We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Neath
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at the castle hotel with our friends, we stayed as we wanted to go and see the waterfalls in the beacons.
The room was ok, the beds extremely comfortable! The room we had 11 was fairly small but room7 was a good size. Howver in room seven you got a distinct smell of chip fat from the restaurant!
We got a train to swansea for 3 pounds on the first night and went to steak by night restuarant which was bloody lovely.
At night Neath was fairly lively, they have weather spoons which is always good. For drinks and for breakfast the day after! Neath is a small town consisting of one street of shops/restuarants etc.
All in all I though it was good value, although I always think that the review of the hotel is always influenced by the whole experience. We didnt spend much time in the room, but the staff at the hotel were very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honesty8787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    77
    43
    21
    22
See reviews for
49
76
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We were welcomed in when we arrived. Our room was up a lot of stairs and a number of doors and to be honest was rather basic. It was clean and quiet and we slept well. We arrived quite late and there were few dining options in Neath and we ate in hotel. The restaurant was busy, there was some sort of sport on TV that had everyone's attention. Table service for breakfast ensured it was a pleasant start to the day. The car park was down the road in the hotel's own lot.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenPatric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Working local to neath for the day and the drive home to far i decided to stay over so rang the castle mid afternoon on å Thursday to book å room . They had å room so made my way to hotel which has its down car park, location of castle is in middle of neath on å one way driving system . Check in Very quick ,receptionist was Nice and professional the place is å bit tired looking but for me it was perfect all i need was å clean bed a early breakfast 7.30 Very Nice, the hotel has its own resturant called green tree which looked v/ Nice . Nice bar with good selection of drinks .sky sport on tv for sport fans , pricing £41 room only i paid for breakfast in the morning good to have å choose some times i dont fancy anything to eat Morning hope this helps .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorke_jh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boughton-under-Blean, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a saturday night whilst on a trip to Neath visiting family.

Luckily enough we know the town and what the location is like on a Saturday night and we therefore requested a room at the back of the hotel. (The road which the hotel fronts on to is a busy one on a Saturday night. There are pubs / clubs opposite, with loud music going on into the early hours of the morning. The street gets very busy at nightime because of this).

We stayed in room 21 (to the rear of the hotel on the 2nd floor - no lift in hotel) and there was no noise heard at all from the main street. (The kitchen ducting is outside the window though, which did hum constantly but not enough to disturb our sleep).

The room though was very 'tired' and needs totally redecorating / freshening up and modernising. We were lacking a bit on space (due to a huge wardrobe), however it was fine for just one night.

The staff are very polite and helpful. We had breakfast for £7.50 each and this was well worth having. Very tasty and staff went out of their way to cater for me being a vegetarian.

We would stay here again, despite my comments on the decorations etc. because it was good value for money (we got a deal on a website). We would however always request a room to the rear of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear of hotel are quieter, away from the main road with loud music from pubs / clubs into t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Our guests stayed here before my daughters wedding on 28th September2013.Very relaxed atmosphere with extremely pleasant and helpful staff. Both the restaurant and bar were very good with very acceptable prices and all in all a most enjoyable experience for them.
They have a car park of their own, a little way down the road away from the hotel and you will need to leave your reg. no. with them when you park there. otherwise Car parking is rather difficult but bearing in mind the hotel's location it is not a major problem .
The staff were amazing, not just to the wedding couple but to all our guests. I have to say a special thank you to Ceriann who organized everything for us but was on leave when the day of the wedding came and Ann who looked after us on the day. She made our day very special with her attention to detail. The food was excellent & hot. Overall the entire weekend was 1st class. Would highly recommend this hotel.
If you want a wonderful place to have a wedding you couldn't pick better than the castle hotel in Neath , the wedding room was fabulous , the food was plentiful, the staff was brilliant nothing was to much trouble for them , I had a fabulous time at a very special wedding for our daughter.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 21 quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veronicaWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding at the hotel. We could not have picked a better venue. Nothing was too much trouble.All staff were helpful, not just to us as the wedding couple but to all our guests. I have to say a special thankyou to Ann who looked after us on the day. She made our day very special with her attention to detail. The food was excellent & hot. Overall the entire weekend was 1st class. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helsarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

If you want a wonderful place to have a wedding you couldn't pick better than the castle hotel in Neath , the wedding room was fabulous , the food was plentiful, the staff was brilliant nothing was to much trouble for them , I had a fabulous time at a very special wedding

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neath
0.0 mi away
The BlueBell Hotel
The BlueBell Hotel
#1 of 3 in Neath
315 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
4.8 mi away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Port Talbot
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Towers Hotel & Spa
The Towers Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Jersey Marine
609 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
5.5 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#4 of 22 in Swansea
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: The Parade, Neath SA11 1RB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Neath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Neath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Neath, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing