We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for Costs Brava and Figueres”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palau-Saverdera
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great base for Costs Brava and Figueres”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We chose this place due to the good Trip Advisor reviews and it seemed like a good base location for visiting the area - Palau as a town doesn't have much of interest, although there are some reasonable restaurants close by. We stayed for three nights and visited Figures, Cadaques, Roses and St Pere du Rodes Monastery (a must see).

The rooms are clean, spacious and modern, ours (Pear) had a small terrace overlooking the main street. Breakfasts are fantastic with fresh fruit, squeeze your own orange juice (electric juicer), breads, cakes, cheeses, and even a whole jamon (ham) to slice yourself. We ate in the restaurant one night, which was OK, but the food was better at Terranvoa and Nou Fusion which are both close by.

Merce, the owner, is incredibly helpful with recommendations in the area, and even for the part of France we were heading for when we left. Hotel is highly recommended, Palau as a town, not so much.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiekpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M19B19, Propietario at Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion. It's a pleasure to realise that people from the other side of the planet can enjoy in our inn and be satisfied with our job. A big hug. Mercè.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    38
    2
    5
    2
See reviews for
27
129
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We were on a cycling vacation and stayed here for three nights as part of our trip which was arranged by the bike touring company. Merce, the owner was amazing over the top in helping us make the most of our trip and our location in Palau Saverdera. Our daughter is a vegetarian and Merce arranged to cook evening vegetarian meals. We had not stayed at a "rural" hotel previously but we hope to be able to return here. The rooms are lovely. We had a very cold night (unusual in May) and Merce even built us a fire in the living room! We will always remember this delightful accommodation and hope to be able to return.

Room Tip: See if Merce has a room available in the original part of the accommodation. These rooms are charmi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillytraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niudesol, Propietario at Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
I want to thank you for your excellent opinion. I'm very grateful because you tasted our new dinner menu. As you realized, we've no problems with vegetarian meals. Fireplace creates a warm and relaxed atmosphere and we try to transmit it in all details in order to make guests more comfortable. I hope you can be able getting back again. Mercè.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Niu De Sol is a small, relaxed, beautifully presented family hotel that combines traditional Spanish hospitality of a very high standard with modern décor and high standards of cleanliness and service. The kindliness of Mercedès, the owner, and her interest in the individual needs of her guests makes one feel instantly at home and her attention to detail is impeccable.

If you want something near to all the amenities, yet private and away from it all, in a very well-kept Spanish village with a good range of high quality restaurants that is in easy reach of Cadaques and Figuerès and that is only 10 minutes drive from the beach at Roses then Niu de Sol is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geek2geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niudesol, Propietario at Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion. I appreciate very much your commentaries about our traditional hospitality, our décor and high standards of cleanliness and service. It is great that you find these items high standards. They are also for me!

Thank you again for having chosen our place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Great rural hotel in the village of Palau Saverdera in North East Spain. The owner (Merce) is very attentive and provides great tourist advice on request.

The rooms are clean and spacious (some have balconies) and there is a shared sun terrace at the top of the building where you can spend time relaxing.

Our room was simply furnished in a contemporary way and the en suite had a great shower.
The breakfast has a great selection of cold foods and the owner makes a local cake which is really lovely.

There is a small lounge and library that guests can access and computer access to the WWW.

I highly recommend a visit.

There is also a number of restaurants in the village providing good food at various prices.

Room Tip: Call and speak to the owner direct to find out about room availability
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broomhillbillys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niudesol, Propietario at Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
That's an excellent summary! I'm very grateful. If you come again, don't forget the spectacular twilight from the upper terrace and the panoramic views over Roses Bay. Thank you very much for your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We only had one night here ( on a walking holiday ) but would love to stay longer. It was a Monday and very quiet, but we were told of a really great restaurant nearby. The room was comfortable and had everything you could ask for........and the breakfast was splendid with good coffee and the best-ever croissants and bread and lots more.

Room Tip: they are probably all as nice as ours
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walshjs43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niudesol, Propietario at Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
I want to thank for your favorable review. Fortunately most of the guests leave the hotel with good vibrations and they would to come back again. I hope it is the same with you. I would like to remember to our guests that you can choose the room if you book directly.

One day is not enough!

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed here for three nights, and were extremely happy. Merce is incredibly friendly and helpful, the room was a decent size, the rooftop terrace was lovely and the balcony from our room was great for people-watching on the village's main street. The bottles of water and madeleines in our room were a lovely touch, and unexpected for Spain. The honesty bar was really handy, too.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niudesol, Propietario at Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Happiness is what we want create in our guest’s heart. If you keep good memories, we have done well the job. Thanks a lot for your opinion. (I love what is unexpected, I apreciate very much your words).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Like previous reviewer stayed here for two nights as part of a walking holiday. Thankfully our experience was quite different. Lovely room with a kettle and bottles of water to make a drink which was a nice touch. Everything we needed including all sorts of bathroom supplies which was great. Room was quite dark but charmingly decorated, as was the rest of the hotel which gave a nice calm ambience. Pleasant roof terrace with sunloungers affording views across Bay of Roses. Great breakfast with plenty of choice and delicious evening meals (no choice of starter or main course)- that did not matter to us but included wine which did!. We were asked if we wanted to eat earlier than advertised 9pm so ate at 8pm instead which was better for us. Our limited Spanish was not laughed at and our attempts seemed appreciated. Merle was a lovely hostess and made us feel very welcome. The small town was pleasant to stay in for a couple of days for relaxation and was almost deserted during our stay. We took the local bus to Figueres and visited the Dali Museum which we enjoyed, although if travelling during high season as we did you will have to be prepared to queue.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelandSteve56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niudesol, Propietario at Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thanks for your excellent opinion about our hotel. We are delighted offering the best atmosphere.
We try to adapt to the needs of our guests and, as your case shows, we often succeed.

Sometimes paradise is in a cup of tea. Smiling always is free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palau-Saverdera
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mas Lazuli
Hotel Mas Lazuli
#1 of 1 in Pau
250 reviews
5.1 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 36 in Roses
437 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Spa Cap de Creus
Hotel Spa Cap de Creus
#1 of 4 in El Port de la Selva
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Carmen Hotel
Carmen Hotel
#3 of 36 in Roses
329 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Spa Porto Cristo
Hotel Spa Porto Cristo
#2 of 4 in El Port de la Selva
220 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Playa Sol
Hotel Playa Sol
#1 of 13 in Cadaques
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural

Property: Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural
Address: Nou 34, 17495 Palau-Saverdera, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Palau-Saverdera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palau-Saverdera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic hotel in the heart of the Costa Brava, 5 minutes from the sea at Roses. When you arrive you will realize how well situated we are, close to the best beaches, to Dali Museum, to Cadaques and less than 1 hour from Ryanair Girona airport. You will realize also that your choice was correct because at Niu de Sol you will sleep well, you will enjoy a great breakfast and you will be assisted by the owner to choose the best place to visit, to eat, to swim... There are 8 comfortable and charming, designed rooms, some with a private cosy terrace and big beds. All are personalized and decorated in a rustic style with your comfort in mind. The hotel, restored in 2008 offers a family atmosphere- helpful and homely. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing