We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Unplugged!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2006

Just returned from an all-too-brief stay at the Bluff House on Green Turtle Cay, and I can not say enough about how wonderful it was. My husband and I have visited many resorts in the Caribbean/Mexico/Central America, and the Bluff House has moved right to the top of my list.

They have the perfect combination of a gorgeous location, terrific staff, and relaxing atmosphere. No phones. No televisions. No e-mail. No crowds (granted, we were there in the off-season, but we had the place to ourselves). For a very stressed-out couple taking a much-needed break from kids and work, it was paradise! We lay in a hammock with our books.... we walked the (empty) beach...we spent the day fishing in secluded coves with a great local guide (Rick Sawyer, from Abaco Flyfishing)...and we watched the sun set from our deck overlooking the Sea of Abaco.

I agree with some of the comments that others have made. The food is fine, but pricey. There's no nightlife (which was fine with us). And the island is VERY quiet. But I definitely disagree with the comments made about Tracy, the operations manager. She (and her staff) bent over backwards to make us happy. Having stayed at other resorts in the islands where service is hard to come by, I was VERY impressed by the staff at the Bluff House. They are true hospitality professionals and if -- as someone noted below -- Tracy "rules with an iron fist", I like the result!

We will be back soon!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank anniesescapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2006

We stayed at the Bluff House the last week in August. There was a problem with the water with our initial room, but Molly was quick to upgrade us to a cottage, which was amazing. Molly works very hard to ensure her guests are satisfied. Unbeknownst to us, the last two weeks in August are considered the "slow season" in GTC, and for the first few days we were practically the only guests staying at the Bluff House. This worked to our favor, as we had the beautiful beach all to ourselves. There is a small reef formation right off the beach at the Bluff House, more like a very large rock; however, when snorkeling, you are sure to find a nice selection of fish, star fish etc. Travel is done by golf cart, but be aware, the road leading from the Bluff House to the main road to town is very bumpy, but made the trip to town all the more interesting. The island is still largely undeveloped. On your way to town, there are plenty of areas to just pull off of the road and check out the "ocean beach" or just go for an adventure. You must go to Gillum Bay, the water there is absolutely beautiful!. It should be said that the island is VERY quiet. I had read that the Bluff House offers live entertainment one night a week. We did not have it during out stay, but probably since the place was mostly vacant. Renee and Whitney are the best! Their service is top notch and they are extremely lovely ladies. The pool are is small but adequate and kept very clean. Overall, I would definitely suggest staying at the Bluff House if you ever find your way to Green Turtle Cay.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank milzey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2006

I loved my stay at the Bluff House. The room was beautiful, spacious, neat, and nicely decorated.The Bluff House offers breathtaking views right on crystal blue waters. It was a little bit deserted but that just added to the feeling that we had a the island all to ourselves. It was unbelievable fun to tool around the island on a golf cart (no cars) which was convieniently located right at the bluff house.

Like the other reviews, restuarant/food was just okay and for such a small island and isolated location, there were not many other easy options. We too have heard this place is being sold.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank emailmeherenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2006

We absolutley loved the Bluff House hotel. Not everything was perfect (some of the rooms were in need of renovating) but everything else was fabulous and the staff were first class. I would heartily recommend the bluff house to anyone wanting a particularly quiet holiday away from everyone else. GTC, is the one of the nicest places we have ever been and the best place we have been in the Caribbean and we are looking forward to returning again next year when we will also stay at the Bluff House.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2006

The location was great.

We had a few roaches in out room, but it looked pretty clean. The food was just OK and the chef seemed to like to check out my wife as she was walking away. The staff was very friendly. The only problem we had was with the manager Tracy. SHe was very rude and ran the place with an iron fist. I think she fired three people while we were there.

We asked if she could book us a fishing trip and she was very rude to us. She also informed us that we were on the bottom of her list because she has several others people that were staying for more that ust 3 nighs. WOw!! I can't believe she said that.

Other that her the place is beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank oubeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher P, Manager at Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

We have new owners and a new team with new guest rooms, renovated restaurants and great service. Please come back and give us an opportunity to wow you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Headley UK
110
Reviewed 22 June 2006

After nearly thirty years travelling around the world's tropical and sub-tropical islands, I can honestly say that Green Turtle Cay (and Bluff House especially) is at the top of the list of our favourite places, bar none.

The balance is perfect for us...tranquil, peaceful, out-island experience, with stunning beaches, excellent food, glorious clear turquoise sea, superb fishing, excellent scuba diving friendly charming local people and staff, yet still civilised enough to enjoy a luxurious holiday without being at all snobby. Most importantly, the beaches...Oh My God! Even at the busiest times of year, yours are the only footprints on the best beaches you could possibly find, anywhere.

We love the fact that we can use a golf cart to travel around the island and also hire a good Boston Whaler boat to self-drive for snorkelling and beach picnics whenever we want. This latter point with boat hire is extremely unusual worldwide and really worth considering. Last time out, we were surrounded by a pod of about 20 dolphins, with at least one little baby in tow. You can also expect to see turtles, rays, sharks (not dangerous here), and a multitude of other marine and bird life.

Another very important factor is that Green Turtle Cay has virtually no crime, so you can feel perfectly safe not locking your hotel room door, or letting your kids roam around at will.

The island is not cheap though, which means that self-catering (which you can do at Bluff House) is a good idea, mixed in with the occasional lunch or night out at one of the two restaurants on site, or travel by golf buggy to a sweet little local bar or restaurant nearby. Don't get the wrong impression though...there are only a few bars and they are very 'out-island', which means simple, fun and charming.

If you want some local music, then there is a cool local band that plays once a week at Bluff House, but this isn't a destination for lovers of bright lights and nightlife...

Think in terms of a veeerrrryyy relaxed atmosphere, mon, and you have it about right.

We once saw the main headline in the local newspaper, which read: "Garbage Truck Nearly Has Accident". That just about says it all.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2006

Spent a week at the Bluff House in May and loved it. I've been to over 20 Caribbean Islands and I'd put Green Turtle Cay up there with the best. Very quiet restful island, gorgeous beaches, very friendly people. Don't come here for a rowdy time.

You get around the island on a golf cart! Really fun and perfect for driving down those dirt beach roads. There are quite a few little places to get tropical drinks such as Pineapples, and dont' miss Miss Emily's Blue Bee.

The Bluff House was a great place to stay, our room was terrific. We had an upper level deluxe room, king size bed, couch, table with 2 chairs and french doors out to a big balcony overlooking the ocean. There's a coffee maker and small fridge. The balcony had nice padded outdoor chairs, although I saw some units had chaise lounges. Everything is clean and neat, housekeepers do a great job everyday.

The beach needed to be maintained a little better, not very inviting. Pool area is great.
The Jolly Roger has incredible drinks, food is pretty good. Bar-b-q night is fabulous!!!
Chicken, ribs, lobster tails, beef, salads and dessert. The main restaurant is too expensive for what you get.

Tracy is the manager there and works herself to the bone to keep the guests happy. The staff will remember your name and anyone is more than willing to help you in any way they can.

Bring cash to this island, no ATM and the bank is only open 4 hours a week. A lot of small shops and restaurants don't take credit cards. You don't need anything dressy unless you're eating in the main restaurant at the Bluff House or at the Green Turtle Club, and even then, slacks and a clean jersey will do.

We had a great time here and we'd definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SunJamaica6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Green Turtle Cay
23.8 mi away
The Abaco Club
The Abaco Club
#2 of 6 in Marsh Harbour
37 reviews
8.0 mi away
Bahama Beach Club
Bahama Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Treasure Cay
254 reviews
16.1 mi away
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
#2 of 5 in Great Guana Cay
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
8.0 mi away
Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort
24.1 mi away
Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina

Address: Between the Abaco Sea & White Sound, Green Turtle Cay (Formerly Bluff House Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Abaco Islands > Green Turtle Cay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Green Turtle Cay
Price Range: £160 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the highest point of Green Turtle Cay, this 12 acre tropical Bahamian paradise stretches from White Sound to the Sea of Abaco. Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina has been described as the "most special piece of property in the Abaco islands." Our spacious and luxurious hotel suites are bright and cheery with overwater balconies. Each room offer direct ocean front views, king size beds, a sofa that pulls out to a queen size bed, dining table, flat screen TV, mini refrigerator, coffee maker, cable TV and free Wi-Fi. Our private white sand beach is just steps away from your room. The Tranquil Turtle Beach Bar is located on our private beach overlooking the Sea of Abaco where guests can swim and lounge. The Tranquil Turtle serves lunch and snacks. Enjoy great island food and tropical drinks on the patio deck. Tie up at our dock or dinghy in to enjoy the stunning sunsets and unsurpassed hospitality. The Ballyhoo Bar & Grill serves delicious breakfast, lunch, and dinner seven days a week. Dine outside on the harbour side deck or inside in our air-conditioned dining room with great views of the water. Lounge by our outdoor swimming pool located adjacent to Ballyhoo. The Low Tide Gift Shop offers a variety of island goodies, resort wear, resort logoed tees, hats & shirts, as well as basic personal care items. Our Front Desk Staff can arrange golf cart rentals, fishing trips, diving excursions and give you tips for the best spots to explore on Green Turtle and the surrounding cays. Inquire about our ever special events and our popular wedding and honeymoon packages Bluff House Beach Resort also offers a 46 slip, full-service Marina that can accommodate vessels up to 120' as well as 6 large catamaran slips. Fuel, gas, ice and bait are available from our docks on White Sound. Complimentary Cable TV and WiFi. Six luxury marble restrooms and 4 luxury showers are available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluff Hotel Beach
Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina Green Turtle Cay, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing