We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“june wedding”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Neath
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Ceriann and her staff did an excellent job at looking after us for our wedding day ,June 22 2013. She took the stress out of the planning and organization of everything .fabulous job.thank you very much ! Hotel is a perfect place for an all day wedding/reception/evening do.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wedding2262013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013

Get the table number, order at bar from the menu or specials board. Take your seat in the restaurant and relax. This is easy to do in the pleasant and very clean restaurant. The food was served quickly, hot and good value for money. We were there on a lunch time and surprisingly it was not packed. I believe the evening menu is different to the lunch time menu (not sure). Staff were attentive without being overpowering. They also hold special nights with meal and entertainment for around £14/15:00. There are large screen televisions too for major sporting events. The Hotel its self is the birthplace of Welsh rugby.Will certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Millboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Excellent value set within the town of Neath. No lift or air com but it ticks all the boxes and is great value. Free car parking and a first class welcome try within each room and with plenty of space.

Croeso cynnes iawn yma yn Castell Nedd. Gwesty o safon uwch efo ystafelloedd da iawn.
Prysiau rhesymol iawn a staff da.

Bar a bwyd yn y lolfa.

Room Tip: Bit of a climb to some rooms as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardClwyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed here several times over the years. Hotel appears to have had a lick of paint recently on the landings.An old building yet still a wedding venue for the locals.
Bedrooms clean and spacious. Tea and coffee making facilities and biscuits too.
Only one small complaint this visit, The reception staff are not very welcoming, its always nice to be met with a pleasant smiling face.and on departure our keys were just taken ,no inquiry as to wether we had enjoyed our stay and were things to our satisfaction etc.
Please note. This hotel has no lift. ability to climb stairs with your luggage is a must.

Room Tip: A room at the rear is best. Especially at weekends when the locals are in the local pubs and clubs u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

this lovely old fashined hotel is right in the centre of a small, south-wales town. The hotel is plush, well furnished with its oak-panelled lounge-bar, serves good food at good prices, has wonderful helpful, young, friendly and super efficient staff. My room was booked late - so I didn't have the best, but it was clean and comfortable (tho the shower head needed changing) and very good value. This place could be used as a base to explore industrial and natural south-wales, the Brecon Beacons and Dan-yr-Ogof show caves are close, as are the Gower peninsular and Swansea. And Neath as a great inddor market!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JegeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Went in for a quick lunchtime visit and what can I say?. The service was amazing and the food was divine. I had cheeseburger and chips but what a cheeseburger and chips. Proper home cooked chips and a fresh home made burger which was the juiciest burger I have ever eaten. The cheese was lovely and real and the bun was lovely and fresh. The price was also good especially as the ingredients were fresh and of a excellent quality. Cannot wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hartzcarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Popped in for lunch so can't really comment on the rooms. But the bar was really nice as was my lunch. Service was really good and the staff friendly. The soundings in reception and the bar really authentic

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank JGAP01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neath
0 mi away
The BlueBell Hotel
The BlueBell Hotel
#1 of 3 in Neath
325 reviews
4.8 mi away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Port Talbot
521 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Towers Hotel & Spa
The Towers Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Jersey Marine
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
4.9 mi away
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
1 mi away
Cwmbach Cottages Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: The Parade, Neath SA11 1RB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Neath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Neath
Price Range: £63 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Neath, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing