We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, but loud and maybe to familiar”
Review of CASA MIGDIA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sant Jordi Desvalls
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
CASA MIGDIA
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stylish, but loud and maybe to familiar”
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

Yes, Casa Midgia is,indeed, stylishly set in a very nicely restored family home.The decor is a classy shabby-chick. The owner, who apparently had a restaurant in Paris, cooks delicious dinners - his prices, also those for drinks from the bar, also appear to come from Paris. The hotel is located in the middle of nowhere, in rather run-down and desolate little village, which does not offer much apart from a few narrow stone alleys and a bar/club across the street, playing very load music into the morning. The hotel itself is also surprisingly load, with the activities before, during and after dinner echoing up the stairs. The rooms are equipped with stylish, but very thin wooden doors that offer no soundproofing what so all. The hotel is run together with the family home, which often leaves one feeling like an intruder in the family life.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank RaymondRoesti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    5
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We loved staying in this house run by Sebastian and Marie and wish we had planned to stay longer. The house is right in the middle of the small town of Sant Jordi Desvalls, and the owners have taken pains to restore the house with amazing attention to detail. We stayed in 218 which, although it was the smallest room, was perfect for a couple and felt spacious. We loved all the fun details and design around the house and enjoyed exploring the common spaces. The patio where breakfast was served was lovely. Only tip is to bring earplugs if you are sensitive to church bells ringing, but it didn't bother us. We were very comfortable here and would love to return!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie3323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed here for one night on a trip down from the south of France! A wonderful family run the b+b and the decor is individual and beautiful! Their new baby girl is beautiful!! Our meal served in the garden was fantastic and as I am gluten free they provided specialized things for me to eat which was fantastic! We stayed in the Frida room was was large and beautiful with a fantastic free standing bath and HUGE shower! The only downside i would have is that the bed was uncomfortable which is such as a shame as everything else was perfect! Sebastian informed me he is opening a restaurant next week in Girona and im sure it will be a great success!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aims2745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syd
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This is a fantastic little hidden away treasure. We stayed as a family holiday. It's a 16th Century old rectory converted in a lovely individual bohemian chic style. Run by a couple, and their brother. They live there with their 2 (soon to be 3) kids, birds and dog.

It is stress-free, with a relaxed, warm ambience, thanks to the attention to detail from the family who run it and live there. Whether we were playing table football and draughts in the little bar, doing card games and reading by the log fire or swaying in the private terrace listening to the mediaval clock chime the hours, before going to a home cooked diner (4 courses E20). Our room had a huge bathroom with claw foot bath and sep shower with it's own terrace. (You wold have to keep the doors locked if you have a climbing toddler.) We had a sweet time hanging out, playing football with our family in the little streets, using it as a base to explore Girona town (impressive but a bit touristy since clean up esp Jewish museum, cathederal and narrow streets to explore), beaches, ruins and Dali art stuff.

They said that since going on i-escape website they were getting busy - btw and Ryan air flys to girona (as Barcelona destination) which is about 20 mins away by hire car there.

Room Tip: We stayed in Carmen but had a nose round and each of the - think - 5 rooms looked charming.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lca78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Fantastically wonderful people, Sebastien, Marie and their family were such great hosts. Their hospitality, company, suggestions and hand drawn maps were all we needed for the most rustic intimate holiday in Catalonia! Their knowledge of the area allowed us to make the most of an incredibly diverse region in only one week. The food was sublime, home grown and cooked with love. The wine was locally sourced, carefully chosen and extremely well recommended, this was truly a gastronomic spectacle without any pretense. The village itself is a quietly traditional place, a very calming and sincere refuge from the hustle and bustle of city life. The building and rooms are exquisite, Sebastien and Marie have maintained the original finish of the property whilst enhancing the character with their enthusiasm and individuality. We had an amazing time, will return and can highly recommend! Joe and Jess x

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joes_mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Food delicious, furniture gorgeous, building full of character and people completely down to earth and lovely. We could even enjoy our supper with our room being a couple of metres away in the event our baby woke up. Can't wait to visit again!

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ClarePortillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We stayed at Casa Migdia for 4 days in May 2011. Have to say it was a true pleasure. We arrived in torrential rain to find a friendly welcome and a beautifully decorated refuge. Thought it is a tiny and quiet village, the casa migdia is brimming with character and life. Sebastien and Marie could not be better hosts. They were able to provide us with a perfect travel itinerary for each day, as well as bicycles, maps and travel guides.

And then there is the food. Much of what we ate was home grown and tasted amazing. (Though a recent incident with a local fox and the chickens prevented us from enjoying free range eggs). The owners really know their food and their wine. You don't need to worry about the menu, they'll take care of everything and all 4 nights we had a great meal. The room we stayed in - Frida - was stylish and comfortable, with the most amazing bath tub in Catalonia.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elspethmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to CASA MIGDIA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CASA MIGDIA

Property: CASA MIGDIA
Address: Carrer Migdia 4, 17464 Sant Jordi Desvalls, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Sant Jordi Desvalls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sant Jordi Desvalls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Migdia is a small boutique b & b in an old presbytery stone house in Catalonia in the village of San Jordi Desvalls. Close to the sandy beaches of the Costa Brava, half an hour from the historic town of Gerone and just over an hour to Barcelona. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
CASA MIGDIA Spain/Sant Jordi Desvalls, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing