We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel Superb Staff Great Golf Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Neath
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel Superb Staff Great Golf Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

Nice Hotel Great Staff
We have just returned from a week’s stay at the Castle hotel Neath we are 16 Blokes and went golfing in the Area, and what a Great time we had.
after an initial mess up with the Evening meal which Liz Tried to sort out everything went Brilliantly, while we were there our Local team Nottingham Forest played Swansea in the Playoffs and even though they supported Swansea the Girls got the Big Screen out for us so we could watch while eating our evening meal!!
The Bar area is Brilliant and Comfy we ventured out to the ambassador Hotel on Sunday where they had a Live Band which was good, the only other pub we went to was the Weatherspoons 5 minutes away, good selection of beers and cheap too!!
Our hotel bar was staffed by Amanda and Jason and our waitresses were Jess Victoria and Sarah with Liz the Catering Manager sorting them all out the Breakfast was Brilliant the Evening meal was O.K. and if I had one criticism is that is the area the will have to sort out for Golfers as it was Boring well cooked and served just a Little repetitive!!
Michael the manager got us all sorted at the Start but it was Alecia and Tina on Reception who looked after all of us to a point that it ended up making it feel like we were at home.
The rooms were good although the Wardrobes were a little small the bathroom was a good size but clean and tidy the feeling of it being a family run operation shone through as it was always a welcoming atmosphere not a corporate clinical feel you get in most hotels now!
We had a van with our golf clubs in which we had a Garage to lock them up in every night and the car park was more than adequate
But overall a Great Stay made in no small part buy the Staff who were Amazing and really made our stay a memorable experience for all 16 of us a Trip we will talk about for years to come.

Room Tip: as for a Large room the staff are really helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adz1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    74
    43
    18
    18
See reviews for
46
70
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

This hotel would not have been my first choice (picked by my partner) but credit where its due I was very pleasantly surprised, the rooms where clean and of a good size, the bedroom furniture is a bit dated as is the decor but the bathroom was nice and big and modern.
Neath doesnt have much to offer in the way of cuisine but the food in the hotel was good pub food and reasonabley priced, breakfast had a good choice, cereals, and if you didnt fancy a fry up fish (hadock or Kipper) was available.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tess1562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hernhill, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

My mate and I booked their "mtn. bike" package deal available on their website. With a secure lockup for your vehicle and expensive bikes (windowless garage-very secure) plenty of radiators in the room to dry your wet clothes on, quite a good bar and restaurant, and friendly helpful staff, you really can't go wrong here. They really are making an effort to cater to the mountain biker, coming to ride Brechfa, or W2 or whatever. They also have a washing service for a few quid, but we just hosed the mud off our gear in the shower in the room, then hung our stuff on the radiators, and it was fine every morning. Really, quite a good set up for riders, and I will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benmontoya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

We recently visited the Castle for a special family celebration. All our hopes were pinned on the restaurant delivering & it really did live up to all our evening's expectations. And then some. I can't thank everyone enough. Food was first class. We had a medium-sized party of all ages & everyone's tastes were catered for. Waitress was superb & the general friendly & welcoming atmosphere of all the staff really made us feel special. I live in Cardiff & when I eat out it's normally in or around the city. The way we were treated at the Castle, the atmosphere & the food we ate were all easily on a par with any restaurants there, & probably better than most!
All in all - a night we'll remember for some to come. Thanks again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeJ1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

We really enjoyed our stay with the Castle Hotel in Neath..tripped up to Afan Forest and the waterfalls.
Service was excellent and it maintains some of their old world feel while providing a modern service.
Food lovely and Neath was surprisingly quaint!!

Kids loved it and very family friendly..will definitely be back again soon!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMorganFamily66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

Spent New Year,s eve,fab party atmosphere.staff could,nt do enough for you.entertainment was supplied by Peter Jones,who did a tribute to neil diamond the first part,and then some rat pack and mixture of other artist,s famous song,s.what a voice,you could swear they were all at the castle.so good that we booked back to go too the Las vegas themed night.i F YOU LIKE QAULITY,THE CASTLES THE PLACE FOR IT.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank neathbarby70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

My husband and I were in Neath and decided to call into the Castle Hotel for some lunch. We were offered a choice of eating in the more modern restaurant or the traditional bar, and choose the bar for its lovely atmosphere. The bar man was very helpful and the lady in charge of the restaurant was very professional and attentive without being at your shoulder all the time. The food came promptly and was delicious and there was a varied menu with some local Welsh dishes on it. We will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatherineWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neath
0.0 mi away
The BlueBell Hotel
The BlueBell Hotel
#1 of 3 in Neath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
4.8 mi away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Port Talbot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Aberavon Beach Hotel
6.8 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: The Parade, Neath SA11 1RB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Neath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Neath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Neath, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing