We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Shirenewton, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dionnerag...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A wonderful place of calm and tranquility a fantastic place to unwind and find yourself.
We have now found somewhere we will revisit thank you Sharon

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2017
Great guests. Thank you for booking and making the most of your stay with us. We really hope to see you again ,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
byronway1...
Caerphilly County, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very special place.”
Reviewed 12 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Spent the weekend in Little Idyll and it was a wonderful experience. The cosy, luxurious hut is perched at the top of a sloping field, providing stunning views over the surrounding farmland. So quiet and relaxing, listening to the owls as darkness covers the landscape but kept warm by a roaring log fire. Sharon and Lee are perfect hosts and ensure you leave with very special memories. Will definitely return for another stay. Thank you so much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
What a fantastic couple to have stay at Little Idyll. So pleased you enjoyed yourselves and exciting that you've booked again for 2018. Many thanks and thank you for leaving the hut so,spotless.
With love x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona V
1 review
“Best Glamping getaway! ”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

What a great way to end our road trip round the U.K!

Firstly after we had made a mistake with our booking dates and only noticing on the night before, we contacted Sharon - who not only replied super fast but was really understanding and accommodating.

When we arrived to the site, we were warmly greeted by Sharon who explained the land and all the animals. She took us up to the hut and we were so impressed with the quality and final touches she had put into it. As city girls, we do enjoy the luxuries of 5 star hotels and the shepherds hut definitely had all the luxuries and qualities you would expect in a 5 star accommodation. The welcome basket with huge marshmallows that we would later toast on the fire pit were an amazing extra touch!

Then there are the breathtaking views! We thoroughly enjoyed looking out at these next to our toasty fire (thanks to Lee for the extra fire wood and for cleaning out our fire pit daily!) and watching the sun go down. The peaceful stunning scenery is just what us city girls needed. We also loved making friends with the curious alpacas, naughty Mary the pony, the hungry pigs and the excitable pack of dogs!

We will definitely be returning! In fact we just bought some vouchers for our family to enjoy.

Thank you so much to Sharon and Lee for giving us such a warm welcome and looking after us!

Fiona and Laura x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2017
Thank you both for such a beautiful review! You were fantastic guests and so pleased that you made use of all our facilities esp the fire pit and giant marshmallows! It was lovely to hear your laughter and chatter around the animals and Mary the pony clearly adored you! Really hope to be seeing you both again. 5* guests who also left the shepherds hut immaculate ! Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elin M
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing stay to celebrate anniversary!”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Just returned home from a lovely weekend here. We were warmly welcomed by Sharon and taken to the hut which certainly exceeded our expectations!! Luxurious setting inside with all that you would need and expect when going glamping. Sharon had even added extra personal touches as she knew it was our anniversary! Lovely outside area to relax and we made the most of the bbq and fire pit - very peaceful at night with the fire going and a glass of wine. All of the animals were very friendly and we enjoyed seeing them all. Very convenient location - around 10 minutes to Chepstow and around 15 mins to Tintern Abbey. We would love to return in the future!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2017
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your Anniversary here at Maybee Glamping. I'm glad you enjoyed yourselves and hope to return again. We would love to see you both. X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Z
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 25 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Stayed for 3 nights in the amazing shepherds hut which is luxurious, well equipped complete with a lovely welcome hamper and fantastic animal neighbors. Sharon and Lee are fantastic hosts who go the extra mile to ensure a great and memorable stay. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2017
Thank you so much we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay! Great guests who def made the most of the Wye Valley and Forest of Dean! Great to chat too and left the hut immaculate! Thank you hope to see you both again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny S
1 review
“Relaxing long weekend in a luxury Shepherds hut.”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Beautiful Hut with lovely views across hillsides near the Wye valley. Equipped with more than you need for cosy nights in. Not far to the Wye Valley for Canoeing and walking and the nearby towns of Usk and Chepstow for coffee shops and more.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review! Wonderful guests who made the most of their stay here at MAYBEE GLAMPING! Hut left lovely and clean! Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

What an absolutely wonderful and idyllic place to stay. The Shepherd's Hut is immaculate, in a wonderful location with fantastic views. Sharon looks after guests and goes above and beyond. Arriving to a welcome pack, a jar of sweets and love hearts, all of the hidden extras make this an absolutely fantastic place to stay. The Shepherd's Hut is warm and comfortable, the shower is brilliant and the bed so comfortable with the most luxurious bedding. We booked an extra night and will definitely be returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2017
Thank you for a wonderful review! I'm so pleased you Richard and Henry four paws enjoyed your stay! Brilliant guests who made the most of your stay and you left the hut immaculate and even went the extra mile and brought the bedding and towels down to the cottage! Hope to see you all again soon !!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing