We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Paradise, Quiet and serene”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of St Francis Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Francis Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Great Exuma
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Wonderful Paradise, Quiet and serene”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2010

I chose St. Francis because of it's location on stocking island, and heard many people want to come to the island, so I said, why not stay here?

We arrived in Georgetown airport, got a taxi to the Market dock...$30. He called St. Francis and they were waiting for us. The caretaker's son Greg picked us up and we rode to Stocking Island which took about 7 minutes.

We were promptly greeted by Jill, who owns the place with George. She always greeted us!
We had room 6. There are only 8 rooms! It is quiet, CLEAN and simple! No loud parties (NAssau) or anything like a SANDALS. But that's it. Coming to a remote and tropical island, don't you want to be secluded a little, and enjoy nature all to yourselves?

There was a breakfast included EVERY morning. She would come around 8:15. It had some of everything--see photo.
You can Kayak to the CHAT N CHILL for the PIG ROAST on SUNDAY where there are a handful of people having fun on the beach...I included a photo to show how far it is. Not at all walkable--BUT totally kayakable!

There is a blue hole where you can snorkel to--follow the land all the way to the right from the main dock, pass a second dock and then rocks jet out. You can see tons of fish hiding in the cave opening about 80 feet down!
*Note: St. Francis has flippers on loan!
They also had 2 hobie cats BUT we didn't use them.

There are about 2 2-person kayaks and maybe 3 single ones.

LUNCH MENU--
salads, burgers, soup

DINNER--
Make a reservation before 4pm, wider selection than the lunch menu, fresh fishes, lobster--see photo, vegetables and more! If you don't get a reservation you can always order off the lunch menu till 6:30pm...kitchen closes at 7pm.

Monday was a poker night...people came off of boats etc for this. People come to the restaurant from other places--georgetown, boats etc...

We snorkeled, walked around the island, looked for shells (the secret is do it low tide on sand dollar beach)...We also went with dive-exuma for a morning snorkel out to a reef--elizabeth reef and more.

SFR was a hidden GEM. People were all friendly there (guests) and Jill was exceptional, looking out for us in what we needed and always greeted us when we came back on shore either from Kayaking, boating, water taxi etc...

The water was warm--not as warm as Mexican water, but it was May...The fish were best seen out near that blue hole or on a snorkeling trip. Though there are rays that hang out in front of the CHAT N CHILL, because people feed them conch guts. We pet them.

There was no rain whatsoever when we were out...It was great weather.

The rooms were fine. We had 2 beds--the shower had hot water with great pressure if we needed it. There was a coffee maker, toaster and fridge. Water from the tap was drinkable--bring a waterbottle and just refill.

We left EARLY (645) and Jill made sure we had breakfast and she boated us back to Georgetown where she had arranged out taxi the night before (JJ ROLLE).

I would totally recommend this place for the price, friendliness, location and wonderful time!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellendejavu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
123
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2010

We stayed at the St Francis Resort for 5 nights in mid-March. We are so glad that we stayed here instead of on the mainland. We originally considered staying at Palm Bay but we loved the St Francis and have no regrets. It is a small hotel with 8 rooms and they are quite new. The view from the rooms is stunning. The rooms are fresh and clean and have classic furnishings. The meals are great in the dining room and the breakfasts are plentiful.
The owners are friendly and we had some great chats with them. They are very helpful and have lots of knowledge of the area. Also you don't have to buy bottled water as they have the best water system in the region and the water is great from the tap.
We rented a boat from Minns for 3 days (online booking) and highly recommend that especially if you are into snorkelling. Bring your own gear too as I think it would be easier. Everyday we went to different spots on the harbour side of Stocking Island and we saw lots of marine life. Large starfih and large crabs in one area and then near the coral reefs we saw lots of colourful fish, conch, plentiful coral, eels and a turtle. Ask George how to get to the second cut reefs....behind the island with the black gazebo on top.
We also came across 2 dolphins near February Point. They were quite friendly and sort of greeted us by swimming right beside the boat.
We also went for a lot of hikes on the island and the trails were amazing. Lots of greenery and the trails were very easy to follow and great for exploring. If you are into photography ...you will not be disappointed on this island.
The beaches on the island were out of this world. Mostly deserted with white sand and gin clear water. The water was very shallow at most of the beaches and perfect for wading in. Some people swam on the ocean side of the island when the waves were calm but we mostly swam on the harbour side.
If you enjoy hiking and exploring, swimming and snorkeling...then you can't go wrong with this wonderful hotel on beautiful Stocking island.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy_WP27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2010

The St. Francis is a great place for a quiet relaxed vacation. It's obviously not a 5-star resort, seeing as it is on a small island off of Exuma and off the beaten path. One downside of this is that they do not take credit cards so you will need to bring cash or traveler's cheques. There is an ATM by the Exuma market but you can only withdraw $500/day with a $15 fee each time.

The proprietors are very friendly and accommodating and there are plenty of sailboaters in the area. The place was packed for poker night and we participated in Trivial Pursuit another evening. Rooms are very clean and spacious, with high ceilings.

Breakfasts were nutritious, large, and varied. Food at the resort was pretty good, although eating we got tired of eating french fries by the end of our stay. There is a market by the dock where you can pick up sandwich fixins and snacks.

If you ever wanted a pink sand tropical beach all to yourself this is the place to go. It is absolutely gorgeous and the weather when we went in February was delightful. The island isn't huge but there are several miles of hiking trails to explore. Just don't try to do the Tiki Trail in your flip flops. I would recommend looking at Google satellites to see where the trails are, although exploring unmarked trails is quite an adventure.

You can go kayaking and also snorkeling. The water is clear and you can see plenty of big fish if you go to the right places. One of the highlights of the trip was watching a red moon rise over the horizon and stargazing without any light pollution.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank snorbitzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

My Wife and I were looking for a place for out first real getaway in awhile. I came across St Francis here on Tripadvisor and was immediately intrigued. It is a truly unique place and is one of the first locations we intend to return.

St. Francis is owned by George and Gillian who were exceptional hosts. Their son Greg was helpful as well.

The Island has miles of beaches, nature trails, and places to explore. They have several kayaks as well as two small sailboats available for the guest at no charge. We took the kayaks throughout the harbor and explored different snorkeling locations. The rooms face the ocean side and it's about a 100 yard walk through gardens to the harbor side where the restaurant / bar is. On the first night, we arrived in time to take part in a friendly poker tournament at the restaurant that attracted 50 people. They mostly sailboat owners who were anchored in the harbor for the season.

It was clear that this was a truly special location for the cruisers in the harbor. It was nice of them to let us "borrow" the lifestyle for a few days.

St. Francis is truly a hidden gem and an exceptional value.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robpiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg,VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2010

My wife and I spent 4 fantastic days at St. Francis. Jillian and George are great hosts and the place is in one of the most beautiful areas in the world. Jill (owner) is so sweet and the cruisers (people that live on the boats in the harbor) are some of the most sincere people I have ever met. This is the place to go if you are looking to for a low key vacation in a great location. Be prepared for early nights to bed because remember you are on an island but there is so much to do during the day you will be ready. We spent a lot of time hanging out on the private beach, snorkeling and sea kayaking around the harbor. We also enjoyed paddling over to the "chat and chill" for drinks and people watching. It truly is a great place. I would have liked to have a tv in the room but we will know to bring movies with us next time. This is the only vacation hotel that I look forward to staying again. It will be a yearly thing for us

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vtphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2009

I always am trying to find little gems of places and St Francis is certainly a gem, but not just because of its incredible setting, clean, neat rooms and grounds, and great food but most importantly because of the wonderful family that gives their heart to the place and to their visitors. Namely George, Jill, and their son, Greg. From the startlingly simple reservation, to getting picked up at the pier by Greg in a motor boat to be whisked across the bay under a full moon, to George and Jill's authentically giving nature it was a pleasure and an honor to be under their care. And yes, the setting was insanely beautiful. Our room (and all rooms) overlook the ocean and we slept to the sound of the surf. Each morning Greg brought us a continental breakfast that changed a little each day and the lunches and dinners at the lively restaurant were fantastic. Great snorkeling in the bay in front of the hotel. We also swam in the surf, kayaked over to the Chat and Chill, saw every sunrise and sunset and generally relaxed. I use tripadvisor often but have never written a review but St Francis has motivated me to write this the day after my return. My only concern is that the St Francis will become too popular!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MadNJ05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2009

The best vacation I've ever been on. Period. And there have been many.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frannie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Exuma hotels
1.5 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
12.4 mi away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Great Exuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
9.6 mi away
Exuma Palms Hotel
Exuma Palms Hotel
#6 of 7 in Great Exuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.0 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 2 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Francis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Francis Resort

Property: St Francis Resort
Address: Stocking Island, Great Exuma
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — St Francis Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Francis Resort is located in a pristine location on Stocking Island. Enjoy miles of whitesand beaches, diving and watersports, sailing, dining, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your St Francis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Francis Hotel Great Exuma
St Francis Resort Bahamas/Great Exuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing