We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Fowl about this Cay”
Review of Fowl Cay Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Exuma
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fowl Cay Resort
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We just returned from our second trip to Fowl Cay. This is the best vacation spot on Earth. The
water is unbelievable and the staff even better. The days spent on the water stopping at
secluded beaches for lunch or just to laze in the crystal clear water is just fantastic. To top the
day off, returning for gourmet dinners every night at the Hill house was icing on the cake. We stayed at Sweetwater, everything first rate. Thanks to Yves and Marta, Grant and Nicole for
a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Fowl Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Hello and thank you for such an awesome review! We cannot say enough about the magnificent and tranquil surroundings of Fowl Cay! I am sure you would agree it is a resort that truly must be experienced for one's self but we appreciate you sharing your wonderful experience with us all! We look forward to welcoming you back home to Fowl Cay on your third trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

I don't know where to start! Fowl Cay Resort was an experience like we have never had! It is pure paradise and more! The Managers and Staff treated you not only with fabulous customer service, but as part of their family during our entire stay. The Villa we stayed at (The Lindon) was gorgeous and beautifully maintained and fully stocked with every amenity (comfort, food, and drink) that you could think of. Every morning we woke up to fresh fruit, coffee, and other delicious treats and waiting for us! The biggest decision for us was, "What were we going to do?". From the boat that each Villa gets to use, to the beautiful beaches at the Resort, to relaxing at our Villa, you could determine your own pace. A delicious picnic was made for us each day if we wanted it to take to the beach, hop on the boat at eat it at another destination or beach, or delivered to our Villa. The evening dining at The Hill House was 5 star! The food created by the Chef's was amazing, perfectly prepared with explosive flavors. Everyday was a new experience with next day being more amazing than the next. All in all, I can go on about each and every individual thing great about Fowl Cay Resort, but the biggest compliment I pay to not only the Resort but also the the management and staff is, WE WILL BE BACK! Hands down, without a doubt, Fowl Cay Resort is the most magnificent resort/vacation/experience that we have had and that everyone should experience in their lifetime. Words can't say enough to describe the experience the Staff provided us along with this beautiful resort on its own private island. Thank you all again for an amazing experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lindon Villa, Absolutely great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We were at Fowl Cay a year ago and decided to return with friends that wanted the experience as well. The previous time we stayed in the Lindon Cottage as there were just the two of us. This trip we stayed in the Bird Cage and again had the time of our life! The Bird Cage is a great villa if you want an almost 360 degree view of the beautiful waters. We never had an issue with noise or too much water traffic. In fact it was fun to watch the occasional Jet Ski travel the cut in between the islands.

The scenery and fun things to do while enjoying your own boat are just some of the great parts of Fowl Cay. We did the usual and fed the pigs at Big Major, swam with the sharks at Compass Cay, went to Thunderball Grotto and many other fun things. Most importantly, the staff at Fowl Cay does everything they can to make your stay the best vacation experience ever. You're always greeted with a smile and someone wanting to know what they can do for you.

We never wanted for anything while we were there. All of our meals were prepared as we wished. Fresh pastries and fruit are delivered each morning. You always have the opportunity to make a larger breakfast with the stocked items in the kitchen. Picnic lunches are prepared for your daily outing and consist of great sandwiches and plenty of fruit and snacks. For dinner you're always given a choice of a fish or meat with artfully prepared sides.

The staff does a great job in everything they do to accomplish the difficult task of running an island. When you arrive and look around at the logistics to get food, fuel, items for fully stocked homes, non stop electricity on generators, and the many other supplies that it takes to run a resort, it's amazing! I think you'll agree when you're sitting in one of the most beautiful spots in the world enjoying your coffee, it will be the best cup of coffee you've ever had!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Experiencedtrav07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We just left 7 days in the beautiful Exuma Cays and found it to be amazing at Fowl Cay Resort. The island was everything we had envisioned it to be and more and the surrounding turquoise waters were incredible and left us planning our next visit. The entire staff was so accommodating, kind, welcoming and treated us like we were family right from the start of our vacation. Our villa was spacious and fully stocked with food and drinks and all the amenities we could need to satisfy our party of 2 parents and 4 teenagers. The food at the Hillhouse island restaurant was artfully prepared, delicious and varied in cuisine and they were happy to prepare our very own fresh catch of the day as a part of our meal. We even enjoyed karaoke one night with the talented staff who sang for the guests. We hired an incredible local favorite fisherman from nearby Staniel Cay named Cliff Smith who took us out for bone fishing, deep sea fishing, and to explore sand bars and island caves that he knows well. Aside from our guide, our villa included our very own boat to use to explore all the local attractions and that was so much fun for all of us. Thank you, everyone at Fowl Cay, for making our wedding anniversary trip so special. We look forward to a return to paradise soon!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Merebarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Sandals Resorts Review Coordinator at Fowl Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Thank you for your review of your stay at Fowl Cay. We're thrilled to read that you had a great vacation with us. This was truly a stellar experience and we are proud to have been able to create that for you.

We can't wait to see you back!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

OK I guess i should start by defending our four star rating: we feel that five stars for a resort means a perfect stay in every way and while this was one of the best vacations we have ever had it was not perfect. Anyway...

We had a unique opportunity to visit twice in the past few months. We had originally planned a two week stay back in February however a few days into our trip a business emergency forced an early departure so we finished up our trip last week, May 7 to 17. During our Feb stretch we stayed in the Birdcage which is a nice villa with great views however we found it to be too noisy and busy as the boat dock is just below the villa and twice there were barges docked which created a lot of racket. In addition there is a waterway just behind the villa which boaters and jet skis zipped through all day long... so the Birdcage is definetly not private and peaceful.

So for our May stay we switched to the other side of the island and stayed in the Starlight Villa which we loved! Quiet, private and great views.

As you have read each villa gets a boat which is the best part of the stay: we found many private beaches and small islands to frolic around as well as some nice snorkel spots on which made the trip for us.

The hosts (Yves, Marta, Waylon, Nicole and Grant) and employees are all friendly and helpful- we really enjoyed all the conversations we had through our stay.

So why the lack of a star: well in our opinion we found the food to be good not great. We liked the stocked villa where we could make breakfast at our leisure but being from the Pacific Northwest I just could not handle drinking Maxwell House coffee. I asked for some Starbucks or similar coffee on our pre-stay request form however none appeared. The dinners at the Hill House were fine- two choices each night which if you did not prefer either they would make something else which was very accomodating. The food was good but a bit inconsistent.

It was the picnic lunched that were the most disappointing. Each night they ask you what you would like but the only offering is a daily special. There was no checklist of available items that you could 'create' a meal with... it was mainly wraps and sandwiches and a few bags of chips. I mentioned to Marta that they should have a 'menu' of available meats, breads, condiments, etc that a guest could fill out each night and maybe add some unusual items like cold fried chicken or other traditional picnic goodies.

The food and occasional miscommunication we actually had the time of our lives. We are no strangers to private island resorts (see out other reviews) but we had the most FUN at Fowl Cay and are already looking forward to planning a return visit.



-Kevin & Lisa/Vancouver, WA

Room Tip: Tell the staff you do not want nightly turndown and turn your lights off before heading to dinner. D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Wonderful experience, incredible people that are more like family. We stayed at the Lindon Villa for my 60th birthday. Beautiful home, incredible view. All facilities on the island are top notch. Very relaxing - Villa has everything you need - golf cart, bikes, and more food than you could eat in a month. Having your own boat each day - cleaned, fueled and stocked with drinks and food is awesome. We took Safari Seaplanes (very highly recommended as well) out of Nassau, and taxied right up to the small beach in front of Lindon Villa, and were greeted and assisted by Nicole and Anthony - best check in experience of our (considerably well-traveled) life. One of our best vacations ever, and definitely the kindest, most accomodating and outright lovable staff - we hugged them all on the beach before departing. Very highly recommended if you want a very low key, relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: Each of the villas has a great view - we got to see inside two others, and they were nicely furnishe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tmd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Fowl Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We're so thrilled to read that you had such a wonderful vacation with us.

It was our pleasure to host you and we can't wait to welcome you back for another incredible experience!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

My husband and I stayed for a week in early December. We were looking for a really special, relaxing getaway. My husband read about a private island and said "that's what we should do!" So I researched private islands :). I picked Fowl Cay because your toes were in the sand, you got a boat!, great reviews, and it truly was all inclusive, even gratuities.

As we were on the plane I got a little nervous that it couldn't possibly meet my exceedingly high expectations. I shouldn't have worried. It was stunning!!! From the greeting at the airstrip, to the boat ride to the cay, to the incredibly warm staff--everything was amazing. It is all about the water. You certainly don't need the bikes or golf carts since it is a tiny little island. Took us a couple of hours to explore the whole thing.

If you want to relax, be treated like royalty (but warmly, not stuffy), explore a new island and cove and snorkel every day--go for it! Worth every penny! We will definitely be back for another special occasion--hopefully with the grand kids when they are old enough to really enjoy the water.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheilamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Fowl Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

We're happy to hear that you and your husband had such an amazing stay with us. You were able to have such an enjoyable and relaxing vacation and we are encouraged by your feedback. Thank you for your review.

We hope to see you back again very soon!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Exuma hotels
64.5 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
52.2 mi away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Great Exuma
949 reviews
52.3 mi away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.3 mi away
Paradise Bay Bahamas
Paradise Bay Bahamas
#1 of 15 in Great Exuma
199 reviews
63.3 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 4 in George Town
307 reviews
63.2 mi away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fowl Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fowl Cay Resort

Address: Fowl Cay, Great Exuma
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Great Exuma
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Fowl Cay Hotel Great Exuma
Fowl Cay Resort Bahamas/Great Exuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing