We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Place to Stay on Cat Island”
Review of Orange Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Orange Creek Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Cat Island
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An Excellent Place to Stay on Cat Island”
Reviewed 25 October 2010

I spent eight nights at the Orange Creek Inn. My room was intensely clean, freshly painted, and all furnishings were in good shape and working order. Mr. and Mrs. Cleare, who own and operate the place, are fine people and a pleasure to know. My room had a nice kitchen nook with a refrigerator, stove top, and all utensils needed to make simple meals. The grocery store in the hotel has a good selection, including fresh produce. The grounds and building are carefully kept up. Wherever you stay, it really is necessary to rent a car. (Mrs. Cleare can help arrange that.) The Orange Creek Inn is located in a quiet area, across a small road from the water, and is a perfect retreat, come nighttime, from your day's adventures. Cat Island, BTW, is a superb snorkeling destination. Adventurous yet extremely safe and friendly. I loved it so.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RalphinOrmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
19
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

If you are looking to get away from it all and really mean it then Cat Island is where you want to be. We stayed for 4 days at the Orange Creek Inn and it was very relaxing. The people on the island are some of the most friendly people that i have ever met. Everyone honks and waves and says hello. The room comes with a mini kitchen and basic cookware. There is a small dining table in the room. The inn is across from the ocean. I would recommend to take bug repellent as the invisible teeth and mosquitoes are terrible outside especially at night. It is a 7km to Arthur's Town. New Bight is quite a bit larger than Arthur's town but New Bight is a good 60 km from Orange Creek. Miss Claire has mountain bikes to ride and there is a mini grocery with basic goods nothing fancy and she has a laundry mat as well. Generally you will need to arrange a car as there is no other way to get about the island. Miss Claire can help arrange the car for you. However when you fly in and out of the island Miss Claire will pick you up from the airport just be sure to arrange this with her before you arrive. We rented a car from Mr. Robert and it was 75USD per day and petrol is 5.50USD per gallon. We drove all over the island and the beaches are wonderful and you will be the only one on the beach. Also note that in the months of Sept and Oct most things are closed so there no dive shops or tours so you must be self sufficient unless you are staying at an all inclusive resort. One of the most beautiful pink beaches is at the furthers point in the south where the main road ends. Also do not take the side road from the South East to New Bight as this is not really a road more of a path it is NOT paved. There are no Internet cafes so once again if you truly want to have a rustic experience and just plain relax or meditate on the beach this is the place to do so.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank northfloridafolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egmond aan Zee, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2006

Before we came to Cat Island we knew it would be beautiful and spent quite some time locating a nice hotel or inn. We finally decided on the Orange Creek Inn and did not regret this. The rooms are normal but the location and view are superb! Rent a bike at the hotel and cycle your way to the nearest deserted beach. Or walk to the nearest town to have some dinner at night. A Lovely, quiet island and the Ornage Creek Inn is absolutley recommendable!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MartijnMulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 February 2005

If your idea of a trip to the Bahamas is nightclubs, gambling, jetskiing, being served drinks on the beach, etc... don't even consider Orange Creek Inn.

However, if touring a remote island by bike, using your own snorkling gear, preparing your own meals, spending multiple days on a beach without ever seeing another person, and treating the locals (and being treated in return) as equals sounds like your kind of vacation,... then Orange Creek Inn and the north end of Cat Island is the place for you.

Extremely clean room; wonderfully friendly people; postcard beach and water. *The* place for do-it-yourselfers / backpackers / hostel travellers. We loved our week there.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 July 2003

I am always dubious when takin' trips to places I hadn't been to before, however, The Orange Creek Inn was great! We had a dbl room with a kitchenette. Very clean and spacious with lots of towels, soap and shampoo! The food store below the rooms didn't have everything but there was more than enough to get by on. Mrs. Cleare is a very nice lady who really cares about her guests. The TV is supplied by a dish.
Therefore just ONE channel. And that's whatever the main TV is tuned to! The weather was fabulous! There is a lovely secluded powdery white sand beach north of the hotel a few miles. The food at the SEA SPRAY HOTEL was great! Also, at DA SMOKING POT! Which is in ARTHURS TOWN.
Very reasonably priced. Also in ARTHURS TOWN on the roadside we had the tastiest scorched conch we had ever eaten! Two ladies come out around 5:30pm and prepare it. Just opposite the HARD ROCK RESTAURANT. The 3 days on Cat Island was very relaxing and laid back.

Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cat Island
10.8 mi away
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
#5 of 10 in Cat Island
161 reviews
35.6 mi away
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Cat Island
67 reviews
27.6 mi away
Fernandez Bay Village
Fernandez Bay Village
#1 of 10 in Cat Island
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.7 mi away
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
#9 of 10 in Cat Island
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
40.7 mi away
Greenwood Beach Resort
Greenwood Beach Resort
#4 of 10 in Cat Island
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Creek Inn

Property: Orange Creek Inn
Address: Queens Highway | Orange Creek, Cat Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Orange Creek Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to a Spectacular 5+ mile Deserted Beach and some of the Best Bonefishing Flats on Cat Island.Clean, Comfortable and Affordable. It's almost cheaper than staying home! Found in the heart of a rich historical island, Orange Creek Inn is a self catering hotel with rooms outfitted with all the comforts of the average budget hotel. The building comprises of two-story levels and a grocery store at the ground floor to supply all of your self-catering and exploration needs. This oceanfront property is a single building that is surrounded by landscaping of forest at its rear and sides. At the front, however, lies the endless beauty of unchartered ocean filled with life. With wildlife preserves, this hotel destination is visited be the average do-it-yourselfer, backpacker, historian and naturalist from all over the world seeking to explore the untouched beauty od the island, and research Cat Island's rich history od Arawak Indians, Lucayans and Loyalists from America's British and Spanish Revolutions. It is also a great place to relax on a peaceful island retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Orange Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange Creek Inn Cat Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing