We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Front Porch

Front Porch
Ranked #5 of 75 Restaurants in Eleuthera
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

The Stone claw crabs were good. The food is good not great. The Cove is the best food on the island but this is a very good option as well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank shane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    28
    3
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
austin, tx
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Meal and lovely owners!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Had two dinners here and each were delicious. Make sure to call as with most island restaurants they could be closed. Shrimp was amazing. Their peas and rice were the absolute best on the island.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tulips12atx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
156 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great stone crab”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We ate at the Front Porch during our stay in Eleuthera. It is located in Hatchet Bay, on your right side if you are heading south.

The service was very friendly and there was a nice view of a bay from the porch. Unfortunately the flies were a bit annoying while we were there, and they constantly attacked our food!

We had the crawfish ($25) which was slightly overcooked but still good. We also had the stone crab claws ($25) which were very fresh and absolutely delicious.

We liked the Rainbown Inn restaurant slightly better but would certainly visit this restaurant again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderingnomad111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

The Front Porch was one of our favortie places we enjoyed. Loved the view from the patio, loved the food and enjoyed the gift shop. The stone crab was amazing. So happy we were able to experience such a great spot.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindseyRenee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

In the 2 weeks we spent in Eleuthera we enjoyed the food at this restaurant the most. They serve fresh, local food with an emphasis on fresh seafood. The stone crabs are amazing and if you go to Eleuthera I recommend that you find this place and order them. We we went for dinner to Front Porch the night we arrived (Thurs) because we had heard so much about it from other Trip Advisor members but we were not able to get in due to a booking by a group. We went back the next day (Fri) for lunch and there was a sign on the door saying "gone fishing, back at 5pm", we went back at 6 and the sign was still up and the restaurant was closed. This went on for Sat, Sun, and Mon. We didn't try to get in on Tues because we were at the other end of the Island that day but we went back on Wed and the doors were opened, but when we went inside the owner informed us that Wed was their day off and the restaurant was closed!!! My goodness! We went back on Thurs and had a fabulous meal and over the following week we ate there another 4 times. What can I say, it's Eleuthera, roll with it :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Front Porch also viewed

 
Governor's Harbour, Eleuthera
Eleuthera, Out Islands
 

Been to Front Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing