We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the location only” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Staniel Cay Yacht Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Staniel Cay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Staniel Cay Yacht Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Staniel Cay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Go for the location only”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have just come back from 4 days at Staniel Cay. We stayed in Seagrape whilst our friends stayed in Buttonwood. These are two of the newere chalets overlooking the marina and are almost perfect in every way. Good size room, bathroom and closet, Fridge, air-con and a lovely view over the marina. Restaurant is not so good - service extremely slow even by Bahamian standards and food not so good especially in the evening. But don't focus on that - Staniel Cay is in the middle of the most amazing set of islands and features. We went out on the boat every day to feed the piggies (watch out for their teeth), visited the iguanas, swam with nurse sharks and Compass Point and spent a lazy day on a sandbank. the only other place on earth I have visited that comes close to this is the Maldives. Just awesome!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelbug250870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    73
    17
    3
    8
See reviews for
69
213
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed in the Yellow Cottage which was an octagonal shaped room with a connecting bathroom. The view out the back sliding door was of the beach and the water. Very relaxing! The cottage was comfortable for our family of four as we had a king bed and a day bed with a trundle underneath. Would've been nice to have a little more room for storage as I could only unpack three of our suitcases. On that note, I totally overpacked. They can do laundry for you for a reasonable fee within 48 hours. Favorite staff were Darcy Mae (housekeeper) and Rhonda (waitress). The color named cottages are perfect for families with kiddos as the pool is just at your front door. It was great fun to take the paddleboards (or a kayak) out and paddle with the nurse sharks and rays. I compliment SCYC on getting in several new kayaks and I do hope they will invest in some new bikes. The current selection is most tired and rusted and the chains do not stay on them. Most frustrating to take a family bike ride around the island when you have to constantly stop to fix chains. If you have children under 7 or 8, you won't find a bike at the YC that will fit your kiddo. Boating was fun and I'll comment more on neighboring island highlights in the SC forum. We had the inclusive package and the meals were so generous especially at breakfast. I might next time NOT get the inclusive and just split meals. Service was overall fine but not at lunch time. It took 30 mins to order food and then another 30 mins to get lunch. Breakfast and dinner always had great service, but lunch was not organized at all!! We did take the boat out daily but honestly we would've been happy renting a golf cart and tooling around to the local beaches a couple of days. THANKS SCYC for a great week! And compliments also to Carl, a great friendly bartender and jack of all trades as he's also the baggage handler and a taxi driver!

Room Tip: Any of the colored named cottages are great for families due to close proximity to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SLVpartyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
190 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed four nights, 3 nights in lavender with the package and one night in blue without the package. The cottages were very similar and no reason to recommend one over the other. They rooms were clean, well maintained, air conditioning worked and beds were comfortable.
The boats were right outside and easy to get to, use and enjoy. The 13 foot whaler is slightly too small so it makes for a rough ride if there is any tide. After three days I wish I would have asked for a larger one.
The food worked. It is structured with breakfast not open till 8 am and dinner at 730 pm. Service was varied based on the server. The steak was a pleasant surprise but the fish was disappointing. Breakfast was simple and very good. I really should not have bought the package it didn't net out.
Location is remote and perfect for having lots of activities both on resort and by boat with the iguanas, swimming pigs, tame nurses sharks, and many pleasant beaches and islands to visit. I got to Staniel Cay via flamingo air.

Overall, it was a fantastic visit and would highly recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveling_Beee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
246 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Many visits to Staniel Cay but continue to go back. The rooms have now been renovated and are very comfortable and clean as well as being much more modern. Loved the new concrete counter tops and the nice cold aircondition. Staniel Cay is in a great location, a coin toss from Thunderball Caves, close to the Piggies dinner at Fowl Cay and short ride from Compass Cay marina. If you are flying in Watermakers from Ft Lauderdale is the way to get there, once you arrive i would recommend renting a small boat if you are a boater and feel comfortable navigating or have one of the local guides take you around , this can be organized with the hotel. The Yacht Club has very good food to and a fun place to hang out. Plus you never know what celebrity may show up on any given night!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelthroughmyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Staniel Cay Yacht Club is seriously one of the most incredible, unique places I've ever been. My parents were doing some cruising on their boat and ended up there around Christmas/New Years in 2008. My boyfriend and I booked a trip down to meet up with them and stayed in the cottages. The yacht club (that term, "yacht club," sounds douchey in and of itself but Staniel Cay is so laid back and chill, it couldn't be douchey if it tried) is the central part of the island. It is the yacht club, the marina, the restaurant, the hotel, the bar, the concierge, the snorkel/fishing equipment spot, the boat rentals, they own the water system and the main airline that flies you in from FL...almost the entire island IS the Staniel Cay Yacht Club. The waterfront cottages were amazing. Very private, reasonably priced, airy, clean and they leave fresh fruit on your porch for you every morning. Everyone working there was great. Eager to help (on island-time) and laid back. The restaurant has a daily pre-fix dinner, which you have to let them know about earlier in the day because everything's caught fresh and made to order, but they serve small bites and snacks all day. We were there for New Years' and got to experience their famous Pirate Party which was so much fun. I loved walking around the island, picked up some Cocobread from the Yellow House and a photo album from Lindsay's (we share a name how could I not show some love?), grabbed a rum and coke at Club Thunderball. If you have a dinghy or rent a small boat, you can pretty much pull up to ANY beach on the island and it's instantly your own private tropical beach paradise for the day. Be mindful of the tides, though, the water around the island can get really shallow if you're not careful. Don't miss a ride out to Big Major to see the pigs. If you ask the kitchen guys at the yacht club nicely, they'll give you some scraps to feed them. My parents ended up staying there for a few weeks at the dock because they loved it so much. At least a few times a year, I pull out my photo album and get nostalgic. One day we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LindseyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I really wish I could just write a bad review and scare everyone away so booking can be easier, but I just don't have it in me.

This was our second visit (the first was two years ago) to SCYC, and we already know that it still won't be our last! Again, if you are looking for a resort/spa/all-inclusive atmosphere, please go somewhere else. This is a laid-back, slow down, make your own fun and be a pirate type of place. Yes, we did lose water and power some of the time, but hey, you just gotta roll with it.

This time around, we opted for a golf cart for the first day, and spent it cruising around the island, stopping at various beaches, and having a blast. We were on the boat the rest of the week and enjoyed seeking out sandbars to relax and snorkel. Swimming with the sharks at Compass Cay was awesome, Pipe Creek sandbars, feeding the piggies is always a thrill (loved the piglets on the beach this year!), and even the iguanas were entertaining (sacrifice your fruit cups from your box lunch and you won't be sorry!).

As for the food, drinks, and service....impeccable!! Lobster most nights, fresh catch and lamb were also excellent! When I read posts about poor service, I just shake my head; every single one of our waitresses was happy and pleasant. Carl (I think he clones himself, as he is there all of the time!) as usual, made fantastic drinks, and the ladies in the check in/out hut went out of their way to make sure that everything went as smoothly as possible. A huge shout out to Chubby, who not only helped us start our boat the last day, but even rode with us to the marina to get some new parts for it, changing them out quickly so we could get out to our sandbars!

We stayed in the Orange cottage this time, and my only complaint about the older cottages is this: please, please please get the 17 ft. boats with the steering wheel and key start for all of the cottages, not just the new ones. Although we were on a waiting list for a bigger boat, everything was booked solid, so we had to be content with the smaller one, which can be tricky in choppy water. Next time, hopefully.....

Once again, a most fabulous trip; until we meet again!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SUEzq65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
417 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Overall, Staniel Cay and this area of the Exumas was great. The marina / Yacht club itself was just OK as they didn't have any electric for the three days we were there and no water on the docks either. The entire island was out of power (only the restaurant and bar had electric). Everyone running on generators on their boats, so noisier than you'd like but it's the Bahamas.

All nearby attractions were great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trvlchnnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staniel Cay
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
0.0 mi away
South Caicos Ocean & Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Nathan's Lodge
Nathan's Lodge
#4 of 23 in Andros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Harbor Breeze Villas
Harbor Breeze Villas
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royalton Negril
0.0 mi away
Squires Estate
Squires Estate
#3 of 16 in Eleuthera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staniel Cay Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staniel Cay Yacht Club

Property: Staniel Cay Yacht Club
Address: Staniel Cay | Exuma Cays, Bahamas, 00001, Staniel Cay
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Staniel Cay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Staniel Cay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soothe your body, mind and soul with small island charm. Let one of our beautifully decorated cottages be your relaxing home while in the Exumas. Your balcony will literally overhang the clearest waters in the world. Secluded beaches. Incredible SCUBA, snorkeling, fishing and kayaking. Delicious cuisine. Inviting pool and sundeck. Friendly island bar. Full-service marina and 3,000’ airstrip. "Watermakers Air" provides convenient flights to Staniel Cay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Staniel Cay Yacht Club Hotel Staniel Cay
Staniel Cay Yacht Club Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing