We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best vacation ever”
Review of Regatta Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Regatta Point
Ranked #5 of 13 Great Exuma B&B and Inns
Gallatin Gateway, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The best vacation ever”
Reviewed 31 May 2010

I was staying on aboat off George Town when my wife arrived for 10 days. Regatta Point looked very nice when I dingied by daily but there was no sign or sign of life. One day, I found Nancy, the owner, and we settled in to a wonderful routine of quiet pleasures. It was very hard to leave.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dougredcnoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
missoula montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

I visited Great Exuma to help with a neuter/spay clinic and for some R and R. Nancy at Regatta Point was so kind and helpful. Our upstairs room looked out over the gorgeous bay and was very relaxing. It was great to be right in town within walking distance of grocery stores, etc. The rooms were well equipped and service was perfect . It might be helpful to rent a car to explore more beaches around the island. I would go back to Regatta Point in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bahamamama012010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2009

we stayed here... and at the 4 Seasons... and enjoyed Regatta Point better. It isn't the lap of luxury... but the bay taxi has you to Chat & Chill in 10 minutes... and you can walk 5 minutes downtown for meals/drinks...
If you need PAMPERED SERVICE... the 4 Seasons (if it's open...). For a wonderful beach-side experience... Regatta Point can't be beat...

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KenH_CAZC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strandhill, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2008

We stayed in Regatta Point for 2 weeks in June, and I can say nothing but good things about the place. We stayed in the upstairs Suite A. The suite was lovely, spacious, airy, clean, and decorated in a cool weathered beach look. 2 lovely balconies to look over a Stocking Island. There's a 3rd shared balcony if you want to sunbathe. The kitchen is good, with plenty of appliances. Once we got used to the applicances, cooking was great. The bathroom/bedroom are nice too, shaded. The main lounge area is great, spacious. There's nearly always a wind blowing into the room from outside which is great.
The location of RP is great as its only a 5 minute walk into Georgetown. So you can walk to the Exuma Markets to shop, or walk around GT to go for dinner some evenings. The water taxi to Chat n' Chill is about 300 metres away too! Or taxi to Hamburger Beach is 5 mins walk. There's a lovely area to chill out on the actual Point, which is surrounded by the sea and a small rocky beach. Again there's nearly always a welcome breeze blowing and chairs, so its a great place to relax with a book or Kalik and wave to all the passing boaters!
We found RP to be great, in a super location - near GT but yet secluded. There isn't a mega beach within walking distance, but the glorious Stocking Island is only a short water taxi away and this makes up for that.
Nancy is very nice also, and helpful. And her pets are great!
We'll definitely be staying here when we go back to Exuma.

  • Liked — Location, views
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank irish_captain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2007

We stayed in Regatta Point many times, at least 4 and I keep forgetting to write a review.
It is a fantastic place, very quiet, peaceful as it could get - there is no phone, internet, tv, radio, games, etc. When you live hectic and busy life, it's the best possible holiday.
On other hand, there is no friendlier hostess than Nancy - she will go extra ten miles for you - which is so-so rare in the current world of hotel business.
It's very close to nature - fish is swimming right off shore, lots of hermit crabs are all over the property and yes, Nancy has two dogs and three cats - and they are all lovely. I read a previous review that the dogs bark - yes, that's why they are dogs!! but they are not malicious bull-dogs but very friendly just like Nancy. It's great for kids to play with dogs, crabs and just watch the nature instead of TV!

Would recommend Regatta Point to honeymooners, anyone with small children and to businessmen in need of R&R.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aftersunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2006

My husband and I went on our honeymoon to Exuma in May 2006, and we stayed at Regatta Point. The first night, Regatta Point was full, so our taxi driver picked us up from the airport and took us to Club Peace and Plenty, and Nancy paid for us to spend the night there. The rooms were average and the facilities quite nice, but we found the people there, especially the restaurant staff, to be very snobby. The next morning, Nancy came and picked us up and took us to Regatta Point, which was only about a five minute walk away. It's located on a little jut of land just past the government, and as far as we're concerned, the only bad part of it is the smell of garbage around the docks when you walk past them into town. Once you're past the docks, however, Regatta Point is a beautiful little escape from the world. Nancy gave us a two bedroom suite - we paid for a one bedroom but she upgraded us because there was no one staying in the larger one. The rooms have decent facilities - you can't expect the Hilton in a small place like Georgetown - but it was very nicely decorated and had nice furnishings and lots of little conveniences, like lawn chairs in the closet, shelves full of books, and towels and linens replaced daily. It doesn't have a TV or radio, but there is so much to do outside, and the evenings are so peaceful, that we didn't really miss it. The kitchen has a slight bug problem (little tiny ant-like things) but they only come out when you leave food out. If the kitchen is clean they stay away.
Nancy was an amazing hostess - yes, her dogs are a bit annoying when they start barking everytime you approach her office (which you have to pass right by to leave or come back) but if you talk soothingly to them and don't startle them, they settle down quickly. I HATE dogs (I was bit by one when I was little) but they are honestly not that bad. I don't believe they would bite anyone (unless you attacked Nancy), although they try hard to make you believe they would when you're approaching them. Anyways, back to Nancy. She offered us use of her car multiple times, to go into town (the bridge was being rebuilt while we were there, so while town is only a 5 minute walk away, we could only access half of it without walking 20 minutes around the small lake) or down the road to the Coconut Cove, which apparently has a good restaurant (we never ate there because we heard it was quite expensive). She rented us a boat for slightly under what Minn's Water Sports charges, and it was nice not to have to walk into town to get the boat, since she has the boats tied up in the cove right in front of the guest house. She waived our deposit since we are Canadian and she doesn't take credit card, so we would have had to send a money order. We paid by traveller's checks at the end of our stay.
There are two banks in Georgetown - RBC and Scotia, which are both Canadian based banks, which was nice for us! We could get cash out at the ATM without paying fees.
Restaurants in Georgetown are very reasonable for lunch, but on the expensive side for supper. The cheapest entree we could find for supper was $17(US/Bahamian), and most are around $30.
So we ended up eating out for lunches and cooking suppers in our kitchenette - Nancy lent us her car to go to the grocery store, but if the bridge wasn't out we could have walked. Our favorite restaurants were the Two Turtles Inn, right across from the straw market, and Sam's Place, down past the bridge on the waterfront in town. Sam's Place has excellent specials - one day we had the red snapper and another we had barbecued chicken, and both meals were excellent, for decent prices ($11/$8).
As far as activities go, besides renting the boat (which I would highly recommend - it's well worth it to go explore the cays and make a stop at Stocking Island to eat at the Chat n' Chill - more on that later), we also rented a canoe from Starfish, and took the ferry across to Stocking Island from Club Peace and Plenty to Hamburger Beach. On Sunday we took the water taxi from the docks by Bahama Houseboats (on the other side of the government docks) to the Chat n' Chill on Stocking Island. They have a pig roast on Sundays, but what we didn't realize is that it's an all-day thing - not just supper - and the pig roast usually runs out by mid-afternoon! Oh well, we enjoyed the beach there, had some good conch fritters from the conch stand, and had fish burgers from the Chat n' Chill for supper, which are excellent. Mmmmm, fish burgers... We ate at the Chat n' Chill three days in a row during our stay - the day we went kayaking, the day we went boating, and the pig roast day. Their menu is limited but their food is excellent, and the people are so friendly. The conch burgers are good too. It's not much more than a beach shack, but it's the place to go here, and we could definitely tell why. On Sundays especially the water taxis go back and forth all day (there's no schedule) and everybody and their dog is at the beach there. The water taxi was $8 return, I think? Not more than that anyways.
The ferry that runs from Club Peace and Plenty to Hamburger Beach is about the same cost, and there is a conch/hamburger stand there that is run by a lady named Dora, and though we never actually ate there, it came highly recommended. If you visit this part of Stocking Island, be sure to walk the trail over to the ocean side of the island - it's beautiful, with the waves hitting the rocks, and the pinkish colored sand.
Anyways, I think that's about all I've got - all I can say is that my husband and I are already wanting to plan another trip, and we will definitely stay at Regatta Point.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank abbynicole27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2005

I just returned from a 5 day stay at Exuma. THe island itself is beautiful, but would probably be a lot better for those who have a boat, as many of the nicer beaches are accessible only via boat.
The people are all incredibly friendly, which is a plus for any vacation.
As for Regatta point, I have broken down the review with pros and cons.

Pros:

We choose to stay in the second floor one bedroom suite, which was about 165 (?) a night. THe apartment is gorgeous! It's huge, and had two balconies overlooking the water. Nancy has tastefully decorated it, so the apartment has a very comfortable beach-house feel to it. THe place was so cozy that we choose to stay in one night and make our own dinner! We ate on the balcony with candle provided in each apt, listening to the ocean slap the rocks below. Very peaceful.

Regatta point is also walking distance from town, so its easy to walk over to Peace and Plenty for drinks (don't do dinner there-it's overpriced and really not that good), or to a few of the other restaurants in town. It's also right next to the dock and water-taxi, making it a very convenient place to stay.

We did rent a car one day so that we can travel to the ends of the island, but if you need a car for a short time frame (just to drive to the further restaurants for dinner), Nancy was incredibly nice and offered us her car.

Cons:
Nancy has two dogs, which run up barking whenever they see you. This is a bit scary. Although I do like dogs, I really didn't care for hers. They literally run, barking and look ready to attack. She admitted that they are not the best behaved. To avoid this, I would stay in the apartment that is not adjacent to hers. I think our major problem is choosing the apartment right next door to hers, so we were too close for comfort to these dogs. They did not run to the other guests who were further away. But I really think those dogs brought down my review quite a bit, because I was actually intimidated to return to the room at night.

There is no tv, which can be a pro for those who want a relaxing beach house away from tvs and such, but may be something for you to consider if you have children who are easily bored at night.

Nancy was also not very well aware of things that were happening in town, beaches to visit, etc. For this reason, I would recommend Peace and Plenty for anyone making a first time visit to the island. If you have been there before, it's different. But for those who are clueless about Exuma, PEace and plenty is probably a better choice. There is a bar there, and it seems to be the center of activities (they hosted a sunday pig roast on stocking island, and have ferries to and from stocking island daily). The entire island is fairly quite, so even if you stay at the peace and plenty, you will be in a quite, relaxing place.

Also, Nancy does not accept credit cards. Bring a check with you, or else you will have to go to the ATM machine for cash, and it often runs out of money.


As for the island itself, I have seen better. THe water is a brilliant torquise, but the beaches are not that great. For a relaxing, out of mainstream island, I prefer Vieques.

THe pig roast (if you are there on a Sunday) is great! The food was delicious, and we met a lot of people from both the island and from around the world. The bartenders at the Chat & Chill are great!

The bartender at Peace and Plenty is great. I think his name is Lermon. He is incredibly friendly and makes the best drinks!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank HCN-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Exuma
0.3 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
1.3 mi away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#2 of 2 in Stocking Island
175 reviews
12.6 mi away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Great Exuma
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 4 in George Town
302 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
555 reviews
12.5 mi away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regatta Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regatta Point

Property: Regatta Point
Address: Regatta Point George town | Kidd Cove, Great Exuma
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Great Exuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Regatta Point 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Regatta Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regatta Point Hotel Great Exuma
Regatta Point Bahamas/Great Exuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing