We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Newbridge on Usk
Ranked #1 of 1 Tredunnock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great find!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here the day after our wedding as we had a couple of days overlap before our flight from Bristol. The staff were amazing, they couldn't do enough for us and they were always very welcoming and helpful (particularly the women that does breakfast). We ate their both evenings, the restaurant was very busy but we had booked, and it was interesting how they give you the menus and your drinks in the waiting area first to look at, even though your table is ready, which we quite liked. Food was expensive but amazing, about £80 each night for 2 courses and wine for the two of us, on the second day we had an early dinner of the Celebration of Welsh Lamb Platter and it really was something else. We then got the free shuttle bus to the Celtic manor which we asked the waiter to book for us, and used the pool facilities which were lovely also.

Only one negative, was room 6 was very hot! It was mid July this year, and we had the fan on all night (and all day) but it was still too hot which made it difficult to sleep. We opened the door to the balcony one night but the room faces the restaurant and carpark so anybody could see in with the door open.

Room Tip: Room 6, A four poster room was amazing, lovely role top bath also! Beautiful little treats of homema...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evangeline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    70
    19
    27
    11
See reviews for
34
172
Solo
0
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lampeter, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed at the Newbridge-On-Usk last night and we're so glad that we did. The room was spotlessly clean with the most amazing bath and shower. We were greeted and shown to our room on arrival by a very helpful member of staff. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the members of staff and we were made to feel so welcome. We had only booked bed and breakfast and had considered maybe going for a drive to find somewhere else to dine in the evening, as I had read a few reviews about the food being very pretentious and over priced but eventually we decided to try the food at The Newbridge On Usk and we're so glad that we did. We both had the mussels for starter, which were absolutely delicious and the portions were so generous, so much so that much to my disappointment, I was unable to have a dessert because I was so full after my starter and main course. Breakfast this morning was equally fantastic, at a lovely window table overlooking the River Usk - can totally recommend the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs!! We really had such a lovely night and will definitely be returning very, very soon!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Thought we try it out as it is close by. Called in on a mid Sunday afternoon and was ignored at the bar by miserable looking staff, even though it was only half full. Asked if food was on and eventually someone called the lady in charge and that was it, never came back to inform us of anything. Took a look at the menu and it seemed a tad pretentious as some of these "bistro" pubs do. So ordered a half of coke ( £1.85) and a lager and told them we would be in the garden. No one came and told us if food was available so we finished up and left. What this place does is puts itself up as if it is a top London Bistro and ignores the basic rule, the guests are to be treated friendly and welcomed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaleCallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofstade, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere in the hotel is great. Rooms are really different from the big chains, although it is part of the celtic-manor group. Very nicely situated in a beautiful environment. To be reached via a spectacular typical British narrow road. They have a good restaurant and you can use a shuttle service to go to the resort for e.g. the SPA.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Foort D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
653 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This wonderful establishment has it all. As part of the Celtic Manor family you can use the facilities there but here you have the peace and tranquillity of a beautiful setting.

Our family occupied 3 rooms, all finely decorated with lovely baths. We were in room 6 which had a 4 poster bed and a door opening onto a small veranda which gave us lovely views.

We had drinks and snacks on the lawn over-looking the river. On the first evening we had the early bird menu which has very good choices including beef and fish. The starters and desserts were very tasty and all washed down with excellent wine and beers.

The second evening we all dined of the main menu which included sirloin steak and lamb. Again the starter of scallops was perfection and everyone enjoyed all aspects of the meal.

The breakfasts had great choices and were totally scrumptious and plentiful. The service at all times was very friendly and efficient provided by staff who were very interactive and helpful.

This hotel is a must for all fine diners and those looking for peace and quiet in a wonderful countryside setting. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 6 with a 4 poster bed and lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciaran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

In fact it is so out of the way that I got lost! I eventually found it, of course, but my online email confirmation gave the address as the Celtic Manor which, if you've stayed here you will know, is about 10 miles away! (Hence the mark down on location as the address on online info should be correct). Beware if you're not used to driving down single track roads, as it is quite remote. However, when you arrive it is charming, peaceful and idyllic. I was staying on business locally but this would be a wonderful place for a wedding. The staff were helpful and cheerful, and the food is superb. I wouldn't normally eat red meat but was tempted by the 28 day Welsh beef which, whilst not being as tender as it could, I can honestly say I thoroughly enjoyed; my starter of curried monkfish with pea risotto was a revelation (no room for pud). This is a wonderful place for the little things as well as the big - a DVD player in the bedroom, the bathrooms done out beautifully with a walk-in shower, etc. The only problem I had was the bed was uncomfortably hard (I could feel the springs) with a dip on one side which I kept rolling in to. Time for a new mattress I think. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauran1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My new husband & I stayed at the Newbridge-on-Usk for 2 nights - one of these was our wedding night. We arrived at a very inconvenient 1am, but the receptionist could not be more friendly & helpful.

This set the tone for the rest of our stay. Throughout the entirety of our stay, the Celtic Manor staff (bar staff at Newbridge-on-Usk, concierge service, staff at Celtic Manor hotel) were absolutely amazing: extremely polite, attentive without being "in-your-face, very knowledgeable, and above all helpful & friendly. Could not fault them.

The Newbridge-on-Usk itself was perfect for what we wanted - a gorgeous, out-of-the-way location to spend a peaceful couple of days & nights at. The room itself was the Superior Double (Room 5), which was beautifully decorated - rural yet chic. The room service was fantastic, in that the attendant cleaned out the room every day, replenished all empty water bottles & toiletries, and was very chatty & approachable.

However, the best aspect of our stay was our food. We went for the 3-course a la carte evening meal:

Starters - Pigeon Breast Salad & Carrot Soup
Mains - Sirloin Steak & Fish and Chips
Dessert - Sorbert & Dark Chocolate Mousse

I have never tasted Pigeon, but it was melt-in-the-mouth - so tender. The carrot soup was creamy & tasty. The fish... sorry, "whale" and chips (!) was beautiful, and the sirloin steak was easily the nicest steak I have ever tasted. Also, the desserts were so sweet & delicious.

Overall, for a short break away, with fantastic food, great atmosphere, great rooms at fantastic value & brilliant hospitality, we could not recommend anywhere more than the Newbridge-on-Usk.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirkytpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tredunnock
1.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
8.5 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Manor House at Celtic Manor
3.8 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
5.6 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Newbridge on Usk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Newbridge on Usk

Property: The Newbridge on Usk
Address: Tredunnock NP15 1LY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Tredunnock
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tredunnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Newbridge on Usk 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newbridge sits in an enviable and idyllic location on the bank of the river Usk. Just ten minutes drive from the historic town of Caerleon, famous for sites such as the amphitheatre and barracks, Romany Legionary Museum and Fortress Baths. Renowned for its award winning menu and extensive list of fine wines, and with the addition of 6 beautifully appointed bedrooms makes The Newbridge the perfect setting for lunch, dinner or an overnight stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Newbridge on Usk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Newbridge On Usk Hotel Tredunnock
The Newbridge On Usk Tredunnock, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing