We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stopover” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beaufort Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beaufort Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Raglan
Stoke-on-trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great stopover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stopped overnight on way down to South Wales and thought it was a lovely place with good food .Although we had pre booked our evening meal we decided to eat in the less formal bar area as it was late when we arrived . As vegetarians we chose mushroom soup and the home cooked cheese and leek ' sausages' and they were a really good choice but I think 'croquettes ' is a better description ! Breakfast was served in the dining room -again good food and lovely room .We would have preferred to eat breakfast a little later as it was Sunday but 9am is the latest time offered !

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 which had a good view ( opposite the church) . Quite spacious and clean with nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Finsbury15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    85
    53
    32
    9
See reviews for
53
116
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Visited on Sunday evening and the experience was definitely not up to usual standards service still good but food has gone downhill feels like new chef far too much fennel overpowering and disrupting flavours menu also gone backwards work to be done

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaufort20, Owner at Beaufort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Richard

Thank you for your observations on Sunday evening even though one of the dishes was not to your taste. Yes, we do have a new Head Chef from a 2 rosette background who believes like ourselves in fresh quality ingredients cooked well and to order. So far there have been many compliments both verbal and via social media about his food, presentation and menu choices. We hope that with your obvious delight in food you will be joining them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Above average pub food. Good ingredients well cooked, good flavours. A bit limited for vegetarians I noticed. The menus can be seen online.
It was a busy Tuesday lunchtime, the staff were lovely but the service was painfully slow and it was an almost unbearably long wait for the food,this explaines my average rating As a place to eat if you are passing through the area visiting Raglan Castle and surrounds it is a good choice.
Location is ideal for a visit to the large bustling village of Raglan which has a high street and some interesting shops. Very much a rural farming area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank angelaqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just had a lovely full course meal, out standing staff very helpful and polite. Meals we'll priced good size meals. Would highly recommend, the pulled pork burger is highly recommended, followed by the the Eton Mess dessert. We then retired to the bar where we had a relaxing drink after meal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blockley, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

If you are heading west to Wales , it is worth making a detour off the A40 trunk road to The Beaufort Raglan ,situated just a few miles east of Abergavenny. A 16th century coaching inn with historic links to Raglan Castle ,it combines atmosphere and memorabilia with a contemporary brasserie style dining room that features a modern menu and thoughtful wine list.This part of Wales is brim full of ruined castles which can be explored from the Beaufort Raglan which has a good sized car park.

Room Tip: The front rooms look over the Church and the hills beyond
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Called at The Beaufort Arms Hotel on the way back from Devon, for a spot of lunch. Good choice on our behalf, the food was very good, cooked to perfection and well presented and plenty of it, at a reasonable price.The Staff were very friendly and efficient, a very welcoming establishment, well worth a visit if you are in the area. Another one for our list of premises to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Best meal out this year. The brasserie and the meal was superb. Hoping to visit again. Staff were very attentive and professional. The restaurant staff were very attentive and the quality of the food was superb. Breakfast was equally as impressive.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Colire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raglan
3.8 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
4.9 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
8.1 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
8.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
14.1 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort Arms Hotel

Property: Beaufort Arms Hotel
Address: High Street, Raglan NP15 2DY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Raglan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Raglan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beaufort Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beaufort is under new ownership since October 2015 and has had a vast refurbishment throughout. The rooms in the main hotel building have been tastefully decorated with rich sumptuous medieval colours whilst the Coach House has a fresh "New England" style decor. The inn oozes quality and old world charm. The food is brasserie style with a Mediterranean twist and you can see the fresh fish and seafood on display in the lovely display counter at the restaurant entrance. There are 2 course lunch and evening special menus which are very good value and a full a la carte menu complemented by a vast wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Beaufort Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaufort Arms Raglan
Beaufort Arms Hotel Raglan, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing