We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise!”
other travellers have booked this property
Papaya House Patio on the Beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Papaya House Patio on the Beach
Papaya House Patio - reverse angle Papaya House - looking towards beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Papaya House Patio on the Beach
Papaya House Patio - reverse angle
Papaya House - looking towards beach
Outdoor shower
Indoor/Outdoor dining area
Views of beach from every room
Best place for a coffee in the world
Papaya House - from the water
2 Ocean Kayaks waiting for adventure
Modern Kitchen - off living area
Living area, with kitchen in the background
Another view of living area
Main floor bedroom, king size bed and ensuite, not to mention great views!
2nd floor bedroom, king size bed, ensuite, great views again
Upstairs balcony with rocking chairs, accessible from both upstairs bedrooms
Another view of the upstairs balcony
Master bedroom, 2nd floor, en suite, great views, balcony access
Master en suite bathroom
Ground floor bedroom en suite bathroom
3rd bedroom, 2nd floor, en suite bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Great Exuma, Out Islands, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vacation7...
1 review
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Absolutely perfect! Best vacation ever and most beautiful place we hav ever been! Papaya house had everything we needed and then some and Jackie was so helpful!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great house with an awesome private beach!”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The house was perfect and the beach was great. Would only recommend a portable blower to help keep sand off the patio and out of the house, but other than that, it was roomy and clean with lots of things to do on the beach - kayaks, snorkel gear, beach toys, etc.

My only complaint was that very few places took credit cards and nothing is cheap. I didn't like having to carry that much cash around.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian D
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The hallmark of a great vacation - you return, again and again !”
Reviewed 14 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This was my third vacation in 3 years at Papaya House, and I intend to return year after year. The villa is 5-star status, and the setting is breath-taking. Fully equipped kitchen, bbq on the patio, beach toys (kayaks, snorkeling gear, etc), board games and dvds (for when the sun hides), and, and, and ...
This is the perfect spot to get away from it all - including the hype and congestion of the typical big island resorts. So peaceful! So relaxing. So refreshing.
Yet there are plenty of adventures awaiting if you are so inclined. My favourite is the all-day boat excursion from Barreterre. Check out the brochure - it's worth spending the day !!!
As an added bonus for me, I'm an avid angler and the options down here kept me engaged! Whether we were flyfishing the mangroves for bonefish, trolling the depths of the Bahama Sound for wahoo, spinning for mahi mahi or casting from the bridge for horse-eyed jacks our lines were always tight. This year was our personal best as we landed 3 wahoo, the largest being 85 lbs, a school of mahi mahi and an oh so delicious kingfish. Needless to say, we gave most of the 'meat' to the locals.
One of the other distinguishing charms of the island is the complete absence of Canadian/US food chains - no McD's, Pizza Pizza, KFC, Tim's, Starbucks, etc (you get the picture). In place, there are several quaint little restos with some interesting twists on local fare - and there is no need to dress up - its all casual down here.
Cant wait for my next vacation !!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCook
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“"WOW" - A Wonderful Get Away”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed for 8 days in May with 3 couples for an anniversary get away and couldn't have found a more perfect place. Pictures can barely due this house and location justice. A beautiful fully appointed home on one of the top beaches we've ever stayed on, and we have been to many in the Caribbean and Mexico. We had planned on touring all ends of Great and Little Exuma but had a hard time leaving the perfect beach and amenities of Papaya House.
Jackie was a pleasure to work with in setting up the reservations, Onike of Good Life Bahamas provisioned the house with everything we requested and took great care of us for anything needed during our stay. Beautiful sunrises in the morning,great weather the entire week and all the stress free views and ocean anyone could ask for.
Getting around the island was easy with a rental, and the locals were more than friendly in giving us tips and directions.
I was torn about writing this review wanting to keep this piece of paradise a secret, but it is just to beautiful of a place not to share. If you have a chance to get away and want a great experience this is your place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the beach steps outside your door
Liked least: The bugs at dusk while cooking on the grill
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harald N
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect beach villa”
Reviewed 1 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We (three couples) had a truly amazing stay at the Papaya house on Little Exuma Island.
You should rather consider it a villa than a beach house, which is very spacious (2 floors) and comes equipped with everything you might need for your stay (kitchen, washing machine, dryer, bbq, two tandem sea kayaks…). We especially enjoyed the spacious porch right in front of the secluded beach. Everything was really clean and well-kept and the service was really great and always friendly if we needed some help. The location is also just perfect and you are close to George Town where you can easily buy groceries or have dinner. I can highly recommend this house to everyone (from families to couples and groups of friends), it is just the perfect choice if you are looking for a really relaxing and special place on this very charming island!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Puh, difficult, the secluded beach, the huge gas bbq and the two tandem kayaks
Liked least: that we finally had to go back to Germany :((((
Travelling group: Freunden
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“When life gets to be too much this is the place to go.”
Reviewed 15 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
4
people found this review helpful

I just finished an amazing vacation here with 18-year-old daughter and it was heaven. After a very hectic autumn, this place gave us the chance to completely slow down and appreciate the world. We snorkelled, kayaked, swam, read, slept and connected. The bedrooms are huge and each has a breathtaking beach front view. Loved having my coffee on the front balcony and watching the sunrise and the surf. We didn't see another soul except a local who came along and offered to make us conch salad. We could have gone to nearby restaurants but were so chill, didn't want to move and just made our own meals in the well equipped kitchen with groceries we picked up on our arrival at Georgetown. I have never seen such crystal clear water and owners Pete and Jackie provide all you need to enjoy it: boogie boards, snorkel equipment, floaty chairs, two kayaks and sand toys. Can't wait to return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing