We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the range food”
Review of The Whitebrook

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitebrook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Whitebrook
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitebrook
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had a spring saver night away at the Crown. It included a 7 course taster meal. The meal was amazing and the owner showed such passion for his food and for the wines they served. Service by all members of staff was top class and the atmosphere was nothing short of completely relaxing. Super little touches like warm welsh cakes brought to the room as soon as we arrived.
Only downside for me was the room we were in was quite small for the prices they charge and was a little disappointing, however very clean and comfortable. Could have done with a little fridge for the fresh milk delivered on arrival which was past its best for our early morning cuppa. Breakfast were superb too and plenty of choice with the best quality food used.

Room Tip: Apparently larger rooms are available! First floor rooms face the valley whereas we were in the roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KizzyHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Visited the "restaurant with rooms" with friends for a gastro evening. The meal was fantastic - each course was delicious, and the taster plates were always a welcome surprise. The rooms are quite "bijou", and could probably do with a bit more character, however they were spotlessly clean, and very comfortable. Highly recommended, another Welsh gem to be proud of.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank campingchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This "restaurant with rooms" was impossible to fault. From the warm welcome with home made welsh cakes, to the wonderful setting, comfortable room and fabulous food, we had a lovely stay. We will definitely be back.

Advice would be to take some robust footwear as the walks around the hotel are beautiful, but a bit muddy underfoot. Otherwise, enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mibbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

After much anticipation we booked a meal and overnight stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary in January. We have often done this over the past few years and were particularly pleased that it had reopened. Sadly when we rang just before we set off to check what time we were booked for dinner we were told our told that our booking had been lost. There was a large party now installed but if we still wanted to come they had a small basic room instead of the superior one we'd booked and we could eat in a separate room - we declined. So sad and disappointed - we have still not plucked up courage to rebook and the mixed reviews are making us still more cautious. Was too upset at the time but now am a bit perplexed by the absence of even a bunch if flowers or any compensation just an email saying their booking system was new.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank KerryDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was our third (or possibly fourth) visit to this magical place. We'd heard of all the problems that had hit the previous proprietors, so wondered how it was getting on under the new owner and chef, Chris Harrod.
No amount of strife can affect the unique beauty of this location. It's just so quiet, so peaceful, and so full of natural beauty. You go to sleep to the babble of the eponymous brook in the valley outside, and wake to the sound of birdsong. We went for walk, which takes you up into the hills behind the Crown, and brings you back down on the road a mile or so away; wish we'd taken the appropriate footwear as, not surprisingly, it got more than a little wet underfoot. But it still made a splendid appetiser, and pre-prandial drinks put us in the mood for dinner.
Which was worth waiting for, and memorably delicious. My starter was plump mackerel - perhaps a touch lacking in flavour, but beautifully presented - and other half had the squab pigeon, which she pronounced 'perfect' (it can sometimes have a texture akin to uncooked hot-water bottle). Both of us went for the beef for our main, a cut called 'feather-bone', which requires long, long, slow cooking. This was truly amazing - melting in the mouth in the most sensual way, and packed with flavour. Generous portions too, which is good, because I'm greedy.
Deserts lived up with ease to the same standard, the only quibble being that my wife thought the description of her wonderful lemony, elderflowery, creamy, apply thing was too vague; but you can see the problem - how do you put that into words? All of this was preceded by delicious canapes and amuse bouches, and accompanied by a very nice South African white.
In the morning we were served by a lovely Spanish guy. The breakfast lived totally up to expectations; and a special mention for the coffee, which was so delicious - velvety smooth yet nice and strong. Our Spanish friend confirmed that a lot of thought had gone into that, with the installation of a super-duper coffee machine; it's paid off!
The Crown is going places now, i.e. straight back to the top where it belongs - but without compromising the friendly charm that makes it so relaxing. It might struggle for write-ups in the nationals, because their food-writers only really want to eat in London, and immediately lapse into sarcastic or patronising mode if they're more than 30miles from Piccadilly. But I'm sure Harrod and his fine team can cope with that! There can't be a lovelier place to spend some time in the whole of the UK.

Room Tip: The front overlooks the road (very quiet) and the brook. The back overlooks the garden, even quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GwynPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We took two friends this time, as it was the husband's birthday this month. Every course of the seven course tasting menu was a delight - no course was just 'average'. I don't know what an earlier reviewer normally eats, but all four of us were full (and not through filling up with the superb bread, either). Good recommendations of wine complemented the experience. We started the evening with Welsh gin (and tonic) which was also very good. Although it is now out of our way here, we will return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Crown was always a top class restaurant so it was very disappointing to see it close last year. I was relieved to hear it had re-opened but wondered if it could reach the same standard. I was very pleasantly surprised, there is no doubt that under the new management The Crown is not only back but its better. The tasting menu was truly outstanding and by some distance the best dining experience I have had on the Welsh side of the Severn. The wine matches were also spot on. I read earlier comments about small portions but this was certainly not my experience and perhaps this has been addressed. Breakfast the following morning was also top class.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank intergoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitebrook
10.3 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
4.3 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
10.7 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
692 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Whitebrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whitebrook

Address: Whitebrook | Near Monmouth, Whitebrook NP25 4TX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Whitebrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitebrook
Price Range: £100 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Whitebrook 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restaurant with rooms set in the beautiful Wye Valley, 5 miles from Monmouth and just an hour from Bristol and Cardiff, The Whitebrook is a haven from the stresses of modern day life.The Whitebrook is an ideal base from which to explore the surrounding Wye Valley and other areas of outstanding natural beauty such as the Brecon Beacons and the Black Mountains, Tintern Abbey on the River Wye and the famous Offa's Dyke path ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Crown At Whitebrook Hotel Whitebrook
Crown Hotel Whitebrook
The Whitebrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing