We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old home”
Review of Rectory Cottage

Rectory Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mamhilad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rectory Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Mamhilad B&B and Inns
Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Lovely old home”
Reviewed 18 October 2010

My mother and I stayed in the twin room at Rectory Cottage early in September, and were delighted with the charm of this restored 17th century barn (the main part of the house is even older). The room itself was spacious and comfortable, and the setting is totally quiet and peaceful. Breakfasts were delicious, and we were pleased to have an opportunity to try traditional Welsh laverbread with scrambled eggs -- this was the only place where we saw it. Bryan and Angela are excellent hosts -- very knowledgeable about the area, sharing information about places to visit and scenic routes to drive. I'd happily stay here again, and would recommend it to anyone travelling in Wales.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NORTH LINCOLNSHIRE
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Very warm welcome.
Accomodation is fantastic, would love to live there forever.
Location is really peaceful with birds and wildlife galore.
Still thinking about the breakfast - we chose the special's, eggs benedict which was fab.
Would not hesitate to recommend and will be back to visit very soon.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KITCHES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2009

Despite being conveniently close to 'civilisation' (and indeed the M4) Rectory Cottage's tranquil setting, nestling at the foot of the Brecon Beacons feels a world away. Clean, comfortably rooms and breakfasts which are a cut above the usual B&B fare enhance its appeal, as does a genuinely warm welcome.

There are several excellent pubs nearby that provide food in the evenings and the location provides a great base for the Brecon Beacons and mountain biking at Cwm Carn.

To top it off Rectory Cottage is excellent value for money. For a small rural B&B it's hard to think of anything more you could ask.

Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonChris71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2006

We stayed one night at this 16th century old bnb, in the Vale of Usk, and wished we could have stay longer! It was perfect in every way.

Our hosts were lovely - happy to chat or leave us alone. We stayed in the twin bedroom, which was spotlessly clean and delightfully furnished. We fell asleep listening to the owls hooting. A full breakfast was on offer and it was fresh and hot.
The cottage is very close to numerous tourist attractions such as Brecon Beacons, Blaenavon, Caerphilly and Tintern Abbey to name just a few. We went for a walk along the canal - about 100 yards away and enjoyed the scenery, but next time we will base ourselves at the cottage as there is so much to do.
The downsides? Well it is off the main road, but the map they provide on their website (---) was sufficient. There is only two eating establishments within walking distance - but how many does one need? And they own a lovely dog - but not everyone is a dog lover.

  • Liked — Location - near a canal
  • Disliked — Location - away from the main road
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Safoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rectory Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rectory Cottage

Property: Rectory Cottage
Address: Rectory Cottage Folly Lane, Mamhilad NP4 0JF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Mamhilad
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mamhilad
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly modernised 16C Grade II listed country home offering welcoming and spacious Visit Wales 4 Star en-suite B&B accommodation. Excellent local inns and restaurants, including The Hardwick and The Foxhunter. Beautiful peaceful 4-acre grounds and views on edge of the Brecon Beacons National Park with ample private parking. Ideal location for exploring National Park and mountain-biking at Cwmcarn. Convenient for Big Pit, Blaenavon World Heritage Site, Roman Caerleon, numerous castles, Tintern Abbey, Wye Valley, Cardiff. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rectory Cottage Mamhilad, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing