We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Wedding and honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bell at Skenfrith
Ranked #1 of 1 Skenfrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
wales
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Amazing Wedding and honeymoon”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We got married here and had our first night a married couple here in their Heckham Peckham Suite. The wedding was beautiful, the marquee looked wonderful and the canapes and timing were great. Our food was superb. 3 years later and our friends still talk of it as some of the best wedding food they have ever tasted! We had wonderful fireworks in the adjacent field and our photographs in Skenfrith castle ruins were wonderful despite the slightly undecided weather (a lovely location for pictures). The suite was gorgeous and every detail is considered. A very comfortable and well appointed Inn full of little luxurious touches. Janet was extremely accomodating and helped us greatly in the planning stages. Breakfast was stunning the next morning, with only the finest local produce in eveidence (the are proud enough to publish all their suppliers). The walks in the woods and by the river are beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creteboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    116
    65
    48
    24
See reviews for
67
296
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Four of us, all senior citizens, took advantage of a Winter Warmer offer and stayed overnight at The Bell in February this year. The hotel is in a fairly remote and very picturesque location and part of the experience of staying there is the beautiful (even in Winter) hill country around Brecon that you drive through to get there.
We (two couples) had booked the attic rooms as they had been recommended to us by other friends who had stayed there before. They were more than just bedrooms being, in effect, mini suites. Each had a decent sized, comfortably furnished bedroom linked to the spacious bathroom by a small separate lounge area. An ideal place to have your pre-pre-dinner glass of wine! Our only criticism, being shower fanatics, would be that although there was a shower in the bath, which was in the centre of the room, there was no way in which it could be used without flooding the floor. Somehow we coped and this is not meant as a serious criticism. We would certainly choose the same room were we ever to return.
Our dinner experience was very good. The restaurant is quite cosy with some nice little nooks in which to enjoy drinks and the tasty appetizers. The menu is, encouragingly, not extensive but has an excellent selection of dishes. The food was well cooked, well presented and frankly, delicious. Portions are generous; alas too generous for me to finish all that was served. Even, my friend, who is made of sterner stuff than me and is noted for being a good trencherman, proclaimed that he was more than replete at the end of the meal.The service was clinically efficient but a shade impersonal.
Breakfast next morning was a bit of a let down. Fruit was of the dried, reconstitued variety. No fresh fruit of any description on offer. Deprived of my staple breakfast diet I opted for a kipper which proved to be a good choice. Locally smoked in Crickhowell it was extremely tasty and I have to say I enjoyed it. My wife fared less well. The scrambled egg accompanying her smoked salmon was burned. Our friends chose eggs Benedict and the egg on one of them had been cooked rock hard. Service had deteriorated to off hand.
However, overall, we had a thoroughly enjoyable fifteen hour stay at The Bell. A few more smiles from some quarters would have been welcome but the accomodation and the food at dinner was faultless. Don't be put off by the negative elements of this review. The Bell is definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: The attic rooms are great. Mind your head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenLittleHaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

As the title suggests I just popped in here for a very pleasant drink!
Been out and about in the area and thought the Bell inn would be a lovely spot to have a refreshment.
I was not disapointed. The whole pub was immaculate. The menus looking wonderfully inviting. I did not see the rooms but judging on the prices charged and the rest of the pub, I am sure they would be excellent.
The service was great, staff very chatty an helpful.
The gardens were really delightful for sitting out in and relaxing .
Everything in this establishment was finished to a very high standard and I was pleased it was stumbled across!
I will definitely be going back for a meal and a stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justkeepexploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
REDDITCH
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We got two nights here on a KGB deal for £129. We had the attic room coch-a-bon-ddu, room 7 I think. It was basically furnished with a sitting room. The bed was very comfortable but the beams above it were a nightmare - my husband scraped his head several times. The bathroom did not have and enclosed shower just a bath with a hand held shower. I don't do baths! Breakfast was not large and on the second day I had to send mine back as the scrambled eggs were not cooked. All in all a bit pretentious and not somewhere I would recommend.

Room Tip: Dont opt for room 7 unless you are a dwarf!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUSAN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This was the second time I have stayed at the Bell.I was lucky enough to find a deal on KGB to which I couldn't believe my luck.We upgraded to the Henham Peckham room which is overlooking the river .Its a beautiful large room with a fabulous bathroom with a claw foot freestanding bath.We had dinner and found the girls who served us lovely but they need to know the menu. Only one or two niggles with the food the steak was not good very gristly, we had two small ramekins of chips and two small ramekins of spring cabbage with our main course very over priced the rest was fabulous.Breakfast was'nt as good as last time bacon salty and no prepared fresh fruit.The smoked salmon &scrambled eggs very good and smoked haddock/poached egg with hollandaise lovely.Overall it was a lovely stay a luxury room and beautiful setting.We will stay again or pop in for a drink or lunch as we're not far away.

Room Tip: Loft arrow & Henham Peckham luxury room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mistySouthWalesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elviria, Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Nothing was too much trouble in this wonderful hotel! The ambience was great as was the food, staff and facilities! Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Room 3 has a lovely view of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbshp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was our second visit to The Bell and again we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in a beautiful setting.
There is such fantastic attention to detail as far as the accommodation is concerned - from the toiletries and dressing gowns to the homemade shortbread and several different choices of tea, a coffee pot, and fresh milk rather than a carton.
There was an excellent buffet breakfast together with various options of delicicious hot food (especially the french vanilla toast!). We had dinner on both evenings and again enjoyed the experience.
The owner and staff were very welcoming and we look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaynorE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skenfrith
8.8 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
8.5 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
6.3 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
10.4 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell at Skenfrith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell at Skenfrith

Property: The Bell at Skenfrith
Address: Skenfrith | Monmouthshire, Skenfrith NP7 8UH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Skenfrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Skenfrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bell at Skenfrith 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pub/Inn, Hotel (Licensed, Offering Real Ales and large wine list with 11 luxury en-suite letting rooms in rural location. Car parking. Vegetarians, Children, Special Diets, Organic Products catered for. Eating outside and in Dining rooms. River and country views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Bell at Skenfrith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell At Skenfrith Hotel Skenfrith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing