We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a Pleasure, Great Staff”
Review of Sampson Cay Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Exuma
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sampson Cay Club
Deerfield Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always a Pleasure, Great Staff”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We travel to the Exumas twice a year on our yacht and never miss staying at the marina for at least a couple of nights. The island is beautiful, relaxing, and full of daytime adventures. This year we also rented a few villas on the island for the overflow of guests from the yacht. The villas, as well as the marina, are clean, up to date, and well maintained. The staff at Sampson Cay are amazing and always make you feel at home. Mike and Cathy (managers) are always smiling and couldn't be more helpful. Rock and Davette will take care of anything you need in the marina or the villas. Sampson Cay is a "must stop" in the Exumas.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bakerholdingsgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    2
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lucaya Great Bahama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful experience at the marina at Sampson Cay. In fact, it was the nicest place we have stayed while on our 2 month cruising vacation on our yacht in the Bahamas. The entire staff were extremely pleasant to deal with and the facilities were spotless. If you are looking for a great marina in the Bahamas, you couldn't find a better one than this! Take your dingy off the boat and explore the many interesting islands around the area. If you like white sandy beaches, than this is the place to be! We are already planning to visit again next year. my recommendation is do not pass up Samson Cay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The restaurant at Sampson is so good, with plenty of variety. Vivacious Sonya takes very good care of all her guests and has the best Bahama Mamas in the islands. Your wish is her command. The only drawback is that the restaurant is only open for lunch. It needs to be open for dinner, if only until 8pm. The whole experience at Sampson Cay Club was beyond anything we had expected. All of the staff is very friendly, very helpful, and efficient. This is a beautiful place that we would recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: We stayed on our boat in the marina. The facilities for boaters are plentiful and immaculate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank syl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We went to Sampson's Cay for a small trip from Black Point. The marina was very nice as well as the beaches. We got the chance to see the nurse sharks and to enjoy the white perfect beach! Then we stoped for a meal in the restaurant. Sanya was great! She made us feel very welcomed and the service was very good. In addition i had the best grilled fish in the Bahamas so far! And the mac and cheese was not bad either! My girlfriend enjoyed a very good cheesburger and french fries. The prices were ok about 20 usd per person, great service and very nice island. We were there in May 2013.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ruterle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

For the past 21 years we have kept our boat in the Bahamas for the winter. The last 5 years we have based out of Sampson. The facilities are excellent and are very well maintained. The store is well stocked and the food in the restaurant is always great. Also, the people that work there are very friendly and helpful. This is especially true for the manager Mike and his wife Cathy. They strive to make your stay enjoyable. Roger C

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Kansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We spent a week docked in Sampson Cay Club. It was the perfect spot to dock our boat and explore all the islands. Enjoyed swimming with the nurse sharks that hung out around the dock, morning runs on the island, and the quite, secluded beaches on Sampson. A short boat ride away you can snorkel Thunderbird grotto, and feed the pigs at Major Cay.
Cathy and Mike (management) were great. Everything was spotlessly clean and they run a great little store. Make sure you try the Bahama Mamas...delicious!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kscruzrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Stumbled upon Sampson while cruising the Exumas. Staff was very friendly and helpful, always with a smile. Would like to espicially thank the manager and his wife Kathy for all the local information. Made us feel very welcome even tho we were not staying in the marina or cottages. Nice store for provisioning. A must stop next time cruising through the Exumas.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank onoitskd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Exuma hotels
0.0 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
0.0 mi away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Great Exuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Bahamas
Paradise Bay Bahamas
#1 of 14 in Great Exuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
0.0 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 2 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampson Cay Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampson Cay Club

Property: Sampson Cay Club
Address: Sampson Cay, Great Exuma
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Great Exuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Sampson Cay Club Hotel Great Exuma
Sampson Cay Club Bahamas/Great Exuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing