for free and explore the Island, or just enjoy the place. Rick, the friendly - and admittedly colorful -host, will pick you up at the airstrip and really cares about his guests.
Rooms are beautifully furnished. Breakfast, lunch and dinner options.

When in the Bahamas, you owe yourself a visit to this little piece of heaven.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank SvenDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    10
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
85
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Talk about pristine turquoise waters and privacy! Very few if anyone on the beaches. Rooms were exceptionally clean, fridge with freezer, microwave, crisp bedding, air-conditioning, private outdoor shower. Absolutely pristine! A piece of heaven on earth! If you like quiet - this is the place for you!
Rich, the owner generously offered to take us into town on a number of occasions for entertainment. Rich also picked us up from the airport and brought us back at the end of the trip. No expensive taxis required, not like the other airports where your only option is to pay for a taxi. Meals were substantial and delicious - He makes one mean black angus bacon cheeseburger!
Beautiful areas to walk, cycle , kayak and snorkel ((bicycles, kayaks and snorkelling equipment available on site). Located on the north west end of Cat Island Tail winds is on one of the most beautiful beaches in the bahamas - sandy bottom and quiet waters.
Thank you for everything! You have spoiled us at Tail Winds Resort - we will see you next year!
Sandy & Simone

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms and they are all located in a prime spot. I like the ones closest to the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1965Sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a wonderful getaway at Tailwinds last week. Property is the best of location, quality, & value. Footsteps from your room you can walk miles along the most beautiful beaches and never see another soul. Sunsets are amazing! Take the kayaks out, go north around the point to a really cool cave. Or south to deserted beaches and great snorkeling. Catch a fish or lobster and they'll cook it for you!

Amenities are undisputedly the best on the island. All the DirectTV channels (should you need it). Rooms kept very clean and outdoor showers add to the island feel. Rooms also have A/C and a nice electric fireplace to keep you warm on those cooler nights. Everything that came out of the kitchen was not only delicious, but a good-sized portion. The honor bar is kept fully stocked, along w/ the only draft beer on the island.

Cat Island is the way you want the Bahamas to be. Beautiful and unsoiled, with some of the nicest genuine people around. Overall Tailwinds is an amazing. Rich (owner) is a nice guy who will go out of his way to make you comfortable and happy. He just wants people to enjoy themselves and have a good time.

We can't wait to go back!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chcusmc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Our favorite thing about our stay at Tail Winds was that we'd see maybe 4 or 5 people max on the beach each day - you can just walk for miles and miles and enjoy the incredibly beautiful beach without any distractions. If you enjoy snorkeling, trek to the left about a mile down the beach and there are a couple little coral heads which are good as well as many starfish, which you can find just a few feet under.
The rooms are fantastic as well- we really enjoyed the roofless shower and extremely comfy bed. Rich did an awesome job building all of them. There are only four villas, no need to worry about a crowd.
Several days we visited Man-o-War beach, which is stunningly beautiful and you likely won't see another person out there.. we didn't. We actually kayaked there one day, which was an arduous task as we failed to heed Rich's advice to make sure to keep the the wind behind our backs on the return journey.
The food at Tail Winds was great, we had breakfast there each morning and several dinners as well. A couple nights we ate at Shannas cove, which is just a 5 minute walk down the beach, definitely worth a visit.
There is a tiki bar at Tail Winds, right on the beach, absolutely loved sitting out there each evening making a few Bahama mama's. Rich would join for drinks, and like Dom H mentioned, he's quite a colorful character and his New York vibe can really come on strong sometimes, especially after a few drinks the offensive meter can go up a bit, so something to take into consideration. All in all a good soul though.
A word to the wise, bring bug spray, the noseeums can really do a number close to sunset, also keep your doors closed during the day to keep the coolness in the room, that will deter the bugs from entering, we figured this out towards the end of our stay and it did the trick.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My wife and I just returned from a fabulous trip to friendly Cat Island, Bahamas where we covered the entire Island (as is our practice when on an Out Island). Our last 6 nights were spent with Rich at his Tail Winds Resort. Bottom line is that Tail Winds is the best price/quality on the Island. This is because Rich goes out of his way to ensure a good time is had by all. The rooms are far more spacious and clean than anywhere else and the price Rich charges is less than what it should be. The outside private shower in each unit is unbelievable. For those that like TV while on vacation (I will admit an NFL playoff game and the occasional Duck Dynasty episode hit the spot), Rich has a full satellite offering and wifi worked better for us at Tail Winds compared to other lodgings on the Island. Breakfasts are plentiful in keeping with Rich's NY background. Lunch and dinners are also great with lots of variety (we enjoyed meals such as conch burgers, feta salad, wahoo, grouper and paninis). Nothing wrong with having a meal at the Shannas Cove Resort on the hill up the beach if you are so inclined but we did not feel the need given the quality of the Tail Winds' kitchen. In addition, having walked virtually all of the beaches on Cat Island, Tail Winds sits directly on one of the best ones on the Island. You can walk for several miles if you head south.

Rich also has a great bar and is an entertaining host. I take exception to the prior comment from UK Dom about Rich liking a drink (after giving an otherwise positive review). Completely inappropriate. Who doesn't enjoy a few Kaliks in a climate that virtually assures a temperature of at least 80F and is sunny virtually every day.

You should also spend some time in the south as the Island has two distinct regions but when in the north, Tail Winds is a no brainer. Get Rich to introduce you to "Grammy" at her seaside bar in Arthur's Town on the way to a cultural meal and Rake and Scrape music down the street at Da Smoke Pot.

Complete thumbs up. Well done Rich. BRC

Room Tip: Take Flap House or Hannah's Hangar which are closest to the Beach. Rooms exactly the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BRC333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Have just returned from 8 days on Cat Island, of which we spent 4 at Tailwinds. It's a tough call, but location wise it's probably the best on the island - on the middle of a totally unspoiled beach on the NW side of the island - calm seas, afternoon sun etc. The rooms are definitely the best kept of the hotels that we saw; very modern, great condition, with satellite TV (not that we ever turned it on!), awesome outdoor shower - what more could you want? Food was pretty good, although a bit 'American' - mostly steaks, pancakes, burgers etc, and not as good as Shannon's Cove, which is a 2 min walk up the beach. We found the best combo was breakfast and dinner at Shannon's, lunch at Tailwinds. Dinner at Da Smoke Pot is also a must - make sure Rich takes you! Service is pretty laid back at Tailwinds, most days we had to find someone to make breakfast etc, but this is probably as we were one of 2 couples there and the staff were trying to enjoy their New Year too!
Rich is a pretty colourful character and not everyone's cup of tea - he likes a drink and can be pretty full on, so if you are easily offended this might not be the place for you. That said, don't let this put you off as he is a great guy, really well meaning and what he has done is pretty impressive.
The hotel is amazing value for money, having stayed at Fernandez Bay the rooms at Tailwinds are much better and the location just pips it, for a lot less money (and the beers are much cheaper too!).
Certainly recommend staying here, you'll have an awesome time on this amazing island!

Room Tip: Hannahs and Flaps are on the seafront and have a better view, but all the rooms are the same size an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Ok so this review is LONG overdue, but better late than never! My husband and I stayed here for a week and everything was perfect. You couldn't find a nicer beach with crystal clear water, the food was good, rooms were great with a perfect view, honor bar was very convenient, and even though we only saw Rich the last day we were there, he was such a friendly fun guy! Would definitely recommend this resort to anyone and hope to make it back in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crys7831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cat Island
37.4 mi away
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Cat Island
67 reviews
29.3 mi away
Fernandez Bay Village
Fernandez Bay Village
#1 of 10 in Cat Island
296 reviews
12.7 mi away
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
#5 of 10 in Cat Island
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Orange Creek Inn
Orange Creek Inn
#7 of 10 in Cat Island
45 reviews
27.5 mi away
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
#9 of 10 in Cat Island
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tail Winds Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tail Winds Resort

Property: Tail Winds Resort
Address: | Orange Creek, Cat Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the winds take you to beautiful Cat Island, where the sandy, pink, unpopulated beaches stretches for miles and you can swim in the crystal clear turquoise water and gentle breezes caress you in the evening under the starry sky. Come and stay with us, and let us show you the real, unspoiled Bahamas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tail Winds Resort Cat Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing