We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Staniel Cay Yacht Club
Nearby Hotels
US$380
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$342
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
EMBRACE Resort(George Town)
No availability for your dates from our partners
No availability for your dates from our partners
Embrace Resort(Staniel Cay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveller rating
325
79
17
3
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
325
79
17
3
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsall inclusive packagenurse sharksthunderball grottothe cottagesswimming pigsland and seaflamingo airlobsterwatermaker airkey limegolf cartall inclusive planbigger boatbox lunchfresh catchorange cottagesteering wheel
Filter
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 434 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Do not go looking for the RITZ service or environment. Do go looking for non-stop adventure, once in a lifetime experiences and sights you can see nowhere else in the world, fabulous food (and I am a foodie), locals that will become friends, blue water like you've never seen (anywhere). Our party of 6 adults and 6 kids (ages 8-14) deemed it "best trip ever" even though they had no TVs, or access to wifi...they were never bored. We swam with sharks on site, played ring toss, rode bikes and golf carts around the island and had access to very nice paddle boards (all on site). By boat, we snorkeled thunder ball grotto, fed swimming pigs, snorkeled wrecked planes, visited iguanas, and went to deserted beaches you'd only imagine in your dreams. If you are a diver, meet Jake and dive with Staniel Cay Divers located on site....Jake could not have been any nicer to our boys...just a great guy! Carl and David at the bar are great (at drink making and DJing). By guided tour, we went to the land and sea park for great snorkeling and land adventure and Compass Cay. Our guides were Breadboy, Fatcat and Foodie, all fantastic! guides. Go visit Big Dog too (just down the road) for some great stories! A bucket list trip for sure....we all cannot wait get back there.

Room Tip: Ocean Blue has a great marina view, orange cottage feels like you are in the ocean...great views!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carrows5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Love this place - we flew into Staniel Cay, hopped on a complimentary golf buggy (drives on the left!) and had a wonderful few days. Pig Beach and Thunderball Caves are jaw-dropping. The island only has two restaurants - the one at SCYC and one other quaint beachside one....Wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My husband and I spent 7 nights at Staniel Cay Yacht Club...we stayed in the orange cottage...cozy,clean and comfortable..The staff was awesome..very helpful..the food was great..no complaints..whatever you needed or wanted...peaceful and relaxing...no worries about time or cell phones ringing....wifi is slower than a snail but that was perfect for us...We went out daily on our boat and enjoyed visiting smaller beaches and island...the swimming pigs on great major island was a true fantasy come true....lots of snorkleling,paddle board,and kayaking if you want...plan on returning next year..THANKS HAD A WONDERFUL TIME....

Room Tip: I like the small cottages on the water
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Beautiful place, the location, the food and the people are incredible. Going around with the boat and choosing every day your own beach is an experience that you will never forget. Also unforgettable is the people who take care of you at the restaurant and the food was delicious every night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Enrique F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed in the "yellow cottage" which was as shell we say "cowboyed up". There is a very unattractive beach that is near the road (as all the runoff goes on the beach). So to get around you need a boat. They provide beat up all to hell, hard starting boston whalers (13' long). I'm sure more than one person has gotten stranded, never mind that they ran out of fuel so there goes the boat. I rented a larger boat from a local but it cost me a bundle. The famous "thunderball" cave is near the property but be aware that a very strong current runs through there and the cave can only be visited during slack tide. The "swimming pigs" were the bomb, we were lucky, there were small ones when we visited, but you need...you guessed it a boat. The lack of a decent boat keeps us from going back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StanielCayYachtClub, Owner at Staniel Cay Yacht Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

There are a couple of statements in this review which we feel need addressing. First, the boats - yes, we do have 13' whalers that are included in our package plan with most of our bungalows. Some are easier to start than others and this can be due both to the individual motors as well as to the experience of the individual boater. When a particular guest is having trouble with a boat, we try very hard to either fix the issue, show them what they might be doing wrong, or give them an alternate boat. We cannot say for sure what happened in this case as this visit was nearly a full year ago. But it is also worth mentioning that 5 of our 14 bungalows do come with 17’ boats with key-starts for those more comfortable with this alternative. Local rentals are indeed pricey, we would agree.

We would, however, disagree with the characterization of the adjacent beach as "unattractive". Of course this is a matter of opinion, but we find that our guests normally love this beach. The sand is white and there is no current. It is where we store our paddle boards and kayaks. It is also protected from the prevailing easterly winds which makes it calm and therefore very popular with our guests who have small children (it is also directly adjacent to the property so in very close proximity). It is not clear to us what is meant in the review by “runoff.” In a hard rain (which is actually very seldom), the rain that hits the "road" (keep in mind that this road is only 12 feet wide with sandy shoulders on both sides) of course will settle on either side of it. On the beach side, the rain water first soaks away into the shoulder, then into the line of boulders that forms the border between the road and the beach, and then into the sand itself. But of course, the rainwater is actually very clean (not the murky, polluted rivers and streams that drain into the ocean in many other parts of the world). In any event, if the beach did not live up to this reviewer's expectations, we can only point out that most of our guests really enjoy this beach for all of the above reasons. The Yellow Bungalow is the only one with direct access out of its back door and onto this beach.

With regard to the characterization of the Yellow Bungalow as the "sewage cottage" and "cowboyed up," we are at a loss to explain what this means. If the title of the review is referring to the plumbing issue we had in this bungalow a year or two ago, we can only say (as we did at the time) that this problem was permanently fixed and there has been no recurrence. However, this reviewer did not mention any problem with sewage so we do not know why the title of their review would imply that there was such an issue. We would end this response by pointing out that our Yellow Bungalow is actually one of our more popular accommodations due to its proximity to the beach and its "nestled-in" feel among the silver buttonwoods. As there are numerous pictures of the Yellow Bungalow and the adjacent beach on our website, we encourage readers to have a look at these (and other photos posted by guests on this site and others) and draw their own conclusions.

Sincerely,
David Hocher, Owner
Staniel Cay Yacht Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews