We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hunters Moon Inn
Nearby Hotels
The Angel(Abergavenny)
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier inn Abergavenny Hotel(Llanfoist)(Great Value!)
US$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pilgrim Hotel(Much Birch)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Riverside Hotel(Monmouth)
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Llansantffraed Court(Llanvihangel Gobion)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Manor Hotel(Crickhowell)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
87
15
6
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
15
6
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubpuddinglamb chopspudsham egg and chipsoffa's dykehand cut chipsthe rib eyesteak and ale pielovely atmospherewarm welcomefor sunday lunchwi fiwelcoming hostswye valleylong weekendlocal cottage
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2012

A group of six of us (3 couples) stayed here last weekend and had a fab time. It's a 600 year old pub with an amazing feel to the place. The landlord was amongst the best I have ever come across. The accommodation is top end pub standard, with en suite, clean and tidy rooms. The location is very very rural and ideal for a country break yet only a few mile north of Abergavenny. We did a few walks from the pub. A ten mile walk heading south west? to the base of the skirrid and then over the skirrid and back along the offas dyke trail. The second walk was 8 mile along the offas dyke trail to white castle and then back along the three castles trail with he final mile along a country lane. The food and drink in the pub was outstanding. It was nice to sit outside and have a few pints of wye valley ales.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here while walking the Offa's Dyke trail and had a wonderful stay. The room was very comfortable, and the pub/restaurant below was just the thing on a cold night--warm, cozy, and welcoming. The Hunters Moon is right next to an _amazing_ 12th century church (which we saw from our window) that really isn't to be missed--there are extraordinary wall paintings inside. Though the Hunters Moon is on the national trail, sometimes visitors call from White Castle to be picked up. Be aware that cell phone reception at the castle can be spotty.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We love this Inn! This was our second stay here and we were thrilled to see that nothing had changed. Hayden was as welcoming as ever and even though we had not booked an evening meal he was more than happy to make us something if we decided we were hungry even though the kitchen wasn't officially open.
The rooms are cosy and the breakfast plentiful. We cannot find fault with this wonderful place and can safely say if home is where the heart is we will leave a little of our hearts here.

Room Tip: Room 2 is directly above the restaurant so might be a little noisy if you are planning an early night :)
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We only stayed one night but this small inn provided all we wanted with deafening silence outside so sleep was not disturbed. The room was cosy, the bed comfortable and the peace was bliss. we ate in the restaurant in the evening with hearty portions of good quality food, but what made the stay most enjoyable was the atmosphere in the bar and the hospitality of the owners.
would i stay again? yes especially if you want to escape the August crowds.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We stayed two nights for a wedding nearby. Had room and breakfast - which was plentiful with massive jug of orange juice and a large cafetiere full of coffee.

Room was fine, exactly what you expect in an extremely old pub. If you expect your floors to be perfectly flat this may not be the place for you!

We didn't eat dinner at the pub, purely because the wedding was catering for us, but Haydn checked with our group (of 3 x couples) whether we needed food and would have arranged to cook for us had it been required (on a night when the pub was closed).

And that is what really makes this pub good - the service. Haydn and his staff were incredibly smiley, friendly and approachable. For me, that's what I'm after when I'm only paying £65 per night at a pub miles from the city (any city).

If I'm back in the area, I'd love to stay at the Hunters Moon again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Limey78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews