We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Newbridge on Usk
Nearby Hotels
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Inn Hotel(Newport)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
154
74
21
28
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
154
74
21
28
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsceltic manorroll top bathbox of chocolateschristmas lunchfour postershuttle servicerestaurant with roomsoverlooking the riverscallopsseparate buildingmain coursesaturday lunchtimecourse mealshower curtainspecial occasionidyllic locationlocally sourced food
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I havent eaten here recently but the atmosphere has really changed. It feels more like a chain hotel then the little relaxing haven it used to be. Dead plants in the ladies and what the hell is going on with the offensive photos in the ladies loo 'girl watching guy in his pance' their young children who visit this in too!!
The garden used to be a relaxing spot, bucolic, by the river. As a resident of Newport it was a joy to escape here for summers coctail or afternoon tea. There were so many and chairs crowded in one small area you may have well sat on the lap of the guest next to you.
This place is no longer peaceful its about money now and that is so very obvious with the very badly appointed cabinet selling gifts.
Vert sad~however if they sort out the decor and make it look less like an ' Bad Art Bar' and more like the inn that it is. Mr. Matthews sort it out!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
1  Thank suze d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed a night here with friends who had managed to get a splendid deal on the rooms. I appreciated the water and home-made biscuits in the room. I loved the bed, it was large and hard! Perfect for me!
It's a lovely place with friendly service and fine food. The scrambled eggs at breakfast were particularly delicious.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glebebears81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My partner and I were bought a voucher as a gift for dinner and overnight stay. We arrived at 5pm and stayed in the bar for a few drinks before going to our room. We were in room 3 which is the last room on the ground floor. The room was lovely, a nice size with what appeared to be a large bed, we later realised it was two singles pushed together, which isn't unusual but as we had booked a superior double I was somewhat disappointed, it didn't help that the headboard of one bed was so loose you only had to touch the bed and it banged against the wall. Dinner was superb and definitely made the stay, the staff were attentive with out being over bearing. When we went back to our room this is where the stay soured, the bed was so uncomfortable I contemplated driving home it was unbearable, the beds separated and the headboard banged against the wall to the point you were scared to move! Noise form the rooms above didn't help with trying to get to sleep, every foot step and door closing seemed to echo, it started to feel like the longest night of my life! The bathroom was pleasant and clean with a shower over the bath and a curtain around, with in minutes of using the shower the bathroom was flooded the shower curtain just wasn't adequate. Breakfast was again lovely as were the morning staff. I would definitely return for the food one of the best meals I've had, but as for staying here, absolutely not.

Room Tip: Not room 3!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had difficulty finding this hideaway because we didn't follow the Celtic Manor's instructions but once there we were delighted. Described as a restaurant with rooms, the Newbridge on Usk is just that. Our room, in what we assumed was a converted stable block, had great charm and simplicity with Arts and Crafts type furniture. The bathroom was large and the separate shower did not disappoint. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and enjoyed the fish especially. We were able to look out on the river over breakfast which was cooked especially for us. We were very taken with the arrangement of the main building, which had many alcoves and comfortable furniture. We have stayed in the Celtic Manor and in the Manor House but we have decided that we like this best and intend to stay again.

Room Tip: We were in room 3 and found it quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janmezzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for our 1st anniversary after getting married at the celtic manor last year. Food was great and room was beautiful but bed was not the comfiest. Also, I was really impressed with the bathroom and the stunning roll top bath but hot water ran out and turned FREEZING cold after only a few minutes in the shower. Service was good but not great and no one wished us happy anniversary even though I had emailed to make them aware of it prior to arriving. Despite that, it's a lovely little restaurant with great views and really nicely decorated rooms.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank b3cky79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews