We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just perfect venue for houseparty”

Review of Llancayo Windmill

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Kemeys Commander, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jo G
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just perfect venue for houseparty”
Reviewed 15 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We booked this for a family/friends 'houseparty' and it could not have been more perfect. Easy to reach by road but felt in the middle of nowhere, very welcoming host (and quick to answer the odd texted question). The rooms were comfortable, the kitchen well stocked and everything was squeaky clean. It had the feel of a place where the owners had stayed to see what it was like as a visitor!

An amazing building in an amazing location - I recommend it holehearteldy

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pippin_Pi...
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“The Windmills of your Mind”
Reviewed 30 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Part of a party of 11 people stayed in this lovely Windmill for 3 nights. Extremely well equipped accommodation, as the Sunday lunch cook of the group I was impressed! All bedooms are characterful, the dining room is spacious and comfortable chairs. The loung area has enough seating for 12 ( bit of a tight fit on the sofas, but cosyand easy to chat in)
There are ensuites and 2 additional bedrooms with 1 family bathroom and a downstairs loo. At the very top of the Mill is a snug with books and games,
There is an outside patio area with gas BBQ and grassed area,
We ordered a takeaway on the first night, I recommend the Dil ( seperate review) we had a booked table at the Stuffed Tomato on the Saturday night ( seperate review) and a big family roast for Sunday Dinner,
Its about a 40 min walk into Usk ( a pretty little village with Church) and a 15 mile journey to Abergaveney ( a nice little town with boutique shops)

All in all a cracking weekend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela M
1 review
“Stunning; what a magical place and so well equipped”
Reviewed 14 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

To stay in a windmill has been a long ambition, Llancayo is extremely well equipped and decorated; each room had a different colour scheme. We all felt at home there second we walked in the door. Easy access with the little town of Usk within walking distance with plenty of places to eat or drink. Our favourite was 49 with a tea rooms and preloved clothing on the first floor most of the ladies found something to buy. Further afield Tintern Abbey and the walk up to Devils Pulpit well worth the effort for the views. We will be back

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
837cherry...
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a wonderful windmill! A really special holiday home.”
Reviewed 29 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We booked the windmill for my mum’s 60th birthday and there was 8 of us plus a one year old. It was just wonderful; my mum said it felt like we’d won the lottery! We wanted somewhere with a nice big table for eating at as a family and this one didn’t disappoint. We played games at it and then sat in the lounge where there were seats for everyone. I loved that the sofas were curved against the curve of the windmill, and that the focus was on each other. Beds were comfy and clean. The underfloor heating was fab too. Kitchen was great. We got a takeaway from Usk one night (though we had to pick it up) and (some of us walked) into Usk to go and see the castle and the local shops. We would all go back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kama0529
uk
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Beautiful property”
Reviewed 9 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

I stayed with some friends at the windmill and we all had a wonderful stay. The Windmill itself is beautifully situated close to Usk and is on a working Farm in the beautiful Welsh countryside. There is plenty of outside space which is private to visitors to the Windmill and so perfect for family and friends who want to spend time outside relaxing or playing games. The interior of the Windmill is absolutely beautiful filled with all mod cons but maintaining a traditional look . All rooms are designed to a very high standard and are very very comfortable . I find it hard to find anything to fault this location but the only thing which would make it more perfect would be the addition of a hot tub ! I would highly recommend this property!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philms29
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“What a great find”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was selected for a special birthday celebration with a group of friends and proved to be an excellent property choice in a great setting.
It was of course helped as we were blessed with good weather but never the less it proved ideal for our party with ages ranging from 18 months to much older!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen and dining room
Liked least: Lots of stairs
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing