We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious villa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Certificate of Excellence
Tupelo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Luxurious villa”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Very nice villa out from Georgetown. Maid service was excellent. The spa there was wonderful, got a facial and the woman was very thorough. They sold very nice high end products there that work. The only reason I didn't 5 star this resort was because of the staff in the restaurant. On the evening we arrived we went down to eat by the pool and they wouldn't seat us because we didn't have a reservation. There were hardly anyone there. Empty tables everywhere. We were desperate since we didn't have a car yet so we asked If we could eat at the bar, which was right there at the pool also. They said yes but you can only get a bar menu at they bar. The bar menu was very limited. They were not accommodating at all to us, and had sour attitudes. The service was very slow. We ate elsewhere the rest of the time. We travel a lot in the Bahama out islands and have never been treated like that. We stayed a long time at the bar drinking and no one ever showed up for those tables. Be sure to rent a car so you can eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TupeloSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    142
    36
    8
    6
See reviews for
370
319
15
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We didn't know much about Great Exuma or Grand Isle apart from Trip Advisor but the resort and the island lived up to the expectations we had in all ways. From the beginning, impressive and meticulously maintained was the first impression upon going through the front gates. Checkin was cordial and professional, clearly staff that have worked in top rated properties before (or were superbly trained).

A short walk to our 2nd floor garden view villa revealed a well appointed living room (10' ceilings) with a view of the 10th hole of the Greg Norman golf course (operated by the adjacent Sandals resort ... more on that in a bit). The single bedroom also had the same view, a nice king size bed and 30" flat panel TV with cable. The bathroom is large and a real feature with glass enclosed shower, separate whirlpool tub, double sink and a commode with its own door. The villa air conditioning worked great, the rool was always as comfortable as you wanted it. And while we shouldn't be worrying about internet connnectivity while on vacation, it is pretty much a necessity for most of us, each room has its own wireless network and the connection is excellent unlike many hotel connections, I routinely tested the connection and got on average 5Mbs download and upload. This is great for quick checkin's at the office and for posting your trip photos to your favorite site.

The location of the property on Emerald Bay which is on the ocean side of the island is gorgeous, great beach, well maintained and great for swimming and snorkeling as there is a small reef right in front of the beach. My only suggestion here is that the resort provide some more shaded options at the beach, if you don't grab one of the 4 palappas or 4 shaded chase lounges you are relegated to the pool area, which is fine but not on the beach and can be busy with well behaved chidren. But not to worry, 2 mins and you are at the beach.

The pool area is very nice, this is where most of the younger family action is and while we were here as a couple, everyone kept it low key and was having fun swimming with mom or dad and it was never a distraction and actually nice as it reminded us of when our kids were that age.

The staff were very friendly and attentive throughout the resort. The restaurant, while offering a too be expected limited menu (see Robert Irvine's Restaurant Impossible if you have a question about this) was quite good all around, dishes were well prepared, tasty and service was fine. Towards the end of our week stay we were looking for other options but they involved logistics that we didn't want to bother with i.e. lining up a cab, longish drive. Which gets to the point that you are a bit land locked at the resort if you don't have a car (we didn't) but you can always get a cab.

Overall a very good resort, we would do it again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank postman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

If you are looking for a place with lot's of activities and nightlife this woudn't be the place for you. If you at looking for quiet, beautiful accommomodations, comfort, relaxation and a courteous staff then this "is the place for you!" our villa was in beautiful condition (like new), there is an onsite Restauraunt (food is very good), an infinity pool, poolside bar & all right near one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen! The waters here are shades of crystal greens and blues & just the right temperature for swimming, snorkeling, etc. I also want to mention the Seastar Spa , which is also on site. Had a facial and an unforgettable deep tissue massage (I could swear at least 6 months worth of work stress was removed in that hour). Ask for Latravia if she is working that day, she has strong healing hands! Though not a golfer, there is a well manicured golf course surrounding the property. The only challenges we found on this trip was that we were land locked at the Villa as we chose not to rent a car as there are not many places to go on the island. Its not a big island. There are also not many choices in restaurants and there are no big towns to visit and "shop" if that is of interest to you. We are ok with that. We did go on a one day exuma boat tour "four C's" which took us to sight see the many cays of Exuma - see the cay with swimming pigs( yes, I said swimming pigs), a cay with iguanas and Staniel cay where we had lunch @ Staniel cay Yacht club where we had one of the best "bloody Mary cocktails " - spiceee...& a fresh catch of the day lunch! It has been a great and relaxing stay! My husband enjoyed 2 days of guided Bone fishing south of the villas with Drex Rolle with much success, while i kicked back at the beach with my books. We are both rejuvinated & ready to head home.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly_from_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This was our first trip to Exuma, and it exceeded our expectations!! We arrived early and didn't have to wait on a villa, the front desk ladies were very friendly and professional. The villa was immaculate, spacious and luxurious. Usually we travel and see one thing on the website and when we arrive at the destination its faarr from the photos online. Well these villas are EXACTLY as seen on the website! Gorgeous! The golf cart was a plus especially for my little toddler. The beach was so clean and relaxing, it's a fantastic well maintained property. The day before our departure the front desk called and even made arrangements for us to get to the airport, that was a definate plus. We did not want to leave. The villa was truly a home away from home!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philippa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Grand Isle Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear Philippa,

We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Grand Isle. Now that you've discovered your home away from home, we hope to see you again soon! Thank you for sharing your experience - we appreciate your feedback and kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This was our first trip to Great Exuma and we couldn't have been more pleased. From the time we arrived at the reception desk, everything was perfect. We actually arrived about 3-1/2 hours early and were able to check in to our villa. The reception staff is by far the best we have ever encountered anywhere. Our 2 bedroom villa was 1st class and clean, nothing out of place. The personal golf carts that come with each villa are a plus too. This is the place to stay if you just want to relax as there are not many activities other than snorkeling, kayaks, and boogie boards. Grand Isle is in an awesome location! Awesome beach! We did not want to leave, but we will definitely return! As posted in other comments, the restaurant is really slow and has a limited menu, but the food was good. We had nothing but time so it really didn't bother us. You have to remember that you are on island time. Our entire stay at Grand Isle certainly exceeded our expectations and we will most definitely return. We look forward to many more stays!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Russ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Our trip to Grand Isle was only two nights....I would recommend a week:) The condo is new, prefectly maintained, very comfortable, spacious, spotless and beautifully appointed. Everything about this resort was top of the line. The grounds and pool were impeccable. The turquoise waters and soft sand beaches were quite and relaxing. I would recommend this resort to anyone who wants a break from the stress of everyday life. While I realize that I am submitting this information long after our stay, it was such a great experience that I still feel strongly about sharing it.

Room Tip: The golf course/water view rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Shelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Just returned from our first trip to the Exumas and certainly would recommend Grand Isle to anyone who might be considering a trip down that way. Really enjoyed the quality found in every aspect of the resort. The rooms are just as described, the grounds are impeccably maintained and the staff was very friendly. The only negative I could draw from the short time we were there, is that they did not offer pool or beachside service (i.e. you had to go to the bar everytime you wanted to order something). Outside of that (and that is being a bit picky) we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackbeard2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Exuma
12.4 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
12.4 mi away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#1 of 1 in Stocking Island
173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
544 reviews
11.2 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 4 in George Town
297 reviews
3.0 mi away
Exuma Palms Hotel
Exuma Palms Hotel
#5 of 6 in Great Exuma
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Isle Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Isle Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Address: Emerald Bay | PO Box EX-29253, Great Exuma
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Isle Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Emerald Bay in Great Exuma, The Bahamas, Grand Isle Resort & Spa is a stunning ocean front resort. The exclusive gated community comprises 78 luxuriously appointed 1- to 4-bedroom villas that range from 1,250 sq. ft. to 5,200 sq. ft. and offer a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living area, high-end amenities, and extraordinary views. Getting around the resort is quick and convenient, as every villa is equipped with a personal golf cart. Grand Isle is one of the finest resorts in the Caribbean and is ideally suited for family holidays, romantic getaways, destination weddings and honeymoons, or for simply enjoying the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Isle Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Isle Hotel Great Exuma
Grand Isle Resort And Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa Bahamas/Great Exuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing