We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bluff House is awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2008

I just wanted to let everyone know that although the Bluff House is not a lavish and swanky hotel, this is one of the most comfortable, beautiful, and relaxing places I have ever visited. I had stayed there last year in 2007 for a week also and chose to return once again, for its location, but most of all its staff and lovely people. The family owned resort is managed by Mike Zack, originally from the states and familiar with resort hospitality. He has created a wonderful crew from the restaurant to the hotel staff that is available at any time. We arrived off the ferry after 9;30pm, and to our surprise a call was made by Robin, which is part of the family which own the resort, and Carol Jean from Kool Karts had a golf cart to us before we could finish our late dinner. Where else do you get pampered in this way. We also make friends with Carol and Mark which own Kool Carts and joined them for dinner in their home. What more can I say,...........Gorgeous beaches, wonderful seaglass, great food, ..did I mention the Tranquil Turtles..............If you don't stay here, you'll miss "the boat".a
Can't wait to get back, Sandra R. Steed, Bob Wilson, NC

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lasasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2007

I can see why some other posters have written some negatives about Bluff House, but I'm not sure if they balanced their reports correctly.

Last August was the fourth time in four years that my family and I have visited this place and that pretty much tells its own story...we absolutely love it.

To put this into perspective, we have travelled widely, looking for the perfect place for us...with great, tranquil destinations, gorgeous beaches, clear turquoise blue seas, great food, great fishing, no crime and friendly people...

We went to the Seychelles, Maldives, Grenada, St Lucia, Antigua, BVI, Baha Mexico, and so on and so on. But there is always a compromise on something...Grenada, sea not as clear; Seychelles, wildly expensive; St Lucia volcanic 'grey' beaches; Maldives too hotelly and restrictive by island; etc etc.

By the way, all of the less populated and built-up islands in the tropics and and sub tropics have bugs and poor roads, so why go there if you are worried?

In the end, we have settled on Bluff House on Green Turtle Cay for our holidays over the last few years, because it delivers on all our requirements...stunning beaches, clear waters, no crime on the island, excellent food, boats we can self-drive, brilliant fishing, tranquility and more than anything, the most charming people we have ever met on our travels.

The hotel itself is spread over a hill on a point, with the Sea of Abaco on one side and a natural Bay on the other. The Atalntic Ocean beaches are about 10 minutes away on a golf buggy. Accomodation varies from smallish single rooms to three bedroom villas, and I have to say, the older rooms are in need of some renovation . The new ones are gorgeous tho. The open air bar and restaurant is wonderful, and the smarter restaurant in the club house with a conservatory at the top of the hill has an amazing view.


If you want night life, this isn't for you. If you want super-fast service and dining with a tie, this isn't for you either. If you are worried about bugs or rough roads, then go to a busy island instead.

In our view, great great great!

Love it!

J

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank jasonandkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2007

A beautiful Island, a clean and welcoming hotel but the small things let it down.

The hotel sits ooverlooking a georgeous harbour on one side and the Sea of Abaco on the other. However the 'jewel' of Green Turtle Cay is its Capitol New Plymouth. Its only 6 miles away but believe me when I say that to get there is a trial over the worst road you haave ever seen. This you have to do yourself as there is no shuttle, in a Golf Cart. No shuttles from the hotel and yyou would go stur crazy if you did not get out occasionaly.

Next the bugs - The 'No-seeums will eat you up and believe it or not the hotel could not sell us any bug spray. I could go on and on about other things

In short a nice hotel but lacking in those little basics and extras that make a vacation special. Oh but that Road.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank consultgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher P, Manager at Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

We have new owners and a new team here and we wish you would give us the oppportunity to see our new rooms and restaurant and to sample our wow service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2007

It was wonderful, I am sure views like this exsist nowhere else, The Staff was incredible and knew our names before we got there. Much to do and nothing to do Both were Great..

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank shadyladyNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2007

Although I agree with previous reviews regarding the beauty, friendliness and quality of food at Bluff House I do have one word of caution. BEDBUGS. We arrived in the afternoon and were shown to our suite which on the surface looked clean enough. However, when the lights went out and we went to bed we were covered by little black bugs which I never had seen before. They turned out to be bedbugs. Since it was past 9 pm there was no one on premises to help us and a call to the emergency number located on the door to the office went unanswered. We tried to sleep outside on our patio but got chewed by mosquitos so we just didn't sleep that night. After complaining to the management the next day (they didn't seem all that concerned) we were moved to a deluxe suite which was very nice indeed. No bedbugs anyway. The biggest surprise came when we got home and my husband and I noticed red lines all over our bodies. The doctor diagnosed it as scabies carried by bedbugs. We had to stay in bed isolated from our kids for a week as scabies is very contagious. The treatment was a nasty carcinogenic cream called Lindane. After this occurred I notified the management and insisted on getting a full refund for our stay there as well as medical bills. They did credit our card for the stay but nothing was ever forthcoming for medical.
I understand that this not an uncommon problem in the Bahamas so BEWARE!

  • Stayed: May 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank flybynite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2006

We just got back from six nights at Bluff House. Our room was spacious and right on the sea. It was clean and the housekeeping service did an excellent job. The staff at the Bluff were very friendly, and after just one day I felt like I was at my Golf Club - everyone knew our name, our preferences and went out of their way to make the trip fabulous.

There are a lot of stairs to climb since the hotel is on a cliff. Also, the island has a lot of volcanic rock, which makes walking a little unsteady for older travelers.

The main building has satellite television if you can't resist staying up to date, but it is rarely on. We did eat one dinner in the television room and watched silly american shows with the staff stopping by and laughing with us.

There is a collection of books, but most are very outdated. I recommend bringing lots of reading material and leaving behind the volumes for the next guest.

None of the food was overwhelming, but all was good. Richard, the chef from Amsterdam, is a very nice young man and will work hard to accomodate your tastes.

There is also computer access in the office that was always available. Bahamas DSL is not like US, so expect dial-up speeds.

By the sixth day I felt like a character in the movie "Groundhog Day". Every morning I would go out on our patio, watch the clouds, catch the same beautiful rainbow, feel a slight rain shower for a few minutes, and then the sun and breeze would take over.

One word of note: there are a few cats roaming around. One adopted us, and we enjoyed it, but some may not.

This was a great trip and a great location. If you are fairly fit, very stressed out, and in need of some beautiful downtime, Bluff House is the place to go.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank spx6s87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2006

In fall of 2003, we stayed at the Bluff House during off-season and were upgraded to a Deluxe suite for the same price as the split-level suite we originally booked. Wow. . . the views of the Sea of Abaco through our french doors were simply incredible (see the photos in some of the other reviews) -- it was like being on a cruise ship. We did have some problems with the electricity being off for a few hours one day (on the out-islands this is not unusual), but it was no problem. There are no phones or TV, so be sure to bring your own reading material.

There are a lot of stairs climbing down and up to the main building from the ocean view rooms but it is very good exercise! Steps from our room we could climb down the rocks into the water for excellent snorkeling. I swam all the way along the shore and under the docks there were a lot of fish -- including 2 small nurse sharks! The only problem was that towards the end of our weekend the jellyfish became very numerous and swimming through them became a slalom course. The resort (and the entire island, for that matter) was practically deserted, so it was extremely quiet. Although we explored the island by golf cart, we found that the nicest part of it was right there on the resort. The restaurant by the pool was the only one open, and although the selection was limited because of the off-season, it was very good.

We also rented a small boat one day to explore the nearby deserted cays -- we found some beautiful powder-sand beaches and more conch shells than we could possibly bring home with us. A local houseboat resident gave us a ride on his sportfish boat back to Treasure Cay to catch our plane so we didn't have to take the local ferry. All in all a quiet and beautiful place with the best views you can find anywhere. I do not know if the management has changed since we have been there. However, checking out their website I see that their prices have not gone up that much. And you can't beat the price for these kind of amazing views.

  • Stayed: September 2003, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GreenMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Green Turtle Cay
8.0 mi away
Bahama Beach Club
Bahama Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Treasure Cay
254 reviews
23.8 mi away
The Abaco Club
The Abaco Club
#2 of 6 in Marsh Harbour
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
#2 of 5 in Great Guana Cay
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
8.0 mi away
Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort
0.4 mi away
Green Turtle Club & Marina
Green Turtle Club & Marina
#2 of 2 in Green Turtle Cay
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina

Address: Between the Sea of Abaco and White Sound, Green Turtle Cay (Formerly Bluff House Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Abaco Islands > Green Turtle Cay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Green Turtle Cay
Price Range: £161 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the highest point of Green Turtle Cay, this 12 acre tropical Bahamian paradise stretches from White Sound to the Sea of Abaco. Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina has been described as the "most special piece of property in the Abaco islands." Our spacious and luxurious hotel suites are bright and cheery with overwater balconies. Each room offer direct ocean front views, king size beds, a sofa that pulls out to a queen size bed, dining table, flat screen TV, mini refrigerator, coffee maker, cable TV and free Wi-Fi. Our private white sand beach is just steps away from your room. The Tranquil Turtle Beach Bar is located on our private beach overlooking the Sea of Abaco where guests can swim and lounge. The Tranquil Turtle serves lunch and snacks. Enjoy great island food and tropical drinks on the patio deck. Tie up at our dock or dinghy in to enjoy the stunning sunsets and unsurpassed hospitality. The Ballyhoo Bar & Grill serves delicious breakfast, lunch, and dinner seven days a week. Dine outside on the harbour side deck or inside in our air-conditioned dining room with great views of the water. Lounge by our outdoor swimming pool located adjacent to Ballyhoo. The Low Tide Gift Shop offers a variety of island goodies, resort wear, resort logoed tees, hats & shirts, as well as basic personal care items. Our Front Desk Staff can arrange golf cart rentals, fishing trips, diving excursions and give you tips for the best spots to explore on Green Turtle and the surrounding cays. Inquire about our ever special events and our popular wedding and honeymoon packages Bluff House Beach Resort also offers a 46 slip, full-service Marina that can accommodate vessels up to 120' as well as 6 large catamaran slips. Fuel, gas, ice and bait are available from our docks on White Sound. Complimentary Cable TV and WiFi. Six luxury marble restrooms and 4 luxury showers are available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluff Hotel Beach
Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina Green Turtle Cay, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing