We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hearted atmosphere with superb food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llangattock Lingoed
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hunters Moon Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The pub dates back to 1207, according to the carving in the stone. And t fully enjoy this gem of a pub and its beautiful setting, you need to be told the story of the new owners, which I heard from one of the locals (the friendliest bunch I have ever encountered). It's run by two brothers. One brother behind the bar, one brother in the kitchen. And their mum (Granny Beryl), making the puddings and running the books. I visited with my parents, and we had a lovely time, enjoying an evening meal, a drink until well into the night, and then a lunch the next day.

High spots: Really good beer - excellent Doom Bar. Superb steak (the rib eye, from a farm within a mile or two) was mouthwatering. Red DragonSausages, according to the menu from local butcher were awesome. Fresh veg, all well presented.

But you really have to try Granny Beryl's Raspberry and Hazelnut Meringue. Best desert I've tasted for years.

Highly recommended, and I wish the new owners the best.

We stayed at the lovely Old Rectory, just 200m up the hill.

Tip for drivers: The postcode of the pub did not work in my BMW satnav, which also did not register the road. My tip is to head for Llangattock Lingoed from Abergavenny. You'll find the roadsign to it, then you just have to trust the road to get you there. After 10 minutes, which is about the time you are giving up hope, you come across the pub. It's really in the middle of nowhere, which is part of its charm.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank adam d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

I have known this pub for 36 years , it is a charming spot, but has had good and not so good owners over recent years and the quality of the food offering has been variable. It changed hands recently and after reading Trip Advisor reviews we decided to have supper there and see for ourselves. We were warmly welcomed by barman Nigel and chose a bottle of white wine which we started on whilst we looked at the menu. We were then shown through to the dining room, pretty enough but oddly lit with low energy light bulbs that are way too big for the light shades! Our starter was, I suspect, straight from the freezer duck spring rolls, served with what I also suspect was a bottled sweet chilli sauce and some rather limp rocket. My main course was perfectly cooked sole, served with rice and salad and my partner enjoyed a nicely cooked sirloin, served with a recommended pepper sauce that he greatly enjoyed. The triumph of the meal, however, was a hazelnut meringue and fresh raspberry gateau which was in a class by itself - utterly delicious, we will return for that alone! Good to be offered a decent Petit Chablis too. Bill, without tip, was £77. If Trip Advisor had a rating between average and very good, then that's where this pub would sit for me. We wish the new owners success.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Bopeep1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The Hunter's Moon Inn is a little gem. It is beautifully decorated and has a great atmosphere. The landlord and staff are extremely friendly. Just off of the Offa's Dyke path this is a superb pub to visit. Arriving late, after walking 34 miles, the landlady cooked us a fantastic roast beef meal. With the beef came some fairly unusual vegetables that were also delicious. We stayed at the nearby Old Rectory Guest House which is also 5*

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiggyofIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Set in a leafy glade a little off the beaten track this place is well worth a visit.We've called in for drinks a couple of times when in the area but tonight ate in the cosy restaurant and were not disapointed. The 13th century Hunter's Moon is a proper country pub set in a beautiful location in the stunning Abergavenny countryside. Love the flagstone floors,bare stone walls and the cosy and relaxed ambience. The bar area gets very lively and you can eat here or in the restaurant. Service is very good and staff are very friendly and accomodating,also prices very reasonable. Our starters were the sizzling garlic and chilli prawns served in their pan with crusty bread to mop up their juices...delicious ! And also duck spring rolls with chilli dip and salad. Main courses were sea bass fillet on spicy lentil salsa with new potatoes and also very generous lamb chops,real mash,peas and roast root veg. Dessert was a melt in the mouth very fresh tasting strawberry shortcake stack. An absolutely delicious meal from start to finish highly recommended and we have decided to book very soon for sunday lunch ! This quaint little place offers bed and breakfast and is very popular with walkers but we did not stay as its not too far from home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We were given a wonderful warm welcome at the pub. The home-cooked food is amazing - try sizzling chilli and garlic prawn on wild leaf and tomato salad, followed by hazlenut and raspberry pavlova. A family-run free house, Britain needs more of these wonderful pubs! Bravo to the owners and long may they flourish there.

There is a charming church next door, you half expect to see Miss Marple totter around the corner, as the occasional horse trots by. Endless walking, outstanding natural beauty and fresh fragrant mountain air!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Rupert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed here while walking a section of Offa's Dyke Path.
This pub is awesome. Full of character & fantastic hosts! We were made very welcome indeed.

Outstanding high quality food, with portion sizes that do not disappoint! I can not recommend the food here enough. The breakfast was certainly a 'walkers' breakfast!

We hope to return next time I'm in the area for more of the Chocolate Rocky Road pudding. ;)

James & Natasha

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James_Salisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

I have stayed at the Hunters Moon on two occasions and have received excellent service. The food is the best and the local company is inviting. The pub is in close proximity of several lovely walks including the Three Castles Walk and is just far enough away from Abergavenny.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCMay_AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangattock Lingoed
0.0 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
0.0 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
535 reviews
0.0 mi away
Two Rivers
Two Rivers
#3 of 14 in Chepstow
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wye Valley Hotel
Wye Valley Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tintern
170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 30 in Abergavenny
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Black Lion
Old Black Lion
#2 of 28 in Hay-on-Wye
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hunters Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hunters Moon Inn

Address: Llangattock Lingoed NP7 8RR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Llangattock Lingoed
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llangattock Lingoed
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hunters Moon Inn at Llangattock Lingoed offers visitors a warm and welcoming traditional pub atmosphere. Good food and ale are guaranteed with a superb menu. Relax in our informal bar or eat in our award winning restaurant, either way you can enjoy the very best freshly prepared local food, wines ciders and real ales. We also offer a high standard of accommodation for those touring the beautiful Welsh Countryside or walking Offa's Dyke Path. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hunters Moon Hotel Llangattock Lingoed
The Hunters Moon Inn Llangattock Lingoed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing