We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything you need in one beautiful home!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Canuck Palms

enjoy the back deck, listen to the ocean and watch the sailboats go by
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
enjoy the back deck, listen to the ocean and watch the sailboats go by
the beach at the house, untouched, private, and most likely won't see anyone all vacation walk the endless beach at the house every morning
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
enjoy the back deck, listen to the ocean and watch the sailboats go by
the beach at the house, untouched, private, and most likely won't see anyone all vacation
walk the endless beach at the house every morning
full clean kitchen with all amenities including new dishwasher
breakfast bar seats 6, perfect for dining and entertaining
sleeper sofa couch and large flat screen tv with cable
Sitting at Coco Plum Beach after shelling for sand dollars.  The sand bars are endless at low tide.
Skimboarding across the endless Exuma sandbars
Sit at the new breakfast bar and enjoy ocean views
2 full ensuite bathrooms with oversized tubs
bedroom one with new king bed, new linens and comfortable pillow top mattress and view of the ocean
new front load washer and dryer
bedroom two with king bed and pillow top mattress, and new linens
cook fresh lobster on the new bbq grill
relax in your new cotton Canuck Palms robes
living room area
enjoy new patio furniture including lounge chairs, dinner table and chairs, and umbrella
rent a boat from Minns Water Sports and explore untouched cays, beaches and reefs
Snorkel in the clearest blue waters imaginable, just outside your door.
visit nearby Stocking Island, feed the stingrays and have lunch at the famous Chat n Chill beach bar
Beautiful beaches - Three Sisters Rock
Newly planted palm trees!
Brand new microwave.
Rinse off in the private outdoor shower with warm and cold water.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Great Exuma, Out Islands, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mpfortu
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything you need in one beautiful home!”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of 4 adults who stayed one week at Canuck Palms. Canuck Palms had everything we were looking for and more and is in an great location, which made it ideal as we toured around a fair bit through the island. I would definitely recommend renting a car as nothing is really within walking distance; although one morning two of us walked just up the block to Tracy Browes convenience to pick up a few groceries, which worked out well for a last minute run.

The home itself has everything you need in terms of amenities - washer, dryer, full kitchen, TV, WiFi, linens, towels, kitchenware, bbq, beach accessories, etc. Canuck Palms has two large bedrooms with king size beds and their own private full bathrooms, which was perfect for us 4 adults. And everything was very clean - which is always something I look for and it made the experience that much more pleasant. Great decor, modern furniture and great little breakfast bar which was perfect for our daily meals, as we all ate together. The guidebook is a perfect touch, as we often referred to it if we ever had questions. We loved he guest book and reading through other guests reviews/experiences and we also used it to for recommendations on places to check out, like places to eat or beaches to visit.

What really made this place perfect was the private beach! There wasn't a soul around - we absolutely loved the privacy. Heather and Brett were also great to deal with; they were quick to respond to any and all of our questions and made it a point to ensure we had everything we needed to make the week at Canuck Palms an unforgettable one...which it was!

I would absolutely recommend this place to friends and I wouldn't hesitate to rent this place again in the future!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
Thank you so much for the detailed review. We are so happy to hear that you had a great vacation and that our home met all of your needs. We feel very fortunate to be able to share our home with wonderful guests. We would definitely welcome you and your friends back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilde6Ont...
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful little home, well thought out”
Reviewed 9 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I would definitely recommend this property and owners to anyone looking for a private place to stay in the Exuma's. Brett and Heather were wonderful to deal with, very quick with responses to questions and honest with replies as well. The house is very well laid out, all that you would expect or need with a lot of extra little touches.
Everything was very clean as well. Loved having the outdoor shower, great way to keep the sand outside. We ate in the majority of time and had no issue preparing meals with cookery in the home. The beach was a very short walk from the house. No issue with distance, it just happened to be fairly windy while we were there so a lot of waves. There are a lot of other very nice beaches fairly close by as well.
I would say you need a vehicle though, nothing is really within walking distance other than the one beach. I would have wanted a car anyhow just to be able to explore more of the island.
Location is very good, pretty central. Great little bakery for bread just up the road a bit (driving distance) - Frankies. A nice little convenience store quite close that has your basics as well. About a 20 minute drive to get into Georgetown.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Canuck Palms, would definitely recommend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review and details about the island of Exuma. We are truly grateful that we can share our home with guests such as you and are happy to hear that our home met all of your needs. We would welcome you back anytime! Sincerely,
Brett & Heather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armin B
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Exuma Experience”
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed 6 nights at Canuck Palms and had a great time. The house is very clean, modern furniture with lovely decoration and close to the beach.

Everything was well organised, from the guidebook to assist your trip planing during the stay, the provision of a local cellphone. There's a Journal from the other visitors and a many flyers that will also give you proposals of activities you could do while staying on Exuma.

The beach is very close to the house and there's even a little reef behind, where you can see eg. Brain-Corals, Sea-Urchins, colorfull Reef Fish, Grouper or even Baracudas.

We can recommend this stay for everyone who wants to have his own, calm exuma experience outside of the resort mass tourism.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2016
Thank you for the wonderful review. We take pride in our guests and their reviews. We are so happy that you had an enjoyable stay at our home while experiencing the beautiful island of Exuma. We hope that you created many cherished memories and will return again some day.

Sincerely,
Brett & Heather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vesta2211
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very clean home - owners were excellent to deal with”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My husband and I stayed at Canuck Palms a few weeks. The owners (Heather and Brett) responded to queries within literally minutes and were very professional to deal with. The house is cute, comfortable & very clean. The location is excellent for exploring the island. Definitely recommend this property.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2016
We were so happy that we could share our vacation home with you so that you could experience another out-island of the Bahamas.

We hope you enjoyed the Island of Great Exuma as much as we do and would welcome you back anytime.

Sincerely,
Brett & Heather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beckeboo
Burlington, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Exceeded our Expectations!”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My husband and I just got back from our stay at the Canuck Palms. I can not say enough about this little piece of paradise. We had the time of our lives and having this place as our home base for all our adventures made the trip just that much better. The owners Brett and Heather are absolutely fabulous. We had never rented a home for travel before and they made the process super easy. The home is absolutely lovely. The decor is the perfect mix of beachy and modern. You can tell real care was taken in picking all the lovely little accents. The house has absolutely everything you could possibly need from beach chairs to smoothie blenders. We absolutely loved the private outdoor shower and patio. Norm the property manager was awesome if we had any issues. The beach is literally a 1 minute walk away and perfect for boogie boarding or just catching some sun. The entire week we only saw 1 other person on it. I loved that this place was a little off the main highway, it just added to the feeling of privacy but wasn't so far out that it took long to get anywhere. Great location, beautiful home, and awesome owners! We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the outdoor shower, hearing the waves from the back deck...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2016
Thank you for the fabulous review. We feel so very fortunate to have our "piece of paradise" on the island of Exuma, to share with our guests. We thoroughly enjoyed feeling your excitement through the planning of your trip, watching it unfold "picture perfect" through your posts and comments, knowing that you were creating many cherished memories. We would welcome you back anytime! There are still many "hidden treasurers" to explore! Sincerely Brett & Heather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fredmar42
Northeastern Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a piece of Paradise !!”
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

First time to Exuma for us, what a Beautiful piece of the World. From the time we were considering this property, the owners were extremely helpful, answering all our questions, up to the day we left!! Where the best Beaches, Restaurants, Markets are.... The house has all the comforts of home, we just had to show up and enjoy our vacation. . Only a 10 minute drive from the airport, where we were able to fly direct from Toronto! It is pretty much in the middle of the Island making it easy to drive to all the awesome sites. We would recommend this property to anyone that is interested and can't wait to go back. Thanks for everything!!.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful beaches, snorkelling in the Grotto, feeding the Sea Turtles
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2016
Fred & family
We are so happy that we were able to share our home with you, so that you could celebrate and experience a piece of paradise.... the Out Island of Great Exuma, Bahamas. We would welcome you back anytime!
Sincerely,
Brett & Heather.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jcforkell
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Met our expectations!”
Reviewed 10 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The pictures are very accurate and the house is very nice! Well decorated and kitchen had everything we needed to make a few meals, morning coffee, etc. The beds were very comfy and we loved that there were a lot of towels provided as well as bathrobes. From the living area windows you can see the ocean and it is only a short walk through the yard and down the path to the beautiful, private beach. Our group was myself, husband, and our 3 children (20,18,17) and everyone just loved this place and agreed we would stay again! The owners are very helpful and thoughtful and always replied to us quickly! A+ for Canuck Palms!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: layout, space, location, cleanliness
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2016
Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear that our home met all of your needs and that you had an awesome family vacation. It was a pleasure to have you stay at our home "Canuck Palms" and to know that you fell in love with the island as well. We would welcome you back any time! Sincerely Heather & Brett
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing