We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax”
Review of Bahama Villa

Bahama Villa
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bahama Villa
Burlington, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Bahama Villa is located on the highest rated beach in Eleuthera. You would think the beach would be crowed - anything but. I think I counted 10 people at the most on the mile long beach one morning. The house is situated a comfortable enough distance from the beach where beach goers won't disturb your peace anyway. The villa had everything we needed. The snorkeling and kayaking right off the front of the house was great. The deck (where we spent most of our time) has the best view in the world - perfect for happy hours! As others have said, the no-seeums made being outside without bug spray on fairly miserable from dawn to 9 am and then from 5 pm to dusk. This was not just at the villa, but most anywhere on Eleuthera. The house fits the island well in that it's not the Ritz but it offers just the right amount of comfort to make you feel less like a tourist and more like you escaped to a very cool place to not think about the stresses of life for a while.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firedawg32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monticello, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

My husband and I have traveled to islands for over thirty years and this is our favorite spot to date. The view and the light and airy feel of the comfortable house are perfect for a couple (but does have another bedroom for more). We felt like we were in a tree house perched over the water and even fished off of the porch. During our two week stay we swam in the beautiful clear water, kayaked, fished, read on the porch and enjoyed cooking fresh grouper and lobster on the grill. (Fisherman bring their catch mid-afternoon to the docks in both Governor's Harbor and Tarpum Bay.) Ten Bay is quiet and the house is tucked away in privacy. A special treat were three small local dogs who are the ambassadors of Ten Bay and ready to politely greet you and play in the water. On the rare days that the wind blew from the west and made Ten Bay a bit choppy (hey, we were spoiled by the pristine calm days), we headed off to explore one of the other fifty or so beaches on the island. There are so many gorgeous spots; some perfect for long walks and others for swimming. We flew into Gov. Harbor (recommended because the other two airports are a much longer drive) and were in time (@ 7-9 p.m. Friday nights) to pick up take out from the town cookout of ribs and chicken). We cooked the rest of our dinners at Bahama Villa and twice ordered take out pizza from Matt and Jenny's not far away. Our best restaurant lunch was at Tippy's situated on a perfect beach for long walks in both directions. Although our rental car was a Saturn I would recommend a jeep for more flexibility and safety if you're off road beach hunting. If you're looking for a laid back spot with access to other beautiful beaches and warm and friendly local people Bahama Villa and Eleuthera are tops!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler32344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal,Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Ten bay only has a handful of villas and they were all vacant while we were there in November. This villa is directly on the water and easy to access by car. It was very easy to book via its official website.

The villa has a full kitchen including microwave, coffee maker, modern gas stove/oven, bbq grill, a flat tv with cable, vhs/dvd player, movies, books, snorkeling/fishing gear. We felt at home as soon as we set foot there.

The master bed is very comfortable and the room has a beautiful view on the carribean. AC works well, and there are ceiling fans.

The villa felt safe, windows/doors are secured by locks. There is a phone and internet connection (no computer), and my cellphone connected to the Bahama telco. Emergency numbers are provided.

A taxi will cost 45$ one way from the closest (GHB)airport. The drive is 20min/18miles. Mr Arthur Nixon which is the manager of this villa hooked us up with an old car for a mere 55$/day for the length of our stay, or 70$/day if we rent for less than the full length of our trip. Without a car you can't go anywhere. There are no scooters rental and I would strongly discourage riding a bicycle, if you ever find one. We thought that transport was kind of a ripoff. Except for grocery (or emergency/accident) there is no need to go somewhere else - this place is great for snorkeling, fishing, swimming, suntanning, kayaking and taking it easy.

The biggest inconvenient there was the sand fleas aka sand fly, beach flea, hop-a-long, no-see-um, biting midge, and punkie or punky. Do not take this advice lightly: BRING DEET! Seriously!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stsav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2010

After a hard working year, we needed a time out, and found the Bahama Villa on Eleuthera. It's as nice as it looks on the photos on the web side. The villa is directly located on the shore at Ten Bay Beach, and has direct access to the water. During our stay we had the entire beach for our own, since the few surrounding Villas were not inhabited. It's a perfect place for fishing, swimming, beautiful sunsets, snorkling and collecting shells. The Villa itself is equipt with the all relevant itmes, such as TV/DVD Player, a full kitchen and BBQ grill. We spent most of the time on the property and, expect for grocery, there is no need to go somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Boernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 September 2003

As nice as the pictures are on the Web, they still don't do justice to how beautiful the property and surrounding area is. The house is kept in impeccable condition and you can spend the a whole week without leaving the bay. Fishing, sun, snorkeling, amazing sunsets, nearby supplies . . . the place has it all! - Peter I.

Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eleuthera hotels
24.0 mi away
Villa Allamanda, Eleuthera
Villa Allamanda, Eleuthera
#2 of 6 in Governor's Harbour
102 reviews
25.1 mi away
Sky Beach Club
Sky Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Governor's Harbour
324 reviews
25.1 mi away
Hut Pointe Inn
Hut Pointe Inn
#5 of 6 in Governor's Harbour
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Tropical Dreams Rentals
Tropical Dreams Rentals
#1 of 2 in North Palmetto Point
43 reviews
21.8 mi away
Pineapple Fields Resort
Pineapple Fields Resort
#1 of 6 in Governor's Harbour
497 reviews
43.4 mi away
The Cove Eleuthera
The Cove Eleuthera
#1 of 1 in Gregory Town
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahama Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahama Villa

Property: Bahama Villa
Address: Ten Bay, Eleuthera
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Eleuthera
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Eleuthera
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Bahama Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahama Eleuthera
Bahama Villa Eleuthera, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing