We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent resort and service”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We went to this Sandals resort both last year and again this year in late October. It is a beautiful resort with a great beach and golf course. Big improvements in staff attitude, service and attentiveness this year and the pool was finally heated making it much more enjoyable. Much better experience this year than last year. Well done management and staff at Sandals Exuma!

All staff were very friendly but the staff member we want to mention the most is Sonya, the egg chef in the buffet restaurant who prepared our eggs most mornings. Her very friendly smile, very positive attitude and quick and efficient service was way beyond what we normally expected and have experienced at other resorts. Sonya deserves special mention and thanks for making our stay that much more enjoyable! Overall a very satisfying and relaxing stay and experience at Sandals Exuma.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. We stayed in room 1110 and it was far enough from the pool and entertainmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadiansteelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you for your review of Sandals Emerald Bay! We strive to provide the best service and quality to our guests. This is accomplished by constantly improving and upgrading our resort and its amenities. We are ecstatic that you noticed that changes that have been made in your absence and that they had such a positive effect on your stay! It is wonderful that our staff did a great job at making sure you had an excellent vacation and I will pass on your kind remarks to Sonya!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,281
    986
    407
    134
    96
See reviews for
107
3,355
11
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noblesville, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I recently returned from an awesome trip at Sandals Emerald Bay. The resort was very relaxing, the food as great, and the service was outstanding! The beach was one of the best that I have been to and was private and not crowded at all. I am so glad that my travel agent, Carey from Beach Bum Vacations, recommended this resort to me. What made this trip even betteris that she booked everything for me, and I didn't have to worry about a thing!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Ashley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Hello and thank you for your review, Ashley. It sounds as if you had the perfect vacation at Sandals Emerald Bay. It is fantastic that you enjoyed the resort and spending time on the beautiful beach! It truly is a stunning island paradise!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We arrived in Great Exuma directly from Toronto on Air Canada. Flight was good and the landing at Great Exuma's International Airport was interesting. We were whisked quickly from the airport to the Sandals resort by taxi. It is a very appreciated short drive and the local taxi driver, Margaret was very nice.

All arriving guests were taken to the lounge where we got a welcome package of information and then taken to a buffet lunch to await our rooms to be readied. Luggage was taken care of directly on arrival and was delivered directly to the room. If you wanted access to change that was also arranged while waiting for the rooms. The wait was not too long, albeit we did not get exactly the room we requested. We were told it was an upgrade and accepted it even though it was on a ground floor.

The room was nicely laid out and furniture was adequate. It did appear to be well used but functional. The furniture on the patio was old, weathered, cracked and soiled. It was raining on arrival and water drained from the floors above and splashed into the covered area. I saw this noted in another review and can confirm that experience was ours.

Staff

Staff were friendly but a bit reserved. Generally staff were great. Some did have the ability to forget things they indicated they were going to do, get done or do. Was a minor issue to us, but after two or three requests for water it became a bit of a joke amongst us. Some staff did stand out. Uncle Sam the gardener helped show me lovely places to photograph. Marissa in the concierge was delightful, friendly and warm. Others were also very good.

Grounds and Location

Gorgeous placement and gorgeous grounds, pool and buildings with lots of lush tropical plants that were very well cared for. Location on the Bay and beach was spectacular. Downside was when the wind died down the sand flies bite and bite hard, particularly close to the beach area. Our room was close and sitting outside when the wind dropped was not pleasant. Being something else's lunch detracted from the resort. I have no idea If this is a timing issue or if the beasts are around at other times of the year. Bug spray is available in the rooms.

Great Exuma is small and there is not a lot of places to see or do on the island. We took the half day tour of the cays. It was worth the money and I would recommend it over the full day tour given the cost. We rented a car one day and saw the whole island including extensive stops for photography and visiting the sites that there are. There is very little for the shoppers of the world. Georgetown is small. 3 gas stations, two grocery markets, straw market, liquor store, clinic, couple of government offices, a bar or three, and the small working harbour. We drove the full length of all paved roads in less than 3 hours, including the salt column, Santana's eatery at the south end and a beautiful bay at the north end.

Sandals Emerald Bay

The resort is very very very quiet. Again not sure if this was a function of the time of the season or this is the way it is. We went looking for quiet R&R but there was virtually no one outside after 8 pm. There was a few people around the fire pits, no one in the pols or hot tub, a couple or few people in the pub. Entertainment was often wrapped up after an hour. Some of the events got moved because of weather or were cancelled. There was no communications about such changes. In one case the street party was cancelled as the performers had performed for visiting travel agents. We thought that odd that paying clients were placed behind non paying agents who might direct other future paying clients. The Manager's party was also disappointing with 4 couples showing up, the manager leaving early and the party shutdown after thirty minutes. The manager's party at other resorts are usually the highlight of many resorts we stayed at.

General comment

This was our first Sandals resort. Many of the folks we met were returning Sandal guests. It was almost a cult! Most had never been anywhere but Sandals. Some were wildly enthusiastic about Emerald Bay, others were not and preferred other locations. For us the resort was nice, but the cost very high when compared to comparable other resorts operated by other resort management companies. Food and staff were good generally. I do think that this resort is overpriced. It is also very quiet and would be attractive to golfer sand couples looking to laze around the pool during the day. There is little to attract us back

Room Tip: Rooms with floors above them may result I hearing a lot of footsteps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Sandals Emerald Bay.

We are grateful for feedback, inclusive of TripAdvisor posts, as it allows us the opportunity to identify our strengths and weaknesses. Our response to feedback continues to be in word and deed. We hope that you would afford us an opportunity to demonstrate the same.
We look forward to welcoming you to one of our other beautiful properties in the Caribbean on a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhill
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We returned October 20, 2013 from our third trip to Sandals Emerald Bay. It just keeps on getting better all the time! The staff are extremely friendly and obliging. The resort is kept in immaculate condition. The food at the French and Italian restaurants is delicious and the service is excellent. The general manager, Jeremy Mutton has created a wonderful resort that keeps us coming back year after year. Also, David Kerr (Welcome Back Desk) is an absolute pleasure to deal with. He remembered our names from the previous year and made our trip even more enjoyable!
The views of the beach and the pool area are breathtaking. We've been to many all inclusive resorts, but this is by far our favourite. Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericmyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you for your review, Eric! It is so exciting to hear about the fond memories you have of Sandals Emerald Bay. Our staff members are a group of fantastic individuals that will do all they can to make sure you have the perfect holiday. The resort is indeed beautiful and the surrounding property is absolutely stunning!
We look forward to welcoming you back to paradise again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My husband and I returned from a trip to Sandals Emerald Bay Resort on 10/11/2013. I am compelled to write and share our experience. Sitting in the Nassau airport waiting for our plane, we met Eilene. She turned to me and said, "Are you going to Sandals?" As soon as we said yes, her face lit up and she proceeded to give us pointers, procedures and information that was so helpful. We continued to meet her throughout the week and always stopped to ask us if we were enjoying ourselves and did we need anything. Thank you Eilene.

From the time we exited the taxi at the resort to the we entered the taxi to return home, we were treated like royalty. Our time there was one of the most enjoyable trips we have taken and we love to travel. Our first encounter with our check-in personnel was wonderful. after a long day of traveling, we were greeted with champagne and a quick check-in, which we appreciated. Laqunya, Nicole and Shanelle were fun and explained everything thoroughly.

The grounds were beautiful, the beach is exquisite and the pool is fabulous. Our room was extremely comfortable and they replenished our refrigerator everyday. They even bought us another bottle of wine when we asked! We were greeted with smiles and hellos from everyone, everyday. If you ask, you shall receive. Room Service is quick and delicious. Wayne delivered one evening and we had such a fun time talking with him. We almost asked him to sit and have a drink.

Our concierge, Carla, was always there when we needed something and responded quickly. She even took the time to program the free Wi-Fi on my phone.

We were walking the beautiful grounds one day and talked to the head groundskeeper DuVann. He was so informative about the foliage and plants. The grounds were immaculate and beautifully landscaped.

There are plenty of chairs at the pool and we enjoyed the fun entertainment during the day. Jerome, the entertainment director stopped and chatted with us one day. Again, asking if we needed anything. When we needed help in the middle of the night, Kevin was there immediately.

Chrisma, the route tour director, scheduled all of the our tours. When we were brought back from a failed boat tour, she was there to meet us as was Charlene the personnel director, to offer options and profuse apologies. It wasn't even their fault! On the exquisite beach one day, Charlene walked around chatting with everyone, checking on us and delivering delicious watermelon!

The restaurant and food was very good. We had lots of options and different cuisines everyday. Lauren at the Bahama Bay Restaurant was fabulous. Delvina and DeWittney at the Drunkin Duck were fun.

I guess you can tell we had a 5 star treatment at Emerald Bay. We will definitely return!

Jim and Susan Woods

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you for that amazing review! It is wonderful that you had such a fantastic vacation from beginning to end! Our staff takes great pride in making sure that our guests have no worries when they are visiting with us! They will truly appreciate all of your kind remarks and knowing that they were able to make your trip a pleasant one!
We hope to see you again soon and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

The great:
1 - the airport. Arriving to the tiny airport in Exuma, we were at the resort 30 minutes after we landed. We never experienced that quick of a transfer - it was assume. No waiting at customs, baggage or for the ride to Sandals.

2 - the golf course is exceptional. I played three times. It may be the toughest course from tee to green that I have played, so bring a lot of golf balls. But it is also potentially the most beautiful. 6 holes run along the ocean and they truly are beautiful. Even if you don't golf, I highly recommend a walk along the back nine.

3 - the 007 boat ride to swim with the pigs is incredible (Exuma Water Sports) Highly recommend this excursion. It was the only excursion we did, and it was much than just swimming with the pigs. Iguanas, incredible views, great snorkeling and the hosts made this a great 4 hours.

4 - the workers are really, really friendly.

5 - the resort is beautiful. The grounds and the facilities are immaculate.

6 - they have two pools. A quiet pool (which is really, really quiet) and a large, main pool. We made some good friends at the main pool, since everyone gathered at the same spot each day and you got to know people.

The Not-so-Great:

1 - it rained the first three days. Even when the rain stopped, they never opened the water sports once in our seven days. One day the wind was very minor and the ocean was calm, they still wouldn't let us use any of the water equipment. It ads disappointing that we couldn't get onto the ocean once through Sandals

2 - the food is decent, but nothing more. The Italian restaurant was extremely good. The others were okay. More variation would be nice.

3 - night time entertainment was just okay and the workers didn't know when changes were being made. Our Butler told us the beach party was cancelled due to wind (and it was always windy), but the next day we were told it was cancelled, just moved.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Augie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This was our third year with Sandals, first two years were in Jamaica, so we wanted to travel somewhere different. First the website is false advertising for the Bahamas. Our room was supposed to be oceanfront and was not. Secondly, there were so many mosquitoes that it was hard to enjoy the resort and furthermore couldn't enjoy time on the balcony. Third, the room service was terrible as we requested juice numerous times and did not receive it. Finally, there were ants in the bathroom. When told about them housekeeping sprayed and the next day there were more found in the refrigerator. There was not a lot to do or see on this resort unless you enjoyed the sport of golf. Although this will not deter us from visiting Sandals again, this will deter us from visiting Great Exuma.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank janluvsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
We regret to hear that your stay was not as expected. We strive to uphold the highest standards of service and quality. Our staff goes through 120 hours of rigorous training each year to ensure we are providing excellent guest experiences.

Insects and pests are indigenous to the Caribbean and the tropical climate makes us susceptible to their intrusion. Every effort is made to minimize their presence on property through our continuous pest control program. Notwithstanding, there will be times when they find their way inside.

We want to make sure future guests do not have similar feedback and will take action by notifying the appropriate departments of your remarks - including our maintenance team. We do request that while on resort you notify us of anything that does not meet your standards. We are always willing to work with you to make sure you walk away feeling like your stay was money well spent.

Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Exuma
12.3 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
12.4 mi away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#2 of 2 in Stocking Island
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Great Exuma
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
559 reviews
11.1 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 4 in George Town
302 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradise Bay Bahamas
Paradise Bay Bahamas
#1 of 15 in Great Exuma
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort

Property: Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
Address: Queen's Highway, Emerald Bay, EX29142, Great Exuma (Formerly Four Seasons Resort Great Exuma at Emerald Bay)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•NEW!! Jogging Trail on property - 2.6 miles long •Greg Norman designed 7,001 yard golf course with 6 signature oceanside holes•Three fresh water pools including the Caribbean’s largest zero entry pool with a central fire pit•24 hour room service to all rooms and suites•Seven exciting dining options to choose from•Red Lane Spa with sixteen extensive treatment rooms•Personalized off resort excursions arranged by our Island Routes Tour specialists•Sits on 1 mile of the Exuma’s best powdery white sand beaches•6 Har-Tru tennis courts including a sunken stadium court•Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Emerald Bay “Caribbean’s Leading Luxury All-Inclusive”•Awarded #9 spot in the 2012 Readers' Choice Awards "Top 12 Resorts in The Atlantic" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Emerald Bay Hotel Great Exuma
Four Seasons Great Exuma
Great Exuma Four Seasons
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis And Spa Resort Bahamas/Great Exuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing