We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Wonderful Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I use Trip Advisor to research all of our vacation spots but have never written a review. We try to write the resort directly with our thanks and comments but this time we were encouraged by the Sandals staff to post the review here as they do read them.

We are very frequent Sandals visitors and this resort is one of their best! This was our 5th stay and will not be our last. The beach, room and food were all terrific! We feel this rates as one of their top resorts!

An important aspect of Sandals is their staff. Starting with David Kerr (Come Back Soon Dept) who has always went out of his way to ensure our stay met our expectations, Sophia, at the egg station, who was always pleasant and smiling, Kenwood & Gerard at the main pool bar, Georgette, the photographer, who made everyone feel like they belonged on the resort, Floyd at the French Restaurant and, of course, Sophia and Heston (the piano player) in the main bar. We would also like to mention the GM, Mr. Mutton. Altough we did not have the opportunity to spend any time with Jeremy every one of his staff members had only good things to say about him. We think he does a great job and when the staff are so supportive with their leader it sure makes for a happy and vibrant environment.

Yes, the sand fleas can be a nuisance so be prepared - they say Avon Skin so Soft works.

Suggestions for Sandals - at all their resorts - more small plastic tables for the beach chairs. We're beach people and other than the "butler" set ups, these table are virtually non existent on the beach. Such a small item....

We recommend this resort.

Now, on to Whitehouse for Christmas!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Darlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Hello and thank you for that amazing review, Darlene!
Your trip to Sandals Emerald Bay sounds lovely and the team will be so excited to learn how highly you speak of them! We also appreciate your suggestion and will be forwarding it to our management team for further review.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,458 - 2,464 of 4,169 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

My husband and I decided on Sandals Emerald Bay for our honeymoon location and we were NOT disappointed. I did my research prior to our travels and became slightly nervous about some of the negativity, but it proved to be in vain! Here are some of my tips and loves:

Loves:
The food: my husband is a picky eater. He gained 5 pounds. The food is amazing from the breakfast buffet, lunch time offerings of pizza/burgers, to the reservation only fine dining, all were unbelievable. The french pastry/coffee house is open late and the offerings are delectable.

The view from an ocean view room

The beach - crystal waters, minimal seaweed, clean beach.

The staff: friendly, kind, and will go out of there way for you.

The room service and fully stocked bar. Did I mention the pillow menu?

Tips:

Pay more for the view. It truly is worth it.

Can't afford a butler room? That is OK - the staff is so helpful and a little exercise to retrieve your own drinks won't hurt you after the calories you will consume. We went with concierge and they were all we needed.

Read the daily schedule for activities - we almost missed an all you can eat chocolate bar!

Play the back 9 of golf - or at the very least walk it, it is one of the most beautiful parts of the resort.

USE BUG SPRAY. Please for the love of all things use the bug spray.

Lastly - book this trip and take us with you. We will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Twinkybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Hello there and thank you for your spirited review!
We are thrilled that you had a fantastic honeymoon at Sandals Emerald Bay! It's perfect for newlyweds to relax and explore an amazing Caribbean paradise!
We hope you return soon and look forward to making many more memorable moments with you! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed at this resort in November of 2012!

I am writing this review, after having just stayed at the Sandals Grande Antigua.

I want everyone to know just how amazing this resort is! We had an absolute great time with the most amazing service, accommodations and food.

Coming from Antigua (which was not bad, you can read my review on that resort as well), we really appreciated the experience we had here! The staff went above and beyond to make sure you were happy, the service was out of this world and the food was excellent. If you are looking for paradise, serenity, beautiful private beaches with crystal clear water, you have to visit this resort. I would not be able to understand any negative review about this resort!

We were looking for the Sandals experience in Antigua as this was our 3rd Sandals trip, but it made us lose faith in the name a little. But thinking back about Emerald Bay, we miss it so much! It was luxury at its finest and we just felt like royalty while we were there, I have to say, if you are looking for heaven, go to Sandals Emerald Bay. I would re-visit this resort in a heart beat for the same experience we had last year!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Preeti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thank you for your review.
We are so pleased that you had such an amazing time at Sandals Emerald Bay! Our staff will be so happy to know that they made such a lasting impression and that you have so many wonderful memories of your time spent there! We will also be forwarding your review and suggestions to our team at Sandals Grande Antigua. We are committed to providing the same fantastic service and amazing Sandals experience at all of our lovely destinations.
We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I believe that everyone should do their due deligence and do some research before travelling!! I did my research, and I read reviews. After reading the reviews before our departure I was beginming to rethink our choice. With that being said, this is what we discovered when we were at SEB and judged for ourselves.

We did not have Butler rooms, we had a club level room (with Concierge service). I have to say that besides the breathtaking waters of Emerald Bay on Great Exuma...everyone, and I mean everyone on the property of Sandals Emerald Bay met and superceeded our expectations! Let me categorize for you in no particular order:

1) Michael, the Tennis instructor (free lessons every day...whether you are a beginner or pro). We have never played tennis before and truly enjoyed our Tennis lessons/.
2) The 29,000 sq.ft. Red Lane Spa. I used this spa almost daily...thanks to the staff at the Red Lane Spa. Thanks to Karen and her staff, especially Tamara!!! You got my husband to actually enjoy a couples massage and want to return for more!! I will certainly miss your expertise!!
3) The restaurants - French & Italian!! Really, at an all inclusive...they were fabulous! If fine dining is not your thing, no worries, the Bahamas Bay (more casual) serving (breakfast, lunch buffets...and a la carte dining in the evening). Thanks to Ruthlynn at the Bahamas restaurant. She surprised us one evening at dinner. Thanks Ruthlynn...you were fantastic!!! Dino's pizza for a light lunch or snack. The Druken Duck...a traditional English pub....great dinners a la carte as well. If you like dining al fresco to to the Barefoot restaurant. You are actually dining on the "beach" with sand under your feet. We mustn't forget the Cafe de Paris! Ah yes, the espresso...or cappuccino with pastries and ice cream service. So many choices, whether you wanted to dress up for dinner, or just enjoy a more casual dinner on your balcony or patio!! The food was very interesting and each day had a different theme...so you are not eating the same thing daily. Thanks to all the chefs, and service staff. Your smiles will have us coming back for more!!
4) The pools - the quiet pool was just perfect for us! In addition to the cabanas and lounge chairs it also had a bar...not swim up. Imagine sitting quietly reading a book or having a swim with your partner...hot sunny afternoon and along comes one of the staff with a tray of ice cream - or water melon on skewers to help you keep cool. This is SEB!!! We did enjoy the main pool a few times with the big bar, with swim up bar stools...and the lively music, and activities. Getting a cabana at any one of these pools was not an issue for us. We did not have butler service and yet we did not have difficulty finding cabanas, or lounge chairs, or beach chairs at any time.
5) The Gardeners - you wouldn't think that someone could write a review about the gardeners. Well, each and every gardener at SEB deserves to be applauded. They work daily under the scorching sun, so that we can enjoy the property and it's beauty. Always with a smile on their faces and always eager to have a little chat with you as you strolled by. Thanks to Sherado (don't know if I got the spelling). It was wonderful to meet Sherado and thanks again for our wonderful little conversations each day!! Especially the coconuts!!!!
6) We had the club level rooms in Bay 5 near the quiet pool and across from the Wedding Gazebo and the Cafe de Paris. These are very spacious and clean and were just perfect for us. The double vanities and the separate comode from the separate shower stall (spacious) and the tub. Lots of closet space with many hangers and a safe!! The beds were comfortable and luxurious!! Thanks to the housekeeping staff...especially for room 5201 and 5301!! We travelled with another couple. Enjoyed your creativity of the towel "art". Love the piglet and the doves!
7) The Piano Bar...I have to say thanks to our lively Pianist...(i'm sorry my mind is still on vacation...can't remember his name). He really involved everyone in the room. His piano playing was just incredible!!!!
8) The concierge staff - Carla and Stephen...what can we say!! THANK YOU...THANK YOU...THANK YOU. We pretty much did our own thing during our vacation at SEB...we explored on our own...dined and wondered the grounds on our own, pretty much did our own thing, and yet somehow you got to know us...by name and remember us!! Thank you for making our check-in and check-out (which included the Air Canada check-in...right at the resort) a pleasure!! Most importantly, thank you for calling us (today)...the very next day to find out about our journey home. You brought the SEB sunshine and hospitality into our Toronto home ( winter day)...bringing a smile back onto our faces.
P.S.-We had such a wonderful experience, we booked a return visit with "Soon Come Back". Thanks for your patience Shaketa (?)...look forward to seeing everyone in 2014!!!!!

Room Tip: Any room at this resort is spacious and comfortable! You decide how much pampering you'd like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FraHar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thank you so much for your review!
There is nothing better than hearing our guests say that they had the perfect vacation and that all their expectations were surpassed! We are delighted that you have so many fond memories of our staff and that they are able to still bring a smile to your face!
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back next year! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My husband and I returned from 8 nights Emerald Bay a little over a week ago and have been missing it ever since! We have been to several other Sandals including Beaches Turks, and were a little nervous with some of the reviews. We had a wonderful trip to Antigua last year so we had high expectations. We were thrilled with everything! Our suite was huge! The view was amazing, we were in 7312. The food was great, we went to the French twice. The only thing missing was some nightlife! it was pretty quiet by 10. We started our days the same, found chairs by the pool, went for breakfast, took a quick walk and then rested the rest of the day! Lunch was either, barefoot, pizza, or Bahama Bay. We did some later in the day snacking at Drunked Duck.

We rented a jeep for the day and had so much fun! We drove all over, met some really nice people, had drinks at Santana's, met Dwight at the best beach bar, went to the tropic of cancer beach. The next day we took a ferry over to Stocking Island, it was beautiful. We had lunch at St. Francis.

We were very happy with our stay here!! We love Sandals, and we are bringing a huge group to the Grande Riviera next year!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamela a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Hello and thank you for your review, Pamela!
We are so pleased that you had an excellent stay at Sandals Emerald Bay! It's wonderful that you had such an amazing time exploring the resort and the gorgeous island of Exuma.
We are sure you will all have a fantastic time on your upcoming trip to Sandals Grand Riviera and we cannot wait to welcome you to Jamaica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We spent our 32nd Aniversary at the Emerald Bay Resort. It is the best experience to spent time at the Sandals resorts..Everyone from the gardner to the management is super friendly.. They all want to make sure your experience is a good one.. The first night there we were invited to the Welcome Back dinner..it was a 4 course meal that was delicious. As a returning guest each couple received a bottle of rum. The food was excellent our entire stay. The views are amazing, nothing like the beautiful blue water. All the food and drinks are of the highest quality., I would highly recommend this resort. Before we left we booked our next trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tbsparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Beautiful location-remote and quiet. Excellent food and service for an all-inclusive. Rooms and grounds well-maintained, and the staff was delightful. We wanted a vacation where we could completely relax, and this fit the bill. The only disappointment was lack of snorkeling.

Room Tip: The beachfront walk-out was worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JdH331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Exuma
13 mi away
Lumina Point Resort & Spa
Lumina Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Stocking Island
67 reviews
12.4 mi away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#2 of 2 in Stocking Island
181 reviews
12.3 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty
Club Peace & Plenty
#2 of 3 in George Town
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Great Exuma
994 reviews
11 mi away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 3 in George Town
568 reviews
11.1 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 5 in George Town
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort

Address: Queen's Highway, Emerald Bay, EX29142, Great Exuma (Formerly Four Seasons Resort Great Exuma at Emerald Bay)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range: £410 - £1,269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•NEW!! Jogging Trail on property - 2.6 miles long •Greg Norman designed 7,001 yard golf course with 6 signature oceanside holes•Three fresh water pools including the Caribbean’s largest zero entry pool with a central fire pit•24 hour room service to all rooms and suites•Seven exciting dining options to choose from•Red Lane Spa with sixteen extensive treatment rooms•Personalized off resort excursions arranged by our Island Routes Tour specialists•Sits on 1 mile of the Exuma’s best powdery white sand beaches•6 Har-Tru tennis courts including a sunken stadium court•Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Emerald Bay “Caribbean’s Leading Luxury All-Inclusive”•Awarded #9 spot in the 2012 Readers' Choice Awards "Top 12 Resorts in The Atlantic" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Prestigia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Emerald Bay Hotel Great Exuma
Four Seasons Great Exuma
Great Exuma Four Seasons
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis And Spa Resort Bahamas/Great Exuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing