We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene and Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Villa 1524 was my home base for four nights from 2/5 - 2/9. It was perfectly appointed, spacious, and beautifully decorated. The bedroom had more than enough closet space (his and hers), the bathroom was huge (washer/dryer included), and the kitchen had everything one could possibly need (dishwasher, plates, cooking utensils). Each villa comes with a golf cart to get you around but I never used it. The walk to the beach was quick as the access through the pool area was right around the corner. The pool area is very peaceful with a heated infinity pool that juts up to the restaurant which has amazing food. Breakfast was perfectly made ($12) and the dinner was amazing (abut $50 with 2 glasses of wine). The staff is friendly and accommodating and they are there as much or as little as you need them. If you're looking for Spring Break, go to Sandals. If you're looking for a refined, restful, gorgeous place then choose Grand Isle. On a side note: the grocery store on the way has limited food but I picked up snacks and drinks (and also brought some of my own) that kept me from calling room service everyday. Cab fare can add up but a rental car is only about $70 a day and is needing to explore the island. The seclusion you find at Emerald Bay is worth the drive but keep in mind the airport is about a 20 minute drive, 30 to Georgetown, and about an hour to Little Exuma (a must see!). I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jenrbac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

599 - 605 of 983 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

This place is amazing! The staff is very friendly. Jody you are the best. We felt very safe at the resort. The beach was wonderful. If you are looking for a quiet getaway this is the place. The landscaping is beautiful. The restaurant was fabulous. The pool is heated and felt great. The golf course is unbelievable with views of the ocean on the back nine. I could go on and on. I will be going back to this place. I loved everything about it. You will love this place!

Room Tip: We were in 6202 and we loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loquetta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My wife and I went for a 4 night get away and could not have had a better experience. The room was extremely modern, spacious with top line appliances and furnishings. (we had a one bedroom, 6101 overlooking the ocean/golf/marina)....the grounds were immaculately manicured and representative of a private tropical island resort. As for the restaurant, while considerate of some of the negative comments, our experience with service and food was superb. The new restaurant manager Brian was there from open to close and took the time to get to know you and take care of you. Friendly, honest and engaging both for service and on a general casual conversation. Based on some of the comments from previous reviews it would appear the have listened and delivered on improvement. Food and timeliness of service were not a problem.

Grand Isle is not Sandals which we did go and check out. It is a relaxing resort, with the same beach, but far enough away you feel fully isolated. There is no crowding at all around the pool and plenty of hidden spaces for lounging, all with shade umbrellas if needed, and equal amount of space on the beach. Pool service was extremely friendly and quick.
Ocean was warm and great for swimming.

While there we took advantage of a half day tour with Captain Jerry and while paying a little more, ($450) we experienced a personal tour of the islands. Unbelievable scenery, great views of the inlets, fish turtles etc.. water colours were amazing, a stop for great reef snorkelling and a final stop of the famous Chat and Chill for a beer and more local fish cooking. Take the tour!

We pre-ordered a few groceries for breakfast, yes it is expensive ($150 inclusive of the resort stocking charge)..but it’s an island...liquor and beer can be bought around the corner off the resort (cheaper prices than home) which you can get to by use of your condo’s own golf cart. In the end it was still cheaper than the all inclusive.

As a point to help with planning, cash will be needed for cabs, boat tours and other offsite activities or purchases...everything else is easily charged to your room, and the concierge can and will help with all planning. They called us a week in advance to ask if they could help with anything. A single ATM is located at the airport (Scotia Bank)...use that. US dollars and Bahamian dollars are used inter-changeably as the Bahamian dollar is pegged to the US at 1. Other ATMS are in George Town (about 25min from the resort, airport is about 15min).
In all, the trip exceeded our expectations and we would love to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank s b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

In planning our trip to Great Exuma, we were torn between booking at Sandals or the next highest rated property - Grand Isle. We wanted to try Sandals, particularly because it was adults-only. However it was also a lot more expensive, so we tossed a coin and booked at Grand Isle. As we drove from the airport we were apprehensive that we might have picked the wrong venue.
Wrong. Grand Isle is THE place to stay. It shares the same beach as Sandals and based an a reciprocity arrangement between resorts you can still go over to Sandals if you want.
But why would you? The Grand Isle resort is beautiful and (at least when we were there) very peaceful and uncrowned. No problem getting your favorite beach chair in the sun. Good restaurant and bar overlooking the pool. We walked over to Sandals and could hear the poolside rock music hundreds of yards away. No thank you. Back to Grand Isle and the solitude of a beautiful, quiet resort with all the amenities.
Grand Isle is a condominium community so all units are privately owned and in a rental pool. The unit we were in (1521) was lovely - new-looking Caribbean resort style furnishings, fully equipped kitchen. We couldn't have asked for more. However another unit we looked at had more tired furnishings and cheap deck furniture.
Our tips: pick Grand Isle over Sandals unless you like big crowds and loud music by the pool. Specify that you want a modernly furnished unit, We were told 1521 and 1522 were the most requested units. Also there is very little restaurant choice unless you have a rental car and the nearest decent grocery store is 25 minutes away by car. So you may want to bring your favorite cereal etc and pick up perishables on your way from the airport.

Room Tip: 1521, 1522 the most requested units. Make sure to ask for a condo with more up to date furnishings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Oak_Arbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My husband and I just returned from a week at the Grand Isle. We are fortunate to be able to take a beach holiday most winters, but this was our all time favourite, by a large margin!

We stayed in villa 6203. It is a one bedroom with stunning views of the marina and open ocean. The resort sits on a point between Emerald Bay (with the beautiful turquoise water) and the ocean, so there are villas with bay views and villas with ocean views (also villas with garden views). We loved the open ocean view. The villa itself is stunning, with a full kitchen, huge living/dinning area with ocean view, bedroom with ocean view, balcony, and bathroom that is bigger than our master bedroom at home. We really enjoyed having breakfast and lunch on our ocean view balcony and waking up to the sound of the ocean from our open bedroom windows. There was a professional grade hair dryer in the bathroom (amazing). Also, the room comes with your own golf cart, which stays in a specially built golf cart garage. Too fun. I cannot say enough good things about this villa. It truly felt like a home away from home, with all the amenities.

The resort grounds are immaculate. Beautiful tropical landscaping. The beach on Emerald Bay is the nicest beach I have ever been to. Powder fine white sand and water a colour I have never seen. The bay itself is sheltered from the wind and waves of the open ocean so is ideal for paddle boarding, kayaking and snorkelling. The bay is also an ideal length for a walk - about 45 minutes end to end and back. The resort also has a beautiful, warm infinity pool with gorgeous views of the beach.

The staff are all very friendly and go out of their way to make sure you are having a fantastic stay. Mal at the pool hut even volunteered to play a game of beach volleyball against us, solo, and won, much to our shame.

We rented a car and bought groceries in George Town for the week. The villa kitchen has everything you need to make delicious meals. We also ate dinner at the Palapa Grill twice (very good food and service. Try the Bahamian Buffet night for amazing chicken and ribs). We also ordered room service one night, also fabulous.

We were looking for a relatively quiet, relaxing holiday, and we got it! The resort was only about 40% full so there was never any issue with beach or pool chairs or water sports equipment. The concierge will help you set up any excursions (we did a full day tour to see the swimming pigs with Four C's - good times) and give you recommendations for restaurants (try Santana's) and self guided driving tours. The island is not very developed so there is a lot of authentic Bahamian sight seeing to be done.

Overall, this is the first beach holiday that I know we will be repeating. The quality of the accommodations at Grand Isle combined with the natural beauty of the island of Exuma cannot be beat. Book it!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank ChloeJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I was travelling with my wife and parents, and this place was ideal for us. The lodgings are really beautiful and spacious, and our view was terrific. The staff was friendly, but really every Bahamian we met was. This area of the beach gets a lot of grass washing up, and was not as pretty as Three Sisters or Coco Plum beaches.

We dined there three times, for dinner and once for lunch. The dinner buffet was very good, and although there were things I wasn't impressed with, they had enough other choices that I really enjoyed (the ribs and sausage, plus the sides). I ate the lobster there twice and would get it again if I was there right now. My dad had a steak and thought it was excellent. There were a lot of families with small children, and they seemed to be enjoying themselves. All in all a very nice visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mudfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We had a nice experience. We stayed for 16 nights. It felt just like home. Everything was great; the weather, the property, the staff. All of the employees were so friendly and hospitable. The spa was very relaxing and the food was simple but excellent. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank Konstantin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Exuma
13.1 mi away
Lumina Point Resort & Spa
Lumina Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Stocking Island
63 reviews
12.5 mi away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#2 of 2 in Stocking Island
178 reviews
12.4 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty
Club Peace & Plenty
#4 of 6 in Great Exuma
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
11.1 mi away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
566 reviews
11.2 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 5 in George Town
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Isle Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Isle Resort & Spa

Address: Emerald Bay, Great Exuma
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range: £320 - £726 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Isle Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Emerald Bay in Great Exuma, The Bahamas, Grand Isle Resort & Spa is a stunning ocean front resort. The exclusive gated community comprises 78 luxuriously appointed 1- to 4-bedroom villas that range from 1,250 sq. ft. to 5,200 sq. ft. and offer a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living area, high-end amenities, and extraordinary views. Getting around the resort is quick and convenient, as every villa is equipped with a personal golf cart. Grand Isle is one of the finest resorts in the Caribbean and is ideally suited for family holidays, romantic getaways, destination weddings and honeymoons, or for simply enjoying the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Isle Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Isle Resort And Spa
Grand Isle Hotel Great Exuma
Grand Isle Resort & Spa Bahamas/Great Exuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing