We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet comfort in a relaxed atmosphere.”
other travellers have booked this property
Forbes Hill Beach on Little Exuma and many more only a 10 minute drive away.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Forbes Hill Beach on Little Exuma and many more only a 10 minute drive away.
Moriah Harbour Cay Beach one double bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Forbes Hill Beach on Little Exuma and many more only a 10 minute drive away.
Moriah Harbour Cay Beach
one double bed
Dining/living room & kitchen
Screened front porch
Dock - Kayaks are available for all guests
Outside solar heated swimming pool
Bridget and Caspar
Flowering tree by the pool
Hibiscus
Kayaks included in rental
one queen bed
Exuma Vacation Cottages
Guests enjoying a walk on a nearby beach
Moriah Harbour Cay Beach
Great Exuma Island beach and palm trees
Kiteboarding
Bonefishing
Reef fishing
Santana's - Great food by the sea
Houseman's Outback Restaurant on the sea
The Dr. of Livation
Exuma sunset
Bahamas map
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Great Exuma, Out Islands, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
frets24
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quiet comfort in a relaxed atmosphere.”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Staying at Valerie's place was a welcome respite from the pressures of a hustle and bustle world. Valerie is a kind and gracious host who made herself available without being intrusive. Easy to engage in conversation and has the same welcoming and easygoing personality found in the local population that makes Exuma a rare treat. She is a wealth of information about the island, some of it's history and quirks, as well as things to see or do. The location was perfect for us and we could get anywhere we wanted to be usually within 20 minutes. Beaches and Santana's to the south and Georgetown to the north. Having the kayaks was great...there are several islands and beaches that you can have all to yourself. It took us about 15 minutes to reach to reach the closest( a novice kayaker might take 30 min, and if you get into trouble you can nearly walk back to Val's dock) This was our first time at Valerie's place and we are eagerly anticipating next year's visit. If you've been disappointed with a "shack" in the past there's no worry of that here.
Specs: The cottage was the perfect size and on the hottest day we were there was able to be cooled to comfort with-in 4 minutes of engaging the cooling system. Out of 8 days we used it(cooling system) twice for a brief period; plenty of windows and a nice breeze took care of the rest; 82-88F deg day-71-78F night during our stay. Bedrooms were cozy and well appointed as was the kitchen. Bathroom was clean. The screened porch allowed for enjoying the evening breeze mosquito free. The pool was very well maintained. Overall exceptional value, but if you are spending much time in the cottage you should have stayed home...there's way too much to enjoy out on the island!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Meeting Valerie
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atthebeac...
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ready to go again!”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Exuma is a wonderful island with so much to do, taste, see and experience. There are alot of choices but if you want low key, easy access to The best beaches in Exuma, then you should stay here. Kayak over 10 minutes to Moriah Cay, you will be on one of the best private islands around, this from the dock and supplied kayak as part of your rental. Fish the flats for bonefish on your way over or back, we saw schools of large bonefish. This is just from the property. Drive on down to little exuma and find one of the perfect cresent beaches that are around every corner. Each beach cove has it's own unique shape, wind direction, sand, shells, color of water, depth, fish and snorkeling possiblities..Along the drives down the road we ate at Haulovers, Tropic Breeze and of course Santana's, each had the best Lobster(Santana's) best Grouper Fingers(Tropic Breeze) and the baked fish(Haulovers) wish they had rolls so we could of cleaned the plates of her sauce!
If you want crazy nightlife, fast pace, traffic, noise and tons of people do not stay here. Do stay if you like a very friendly owner (Valerie) a pool to relax in,late days after all day on beaches is the best, a cold Kalik to take it all in, then stay here you will be very happy.
Can't set the date yet but we are already looking at our calendar for a return trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet get away with all of the Exuma blues from the water
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moniquef2...
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Bang for Your Buck!”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great time in Exuma, and got it for great pricing with Valerie's vacation cottages. Don't waste your money on places like Sandals, and help out a local! They had everything we needed (other than a dishwasher but who's counting?). Valerie was very friendly and had 3 wonderful dogs we made friends with. She is close to many great restaurants and our favorite beach on the island (Tropic of Cancer). She also has sit-on-top kayaks and life vests, which brought us to another one of our favorite beaches, and quite possibly the most beautiful place on the island (Moriah Harbour Cay: basically if you are facing toward the water from her vacation cottages, head at a R diagonal for about an hour and you're there). Valerie was so helpful and friendly and accommodating. If you are looking for fancy, stay somewhere else. If you are looking for a relaxing, low key place to stay, check out Valerie's. We definitely hope to make it back soon!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTL0829
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect In Every Way”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a fantastic place to stay in Exuma. Thank you Valerie for making us feel like home! We enjoy all the interesting stories you told us about life in Exuma. The cottage is beautiful, with a beautiful view of Moriah Harbour Cay. Inside is everything you need. On a windy day you won’t even need the air-conditioning. We absolutely loved the kayaks. We did a trip with the kayaks every day and explored the beautiful Cays around the area. The stunning white sandy beaches are a must see. You will most likely be by yourself on almost all of them. You can snorkel also from the house dock and in stronger current you can see big varieties of fish. Bottom line, we loved it and if we come back to Exuma, we’ll absolutely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The availability of kayaks
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky C
Worthington, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two weeks in a GREAT location!”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This will start off kind of funny but read to the end..... If you do NOT like dogs DON'T stay here and if you HAVE to HAVE really reliable WIFI do not stay here.....
Neither of these things were a negative to us at all. We traveled with a 17 and a 15 year old so we had one in the double bed, my husband and i slept in the queen and the other slept on a single in the living room (PERFECT) This is a remote location and it was exactly what we were looking for. You can drive to Tropic of Cancer Beach as well as Pretty Molly Bay which were lovely.....BUT taking the Kayaks over to Moriah Cay was the BEST experience EVER! Valerie couldn't have been any nicer or more helpful with everything. Truly PERFECT!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great nearby beaches
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HenningA0...
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Another very nice experience”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I can only recommend this place! This time we did not rent a car, as you really don't need one - with these surroundings. A taxi was ordered by Valerie and waited for us at the airport - most convenient. A couple of days before arrival Valerie asked what we needed and bought some essentials for us.
We were there to relax and used the kayak, as we wanted to spend time on Mariah Cay, which is a MUST to see if you want to be by yourself. Though the water was a bit more unclear due to the recent hurricane, a large number of fish were visible.
Tip: The pool behind the cabin is very nice to cool down in, in the evening.
Thanks again!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glamoureu...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chilled Out Paradise”
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If your definition of paradise means finding yourself on the most pristine white sand beaches, alone with the ocean and wildlife, this cottage will 100% make your vacation dreams come true. Val's cottages come with access to kayaks, and from her dock you can get to stunning, completely deserted beaches, fishing spots and mangroves. Or you can also drive to endless spectacular spots up and down the coast of the Exumas. Val is an absolutely amazing host, she knows the island and the waters exceptionally well and will never hesitate to guide you in anything you need. She loves nature so much you can see her light up and get so happy when her guests go kayaking! How sweet is that?! Book this place, and thank all the reviewers later. This place is the absolute bomb.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing