We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home cooked meal and family charm”
Review of Front Porch

Front Porch
Ranked #5 of 77 Restaurants in Eleuthera
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great home cooked meal and family charm”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This place is really nice. The owners, Francis and Gina, do it all from catching the fish to cooking to serving to cleaning up and to entertaining. As a result, don't be in a rush. Just relax and enjoy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank o2flossya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    29
    3
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kalkaska, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible Dining Experience”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

This was, by far, our favorite place to eat on the island. Francis went above and beyond to make our dining experience special. We had fresh stone crab with saffron rice one night - which was fantastic. Another night we had the fresh catch with tuna, stone crab, blue crab, shrimp, and lobster served with a side of rosemary potatoes cooked to perfection. It was a feast!

If you visit Eleuthera, I would strongly recommend that you give the Front Porch a try. You won't be disappointed. It has great food, friendly service, and a beautiful relaxing atmosphere overlooking Hatchet Bay. What else could you ask for?

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jana49646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castine, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“really good food and friendly owners”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We went the The Front Porch for a second time because we enjoyed it so much a few weeks back. What a wonderful spot. The owners run this tight little ship with grace. Francis and Gina have not only created a serene and cozy space, but also the food is terrific! The meals are simply prepared with an authentic Bahamian palate but executed with imagination, using all fresh, local ingredients. The presentation is clean and attractive. The chef owner, Francis, really has a talent and a flair not only in the kitchen but he also checks his tables and make sure that not only his customers are satisfied with the meal, but are happy with the complete experience. His wife Gina is not only lovely but on the ball, attentive, warm and welcoming as well as grateful for your bussines.This restaurant should not be missed if you are in the area. We will be going back...maybe even tomorrow!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bahhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Dinner on Eleuthera”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Went to Eleuthera with two other "foodie" couples last week and had such an outstanding meal on the Front Porch on our first visit (caught-that-day stone crabs and grouper, cajun chicken, fresh salad with blueberries and pineapple, and perfectly roasted red potatoes) that we returned for our last meal on the island. Frances, the amazing chef, works alone in magic kitchen where he turns out five-star meals (on "Island Time" so don't be impatient..) and then visits the table to make sure everything is as you ordered. Our steaks, fish fingers, lobster, and coconut rice were so delicious that we all overate. Like, a lot. Don't miss this heavenly foodie adventure "on the porch."

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A.Jude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Best service and fresh catch each meal. Francis went out of his way to accommodate us even our little dog on the porch . The view is breathtaking at sunset and the stone crabs were the best ever. We will be back every time we come.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank worldt473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Front Porch also viewed

 
Governor's Harbour, Eleuthera
Eleuthera, Out Islands
 

Been to Front Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing