We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“COMFORTABLE”

Premier Inn Aberdare Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Aberdare Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cwmbach
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“COMFORTABLE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Great stop over with a good sized digi tv and amenities. However the food facilities in the evening are bad. Children running around screaming and meals sent back. Poor service from YOUNGER not older members of staff.
However, Breakfast was a different show much better with helpful shift change and good staff. Very value for money breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YeOldeCodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    80
    21
    6
    1
See reviews for
77
79
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Fab hotel. Perfect in every way, some people clearly haven't read the location details before booking! As for Breweres fayre next door, It is a chain and the meals are set, very helpful with a fussy partner. Can't fault a thing!!!! :) recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Regularpremierinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Booked in a hurry for a long weekend in the Brecons. I arrived on a Sunday lunchtime, to find that the hotel is on a grimy 'retail' site nearly four miles outside Aberdare itself. This traps residents in an area with an Asda, and a Dominos pizza, or the somewhat notorious Brewers Fayre pub next door. There is therefore no other choice of nearby places to eat.

The pub itself was packed, with queues at the bar and grumpy looking diners waiting for food, looking at their watches. It's never a good sign.

Traffic driving past the hotel was horrendously fast and it did not seem to be a safe area for single women. I was approached twice by chavvy young blokes as I walked to Asda for a sandwich. I was therefore disappointed with reviews stating 'Beautiful surroundings'. Maybe, but not within a mile of the hotel.

Unless they choose to drive, incarcerated residents are faced with a choice of Asda, KFC, Dominos Pizza or Brewers Fayre (see reviews) or a seven mile hike into Aberdare and back. The Brewers Fayre menu is on their website, so do check it before you book, especially if you have food preferences which don't include frozen animal cadavers.

This may not matter for some, but there is a lack of fresh food food and fresh vegetarian dishes at Brewers Fayre, most of their 'pub' food is frozen and reheated, though salads are available.

So, I cancelled my stay online there and then, only find Premier Inn had marked my status as 'arrived' (I was sitting´in the car park and hadn't been into the hotel) and charged me for two unbooked breakfasts, despite not going in the hotel, or booking breakfasts, or eating in the adjacent pub or staying overnight.

So, while I can't comment on the inside of the hotel, I can comment on the somewhat dreadful location, the lack of fresh (not frozen) food in the pub, and being stung for two breakfasts, despite not staying there.

Room Tip: Check the Brewers Fayre reviews.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank snafu21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Aberdare Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking & review details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Great accommodation, food and facilities close by. Easy access to local villages and easy to get to! There is a Brewers fayre next door for breakfast, lunch & dinner and the business park is situated between 2 big mountains. The views were amazing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is in a perfect setting to explore the valleys of South Wales. Easy parking, friendly knowledgable staff and as always a great night's sleep. Thoroughly recommend. My husband and I have stayed in several of the Premier Inn chain and always sleep well. However this was particularly peaceful and well placed for families with small children who may want to visit the Dare Valley Country Park.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed here very nice and comfortable and staff very pleasant and helpful.
quiet so a good nights sleep is easy to have and anything needed you only have to ask. supermarket close by so if you want things very useful to
































t









  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Premier Inn is doing a great job at offering simple, basic but clean, modern and comfortable rooms. The Premier Inn at Aberdare was no different:
- efficient check-in / check-out;
- a simple comfortable room, great bed / pillows, and a very good night sleep;
- quiet (not noisy) rooms;
- very well priced;
- a fine breakfast (traditional English breakfast with something more);
- the staff is friendly.
In their category, you can't fault them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonVibrations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cwmbach
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
#1 of 1 in Pentrebach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
10.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ebbw Vale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
Tregenna Hotel
Tregenna Hotel
#2 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
3.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bessemer Hotel
Bessemer Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dowlais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Aberdare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Aberdare Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Aberdare Hotel
Address: Ffordd Tirwaun | Riverside Retail Park, Cwmbach, Aberdare CF44 0AH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Rhondda Cynon Taff > Aberdare > Cwmbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cwmbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Aberdare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walking, waterfalls and whisky... The Premier Inn Hotel Aberdare has all the ingredients for a fabulous Welsh getaway. You're just 40 minutes from Brecon Beacons National Park or an easy 35 minutes from central Cardiff. Tackle the legendary Pen-y-fan horseshoe or watch tackles fly at the Millennium Stadium. Chill out in the beautiful National Park before warming up with a shot of Penderyn's award-winning single malt. Then return to our tasty Brewers Fayre restaurant and deliciously comfy beds. Leave the M4 J32 at the roundabout take the 5th exit onto the A470 signed posted Merthyr Tydfil. After appox 10 miles take the A4059 signed posted Aberdare, continue over the roundabout and at the next roundabout take the 3rd exit onto Fffordd Tirwaun (signed posted Riverside Retail Park), the hotel is on the retail park. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: CF44 0AH Hotel Parking: Free on-site parking is available at this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Aberdare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Aberdare Hotel Cwmbach, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing