We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Safe, Friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfers Haven Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surfers Haven Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 7 Eleuthera B&B and Inns
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean, Safe, Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

In love with every part of the Island... Surfers Haven is the perfect place to unwind after a day at the beaches. Clean, safe, friendly, and a great place to meet other travelers. We were unable to surf the days we were there because of the lack of waves, but i just look at that as reason to return next year!!! If you have a car and happen to be in the area on Friday night, you must must must go to Governors Harbour Anchor Bay fish fry. So much fun, but then again if you can't find fun on Eleuthera, than you won't find it anywhere!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    15
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
24
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at Tom & Liz's place for only 1 night but would have loved to stay longer ! Unfortunately, we didn't meet Liz. Tom is friendly and very helpful. The room was exactly what we expected, simple but everything you need is there and we liked the 'eco-oriented' advices. The view is amazing from the terrace. My friend and I had never surfed before and Tom was a really good teacher. He gave us good advice, safety tips and made it an amazing first experience. He even cared about us not getting burned by the sun and took some delicious local special cakes for our 'break' + fresh water ... after 2 hours surfing it was just the perfect attention !
Thanks Tom for these exceptional moments.
Note that the place is easy to find but it is really necessary to rent a car to get there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We are 2 girls in our mid-20s and we just returned from our trip to Eleutera. We stayed at Surfer's Haven for 4 days. We had a tent booked on the territory, and it worked great for us - considering that we only spent nights there and were mostly hanging out around the island during the day. We had access to all the necessary facilities (outdoor kitchen, shower, bathroom, etc).
The owners - Tom and Liz - are ready to help, friendly (and not in an interfering way - so if you want to be left alone, that works too) and eco-oriented (there are a couple of rules for guests in that regard).
We also took a snorkeling trip with Tom, it was quite exciting (my 1st time). I felt a little bit scared at first, but Tom was really helpful and reassuring, and I enjoyed the rest of it.

In general, a great place to stay for the budget-minded travelers, one of the few in Eleuthera for now.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Just returned from my third visit to Eleuthera and I think my second visit to Surfers Haven? And as per usual, was not disappointed with both.

We stayed in the self-contained apartment, fantastic value and fantastic view, all set on an idyllic, lush hillside with rustic trail to an awesome surfing beach. The beach its self has an awesome break, ideal for the novice surfer who wants to learn or the next budding Kelly Slater who wants to catch some seriously uncrowded waves.

My stay was all too short this time around, but I did manage to get in a couple of good sessions in the water (Sorry about your fin Tom!....Next time I’ll come prepared!)
Tom and Liz were as per usual, gracious, helpful, casual and kind all without being in your face or fake. They are genuine people who have a deep respect towards the environment and maintaining the beauty of where they live. They are really trying to preserve and maintain their little slice of paradise and the integrity of the island all whilst running a business (something which is very rare to find in these times of profit over everything else) Surfers has a great selection of boards and water sports equipment and Tom is a knowledgeable guy when it comes to the ocean, a great person to learn those valuable ocean rules and laws from.
Tom seems to really enjoy teaching and watching others get stoked on catching their first wave.

If you are looking for something more than just surfing, I believe Tom and Liz offer many interesting, local excursions. However, if you are not the adventurous type, Surfers haven is awesomely situated to use as a base for your own day trips and Tom and Liz are a wealth of knowledge on the surrounding area.
There seems to be something for everyone at surfers haven. If you want to socialize and make friends with other travellers you can, there is a communal area where you can cook, mingle, or just chill and read a book in the hammock whilst listening to the birds. Alternatively if you want to keep yourself to yourself you can do that as well, the suit is self contained, cozy and comfortable.
On a side note there is always freshly brewed complimentary coffee in the morning, which is a nice bonus.
Don’t miss this little gem if you are planning a vacation to Eleuthera.
You’ll also be doing the environment and the island a favor!

Rob

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank devonwaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights on our recent trip to the Bahamas. Although various options for accommodation are available, we chose to tent-camp. The owners provided the tent, allowed us the use of the indoor bathroom (with hot water) and outdoor covered kitchen area. Everything was very clean, extremely comfortable, and beautiful. Bikes, kayaks, and snorkel equipment are available for rent and Liz and Tom know a lot about hidden gems on the island of Eleuthera. Overall we had a fantastic experience!!

Room Tip: Suites (~$75), rooms (~$55) and tents ($35/night) all available according to your preference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynch626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

A fun little getaway. Rustic, yet tidy, this place is a real Eleutheran gem. My family and I had a wonderful time. The accommodations were comfortable, and the "outdoor dining area" was spacious and clean. Our kids loved the hammocks and swing. Two thumbs up. Tom and Liz are a warm, welcoming team.

Room Tip: We stayed on the bottom floor. Great views of the Atlantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

The owners are very friendly and accommodating. Views are spectacular and in a central enough location to explore the island, (North and South). Coffee is made in the morning and there are seasonings, pans, and drinking water in the outdoor kitchen for your disposal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jomel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eleuthera
22.3 mi away
Villa Allamanda
Villa Allamanda
#2 of 5 in Governor's Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
8.7 mi away
Rock House
Rock House
#1 of 9 in Harbour Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
21.1 mi away
Sky Beach Club
Sky Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Governor's Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Pink Sands Resort
Pink Sands Resort
#4 of 9 in Harbour Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Cove Eleuthera
The Cove Eleuthera
#1 of 1 in Gregory Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
2.1 mi away
Surfers Manor
Surfers Manor
#3 of 7 in Eleuthera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Haven Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Haven Guesthouse

Property: Surfers Haven Guesthouse
Address: Surfer's Beach, Eleuthera
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Eleuthera
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Eleuthera
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel-type, backpacker, rustic...Whatever phraseology you want to use. This is it! Simple accommodations, all rooms have access to kitchen and the apt. Room has its own private facilities. Managers live on property and are happy to assist. They also run the popular Bahamas Out Island Adventure tour company. Haven guests enjoy discounted tour rates as well as very reasonable equipment rental rates on: surfboards, mtn bikes, stand up paddleboards, snorkel gear and kayaks. We're all about VALUE! Please respect our beautiful ocean. Sunscreen on always 30 minutes before you get in the water. Save the coral! Please starfish are not to be taken or handled out of the water. Fishermen be aware of our seasons and regulations. We love our island; please respect it. We can help inform you on local happenings and on the above too. Surfer's Haven is pleased to offer guests complimentary drinking water and coffee (a.M. Only). Please do not buy a bunch of plastic bottles. Please consider taking (some) of your trash out with you to a recycling depot in the U.S. For instance. Garbage disposal is a big problem here! ALSO budget travelers ask about the 'Opt To Share option and also the Surf Shack rental . Budget-minded only! We we we can save save...I mean save you money! =) 7 Minute walk up the ridge from Surfer's Beach. What a backyard! Eco-tourism is a conscious choice; be aware how your touring impacts your destination. Peace Love and Respect ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Surfers Haven Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Haven Guesthouse Hotel Eleuthera
Surfers Haven Guesthouse Eleuthera, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing