We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect: Much better than you envisage from the website”
Review of Regatta Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Regatta Point
Ranked #5 of 13 Great Exuma B&B and Inns
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Almost perfect: Much better than you envisage from the website”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

This is the best accomodation in Exuma and only after being there you realise it since by visiting the website you can only have a vague idea.
Accomodation: Choose apartment 3 or 4 (or better) they are very nice and confortable. Preparing something to eat there is more appealing than going out to restaurant (expecially in August when most of them are closed). It is built and furnished with a typical english style, in a very quite place surrounding by woods, gardens and the sea (it is like you are in a private island, 5 minutes walk from the village of George Town) On the back side of the villa you have a a beatiful garden with high trees that arrives to "your" private little beach.
Nancy, the owner is very helpful and kind and makes you feel at home. From a logistic point of view it is very convenient. The taxi boat to Stocking Island leaves 100 metres from the villa. This means that when you decide to go to stocking island (and you will go there most of the times) you do not need to rent a car just to reach george town. You save money of cars and restaurants and stay in the most beautiful villa we have seen in Exuma. She can also rent you a boat (cheaper than other places).

Room Tip: Stay in Room 3 or 4 (first floor) or in the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoPoloMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2010

We loved Regatta Point and Exuma. Nancy was great and helped answer all our questions throughout our stay. We arrived on Thanksgiving night and Nancy invited us to her place (upstairs) for a wonderful traditional turkey dinner. Rent the boat (17ft. Boston Whaler) for the week, it was well worth it. The water is a magnificent aqua blue and so clear you can see the bottom in most places. We traveled across to Stocking Island daily. Either stopped at Chat'N'Chill where the conch salad was fabulous and the people were very friendly or found our own secluded beaches. When you get over to Stocking Island, be sure to walk to the other side of the island and hang out at the ocean. It is beautiful. We woke up every morning and had coffee on our porch, overlooking the water. We stayed in Suite B, huge bedroom, kitchen and living area. Made it easy to do our own cooking. Nancy also had any kind of gear we needed, such as grills, coolers, snorkel equipment, etc. We rented a car and went to Sandal's to play golf on the Greg Norman designed course. It was a great course with 5 or 6 holes right on the ocean. Only bad thing at the course was that because we weren't staying there we couldn't buy any food or drink (at $150 greens fee). People from Exuma were all very friendly. The walk to Fish Fry was well worth it and if you are down near Sandal's stop in at Big D's Conch Shack. Chat N'Chill (mentioned above) was one of the highlights. We met a lot of people vacationing and the staff, all very laid back and having a good time. All in all, this was one of the most memorable trips of our life. It was so relaxing, beautiful and out of the ordinary. Regatta Point was definitely NOT a glamorous, all inclusive sort of place that you see advertised in most Carribean vacation advertisements, which made it the most fabulous place to stay.
Only disapointments of the trip were that some of the restaurants we read about in George Town were closed either because of a difficult economy or not yet open for the season (Sam's, Hamburger Beach, Peace and Plenty, Two Turtles). Also, we got a lot of bug bites (mosquitos and tiny, no-see-ums) during the trip. They were everywhere.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunrisesunsetseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

My husband met me in the Bahamas and we decided to take a little getaway to Great Exuma.

Before the weekend even started, we had terrific customer service. Nancy, the owner, called and emailed days before telling us about the weather conditions and how things might be closed for our stay-- I appreciated her honesty ( bad weather from Hurricane Otto) and we decided to continue to Exuma even though things might be closed.

When we arrived we were MORE than happy with our decision to stay at Regatta Point. Nancy met us at 7am ( try and get into a room at that time with any larger hotel).Nancy even bought us a jug of water from the grocery in case we were thirsty before the grocery opened.

Our room was a very spacious one bedroom, with a living room, dining room, and fully equipped kitchen. The whole apartment was decorated in whitewashed wood with two balconies overlooking Stocking Island. Regatta Point itself is located on a tiny little peninsula of Kidd Cove, so you feel as if you have your own little island retreat in the heart of George Town. Although the water was rough, we saw a fisherman catch a baby shark right on the dock, and the many rocks surrounding the property would be an excellent venture for snorkeling.

George Town is about a 5 minute walk away and the water taxi to Chat n Chill is about a 2 minute walk away. You really couldn't pick a better location. If you rent a car, George Town is almost in the middle of Great and Little Exuma, so you are in an excellent position to explore both islands.

Regatta Point has no TV or internet (that I know of-- didn't bring my laptop)-- but that's the point of an island getaway. I enjoyed the serenity of the place and really enjoyed the security of Betsy, the guard dog ( a very friendly looking golden retriever). Do yourself a favor and skip Sandals-- this is the REAL Exuma!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ilikecupcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallatin Gateway, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

I was staying on aboat off George Town when my wife arrived for 10 days. Regatta Point looked very nice when I dingied by daily but there was no sign or sign of life. One day, I found Nancy, the owner, and we settled in to a wonderful routine of quiet pleasures. It was very hard to leave.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dougredcnoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missoula montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

I visited Great Exuma to help with a neuter/spay clinic and for some R and R. Nancy at Regatta Point was so kind and helpful. Our upstairs room looked out over the gorgeous bay and was very relaxing. It was great to be right in town within walking distance of grocery stores, etc. The rooms were well equipped and service was perfect . It might be helpful to rent a car to explore more beaches around the island. I would go back to Regatta Point in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bahamamama012010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2009

we stayed here... and at the 4 Seasons... and enjoyed Regatta Point better. It isn't the lap of luxury... but the bay taxi has you to Chat & Chill in 10 minutes... and you can walk 5 minutes downtown for meals/drinks...
If you need PAMPERED SERVICE... the 4 Seasons (if it's open...). For a wonderful beach-side experience... Regatta Point can't be beat...

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KenH_CAZC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strandhill, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2008

We stayed in Regatta Point for 2 weeks in June, and I can say nothing but good things about the place. We stayed in the upstairs Suite A. The suite was lovely, spacious, airy, clean, and decorated in a cool weathered beach look. 2 lovely balconies to look over a Stocking Island. There's a 3rd shared balcony if you want to sunbathe. The kitchen is good, with plenty of appliances. Once we got used to the applicances, cooking was great. The bathroom/bedroom are nice too, shaded. The main lounge area is great, spacious. There's nearly always a wind blowing into the room from outside which is great.
The location of RP is great as its only a 5 minute walk into Georgetown. So you can walk to the Exuma Markets to shop, or walk around GT to go for dinner some evenings. The water taxi to Chat n' Chill is about 300 metres away too! Or taxi to Hamburger Beach is 5 mins walk. There's a lovely area to chill out on the actual Point, which is surrounded by the sea and a small rocky beach. Again there's nearly always a welcome breeze blowing and chairs, so its a great place to relax with a book or Kalik and wave to all the passing boaters!
We found RP to be great, in a super location - near GT but yet secluded. There isn't a mega beach within walking distance, but the glorious Stocking Island is only a short water taxi away and this makes up for that.
Nancy is very nice also, and helpful. And her pets are great!
We'll definitely be staying here when we go back to Exuma.

  • Liked — Location, views
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank irish_captain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Exuma
0.3 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
1.3 mi away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#2 of 2 in Stocking Island
174 reviews
12.6 mi away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Great Exuma
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
550 reviews
1.5 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 4 in George Town
298 reviews
12.5 mi away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regatta Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regatta Point

Property: Regatta Point
Address: Regatta Point George town | Kidd Cove, Great Exuma
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Great Exuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Regatta Point 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Regatta Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regatta Point Hotel Great Exuma
Regatta Point Bahamas/Great Exuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing