We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & very very dog friendly!”
Review of The Clytha Arms

The Clytha Arms
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Clytha Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clytha
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food & very very dog friendly!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Dogs rule and humans come close after but we liked it that way with our two Labradors! Yes it's. little tired and closer attention to cleanliness would make this place exceptional but as a dog friendly pub we felt really comfortable and welcomed. Food was excellent but a little pricey! £15 for one course seemed a little steep. Ale selection brilliant and the pub dogs are real characters

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank charl247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    18
    11
    6
    12
See reviews for
8
30
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Had a lovely dinner sitting out in the garden. We girls arrived first and we stood at the bar chatting with the locals - for girls read a couple of middle-aged women who are more used to being invisible in a bar. When the chaps finally arrived we enjoyed great cooking and good local beer. The two bar staff who served us couldn't do enough to help, making sure we had what we wanted with smiles and charm. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAH2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Visited the Clytha a few weeks ago as it was a nice summery day and we hadnt been here for a good while. We were out for a drive in the countryside and called in on the offchance and they managed to squeeze us in. It's in a beautiful peaceful location and weather permitting it's lovely to sit outside overlooking the lawned gardens. It's a proper locals pub/restaurant and they all like to bring their dogs along.We had a nice enough sunday lunch,service was good,staff friendly but I didnt particularly appreciate the overwhelming doggy smell...hadnt noticed it as much on a previous visit. This has put us off visiting again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-wye
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Visited this week on a beautiful summers evening. The big expanse of lawns looked very welcoming to sit out on but beware, the grass is covered with dog poo. You have to really watch where you tread all the time, not the place where you can let the kids run around. The bar has a great range of real ales and local ciders, it's a wonderful place for the real ale enthusiast. The food is pretty good also but the service a bit slow. But then the next problem, the floor of the gents lavatories was awash, I just hope it was only water. It is a shame as a little attention to detail and it would be a really good proper country pub.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartRoss-on-Wye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

When you pull into the car park two things strike you. Horses and dogs – simple as that. The owners are horse and dog people and so are most of the regulars. Yes you will have soulful eyes watching you eat if you eat in the bar - and much licking of lips in the hope that you drop some. That is how it is here and if you are not comfortable with it then this is not the place for you.

Some reviewers have described the property as “dirty”. I think that is a little harsh – it is old, scruffy and disorganised like some eccentric antique emporium. That is what gives it character.

A number of premium ciders and lagers are on tap and CAMRA enthusiasts will gasp at the choice of real ales.

There is a very good chef in the kitchen consistently putting out top class meals, using local ingredients at a very competitive price. If you like your food – this will not disappoint. Presentation and service have little finesse – but in a horse and dog emporium it really doesn’t matter !

I rather like this place and whenever I am in the area I eat here. However, I always carry a pair of jeans in the car – they don’t show the dog hair !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tromsopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

This has become one of our regular stops on our way into Wales. Bemused by the range of comments. It's a country pub full of character if you want an antiseptic chain don't come here! As someone who is quite nervous of dogs, I found them to be incredibly docile and well behaved. Yes they will come and say hello but they do not beg or pester. Today's Sunday lunch was one of the best we've had in years. Well worth the money and for the quality of the food it is not at all pretentious! Gastro pub it ain't Good Old fashioned traditional country pub with individual character - we will back

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClairDexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilwern, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Went here with my husband earlier in month after local recommendations. Food was OK, perfectly edible and nice but not fantastic and not really worth the quite high prices. Service was OK. Building is beautiful and full of character. If you do not like dogs, do not eat here. They have full run of the bar (where we ate) and were rarely discouraged from pestering customers who were eating. Beautiful dogs, very entertaining but we were lucky in that they obviously weren't overly keen on our menu choices. Would probably visit again, but most likely just for a snack rather than full evening meal.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethandAlO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Clytha Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clytha Arms

Property: The Clytha Arms
Address: Clytha NP7 9BW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Clytha
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clytha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clytha Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Clytha Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clytha Arms Hotel Clytha
The Hotel Clytha
The Clytha Arms Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing