We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful 5-star property with 2-star service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I just returned from a 5-day trip to Exuma. Although I have lived in and travelled to Exuma for almost 15 years, it was my first stay at Grand Isles. The homes were clean and beautifully appointed, with fine furniture, beautiful linens, and fully stocked kitchens: large fridge, coffee maker, dishware, cookware, etc. The onsite restaurant, however, was another story: typical slow, apathetic, snail's pace Bahamian service, inadequately trained staff, half-cleaned tables, and plenty of flies. It was not uncommon to have to wait an hour or more for somethiing as simple as eggs and bacon for breakfast -- which isnt a big deal, I guess, if youre on vacation and have all the time in the world!! But if you are there on business, or have a flight to catch, best to give yourself PLENTY of time in the restaurant beforehand, because chances are you are going to be there for a LONG time!! All in all, for the exorbitant prices they charge for their supposed "5-star quaity service", you would expect something much more than 2- star "fish fry quality service."

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank bgaddmarve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (948)
There are newer reviews for Grand Isle Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

709 - 715 of 948 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

Just spent a week at Grand isle. What a great week we had. The accomadations are second to none, the property is kept in incredible shape, the pool, restaurant, and pool bar were all top notch. The staff went out of their way to please.

Emerald Bay has to be 1 of the nicest beaches in the Caribean, if not the world. Sugar white sand and the turqoise blue water was breath taking. Looking forward to a return trip to Grand Isle ASAP.

Jim Ottawa

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Grand Isle is a serene and impeccably maintained property. The resort has all of the amenities one could hope for and an exceptionally welcoming staff. Peter Nicholson's units are tastefully furnished and downright luxurious. (My own sheets pale by comparison.) The restaurant and bar are great and each villa comes with a fully equipped kitchen for times when you would prefer to dine in. In fact, I had no problem preparing dinner for 25 in the kitchen of a three-bedroom villa!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasmine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My husband and I travelled to Grand Isle Resort in April 2012 and stayed at Peter Nicholsons condos.
This was by far the most beautiful place we have visited. The beach was beautiful, the water colours of Emerald Bay were magnificient, the resort itself was clean with friendly helpful staff, the food was above average,the pool was heated so even if the temperature was not hot you still enjoyed floating around. The condos were more self-sufficient then most people homes and the details to furnishings were top notch. Each condo came with a golf cart so getting around the resort or locally off the resort was not an issue. We took a boat tour with Tyrone to Fishermans Keys as well as ?? Island and were blown away by the continuous beauty each corner you turned. We also did a land tour of Tropic of Cancer and visited Santanas. All the locals were friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were enjoying ourselves. We also went to Chat and Chill and it was an experience we will always remember. This place boasts all amenities you will need for a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a a bad room at this resort.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MicheleOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I think the most unique thing about the Grand Isle Resort, or maybe it's just what I found most surprising, is the combination of luxury and a very low key vibe. The Resort is truly luxurious, from the bedding to the pool towels and spa. But at the same time you can relax by the pool without it seeming like "a scene." And while there were a lot of kids it never seemed like a "family" place either. (I don't have children and would not want to go on a holiday and be over-run by too many kids in the pool!) The beach is spacious and virtually empty a lot of the time. A golf course starts just outside the Resort and scuba diving is available just across the street.

If you want to stay in a beautiful and safe environment, in a comfortable villa, and worry about absolutely nothing for awhile, this is your spot!

Room Tip: Some rooms face the marina and others face Emerald Bay, so it just depends which you prefer.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miriam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

A five star resort with great service and friendly staff who go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and welcome. Stayed in a beautiful two bedroom villa overlooking the turquoise waters of Emerald Bay. What a relaxing six days! The villa was spacious and beautifully equipped and furnished, the food was great, pool was picturesque and the beach one of the nicest I've ever seen.

Room Tip: The oceanfront view rooms are worth it. Hard to get a better start to your day than to wake up each...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Grand Isle is an outstanding ownership option. The villas themselves are top notch - very well designed, and with high quality furnishings....every amenity is available including excellent internet. The property is wonderful - beautifully landscaped, a large and excellent swimming pool and steps to a gorgeous ocean/beach.

The staff was uniformly excellent; from the servers at the restaurant and everyone at reception/concierge - especially Judy!

We stayed in one of Peter Nicholson's villas and he was the consummate host - not at all "pushy" and we are not only looking into ownership we would highly recommend this property and Peter specifically.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lesamy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Exuma
12.4 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
12.4 mi away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#2 of 2 in Stocking Island
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
559 reviews
11.2 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 4 in George Town
302 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Bahamas
Paradise Bay Bahamas
#1 of 15 in Great Exuma
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Isle Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Isle Resort & Spa

Address: Emerald Bay | PO Box EX-29253, Great Exuma
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range: £258 - £790 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Isle Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Emerald Bay in Great Exuma, The Bahamas, Grand Isle Resort & Spa is a stunning ocean front resort. The exclusive gated community comprises 78 luxuriously appointed 1- to 4-bedroom villas that range from 1,250 sq. ft. to 5,200 sq. ft. and offer a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living area, high-end amenities, and extraordinary views. Getting around the resort is quick and convenient, as every villa is equipped with a personal golf cart. Grand Isle is one of the finest resorts in the Caribbean and is ideally suited for family holidays, romantic getaways, destination weddings and honeymoons, or for simply enjoying the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Isle Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Isle Resort And Spa
Grand Isle Hotel Great Exuma
Grand Isle Resort & Spa Bahamas/Great Exuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing