We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was really really nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clearvewe Usk Luxury eco Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Llangwm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We booked the Bryony room for a weekend's break in November 2012. After getting lost a couple of times we arrived on a cold and wet winters evening. We were made extremely welcome by the owner who ushered us in, made us tea and started up the wood burner. The B&B itself is separate from the main house and holds 3 bedrooms with en suite bathrooms all linked by a central common room which contains kitchenette, sofas, tv and a bookshelf. The B&B is warm and beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The owners made every effort to accommodate us and served up the most fantastic english breakfast with home baked bread and home made jam. The owners 2 dogs were absolutely charming and were delighted if you could spare the time to play ball with them! (But if you're not a fan of dogs don't be put off, they were very well behaved!)
The local area was beautiful and offered some fantastic walks and there were plenty of local pubs for dinner. The owners are all too happy to advise on local activities and eateries. All in all a really fantastic weekend!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2012

We stayed in the Bryony room which was fantastic - the bed was comfy and the sheets were really luxurious. The bath was as lovely as it looked and the underfloor heating throughout meant you were quite happy to comply with the no shoes policy! Fresh bread was baked for us each morning meaning you wake up to this lovely smell throughout the cottage. Our hosts were so friendly and the cooked breakfast - especially the local sausages - was great. There are dogs on the property which we loved as it made it feel like a home from home. It's all the finishing touches that make this place fabulous - like the book in the living room explaining all the eco friendly stuff they did there.

It is tucked out on a hill in the middle of nowhere so if you want to go for dinner, it's a bit hard to do if both of you fancy a drink. The bar staff at the local pub - the Greyhound - were kind enough to drive us home after we walked there one evening. I would recommend going into Usk to go the farmer's market when it's on and we had a fantastic meal at the Three Salmons although it was a little pricey.

Room Tip: Definitely the Bryony room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

My partner and I stayed for two nights in "Bryony" and found it cosy and charming. The cottage was beautiful and we enjoyed the use of the shared living room - there was only one other (very pleasant) couple staying with whom we shared a bottle of wine in front of the wood burner. There was a good selection of books and games to while away rainy days/evenings and the bedroom was simple but luxurious. We loved the roll-top bath, fluffy towels and locally-made toiletries and the down duvet and pillows were wonderful. Our hosts were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was delicious and exactly what we wanted. We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The location and barn conversion is excellent and very well done. The rooms are tastefully decorated, very clean and private enough given the shared nature of the barn. The breakfast was locally sourced and generous. Rachel and Andy are excellent hosts. We had a great time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We were lucky to have the sun shining which really set off the surroundings but I imagine it would be beautiful in any season. The place itself was warm and cosy and the whole place has a wonderful tranquil and calming feel. Rachel and Andy were very friendly and personable and we are looking at going with the whole family next time. Thank you for a wonderfull stay!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Clearvewe is in a fantastic location, set among the gently rolling Monmouthshire hills. Our hosts, Rachel and Andy, were generous and welcoming. The accommodation was warm and comfortable - wood burner in lounge, underfloor heating, lashings of hot water. The food was incredibly local and organic, sourced from their own stock or nearby. There's a Wildlife Trust nature reserve five minutes walk away, but if that's too far (shame on you), the views from the cottage are splendid. The local town, Usk, is full of history and interest.

Room Tip: Walks and nature on the doorstep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Wonderful location; an extremely restful break. We needed to get away from it all and this was just the place to do that. Rachel and Andy were very accomodating by giving us a late breakfast on both mornings (so we could sleep in) and for that we were massively grateful!

Room Tip: Blackthorn has a great shower in a wet room with plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangwm
2.8 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
7.8 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
534 reviews
2.5 mi away
Three Salmons Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Llangeview Lodge
Llangeview Lodge
#2 of 11 in Usk
69 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Olway Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearvewe Usk Luxury eco Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearvewe Usk Luxury eco Bed and Breakfast

Address: Ty Wilson Barn, Llangwm, Usk NP15 1LT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk > Llangwm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llangwm
Price Range: £80 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clearvewe Usk Luxury eco Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described in the Independent as one of the "Five best hotels for hikes" and in the Observer as one of "25 ways to do Wales in Style." All en-suite rooms offer luxurious accommodation in a converted barn along with an open plan lounge, dining area where breakfast is served including bacon and sausages from our own Tamworth pigs. Visit clearvewe's site to book direct. We are now carbon neutral so come and indulge yourself with a clear conscience! Features include: • luxury en-suite rooms • cast iron baths • stone floors • underfloor heating • mosaic wet room • wood burning stove • eco hot water & heating • green dragon award • kingsize • latex mattresses • organic bedding • wi-fi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Clearvewe Usk Luxury eco Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clearvewe Usk Luxury Eco Bed And Breakfast Llangwm, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing