We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club sandwich at its best”
Review of Sammy's Place

Sammy's Place
Ranked #18 of 77 Restaurants in Eleuthera
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bahamian
Restaurant details
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Club sandwich at its best”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We read about this place on our lonely planet guide otherwise it would be difficult to discover it. It has been a nice discovery: super friendly staff and good food. Highly recommended the pink lemonade and the club sandwich. Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GodieMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    22
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Weak effort at food and horrible service.”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The food was cold and soggy, which is not a good thing when you have fried conch and French fries.... It took about thirty minutes to get our order in and another thirty minutes to get drinks delivered. Skip it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TD8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly local fare..can't beat it!”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

A nice local place with plenty of signs to help you find it which is unusual for Eleuthera. This alone was very helpful in us finding Sammy's. We stopped in on the way back from Lighthouse beach. We came in right after the church crowd so there weren't too many people in there. We both had a couple of Kalik beers with our meals. I had grilled grouper with veggies and my husband a grouper sandwich, both of which were excellent.

It was the perfect time to catch a meal- the place was near empty and there was some prep going on in the kitchen. We got to talking to our waitress and she took us back into kitchen and she showed us the the crabs and rice she was making for the special that night!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lovthecarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
217 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We started the morning in Palmetto Pt and figured we would find breakfast somewhere on the way to the Lighthouse. The pickings were few. In Rock Sound we saw signs to Sammy's and took a look It was about 10:00 am and no one was there and the bldg looked unimpressive so we kept on driving. In town we asked in a shop where to go and were told immediately to go to Sammy's. the place is very clean and the staff very friendly. I tried the fish stew, grouper steak in gravy, with grits. It was great but heavy. My wife had a Spanish omelette which was very good and spicy. If you are in the area, go there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rocks_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Rum Punch with a 'BIG PUNCH'!”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We were exploring around Rock Sound and decided to stop in at Sammy's. We were so happy that we did. The bartender was super friendly. My wife ordered a 'rum punch', and what a 'PUNCH' that cocktail had. The bartender said "Let me know if it's too strong". Great rum punch, with a float of dark rum on top. I enjoyed my favorite beer Kahlik. We ordered cracked conch, and that was excellent. My wife enjoyed the rum punch so mush She ordered a second one! Wow!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoBear11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sammy's Place also viewed

Eleuthera, Out Islands
 
Governor's Harbour, Eleuthera
 

Been to Sammy's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing